We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Econo Lodge Moonlight Beach

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Econo Lodge Moonlight Beach
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

301 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Econo Lodge Moonlight Beach
See the most recent reviews
Showing 290: English reviews
Denver
Reviewed 26 May 2016

This hotel is fantastic. The lobby and rooms were very clean, and the room didn't have that budget hotel smell or feel. The staff was friendly and helpful and knew what they were doing. Rooms have a fridge and microwave, which is exactly what I needed. The pool looked nice and clean (but I just looked -- didn't get in)....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank occaionaltraveler
LeelaEconoEncinitas, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Moonlight Beach, responded to this review

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you have rated our hospitality and accommodations so highly! It is very rewarding to hear from you on this matter and we appreciate that you have acknowledged our efforts to provide a clean, comfortable, and hospitable experience. We look forward to serving you again and giving you another...

Arnhem, The Netherlands
Reviewed 24 May 2016 via mobile

Great location close to the beach a very short drive from dowtown Encinitas. You get real value for money in this hotel in this area. Room was very clean but slightly worn especially the bathroom could use a good make over. The staff was very friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GerhardvN
LeelaEconoEncinitas, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Moonlight Beach, responded to this review

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are happy to know that we have exceeded your expectations for just an affordable price. I am so glad that you found our hotel to be clean and convenient and that you enjoyed the accommodations and hospitality that we strive to show to each guest, during every stay. We...

TLV
Reviewed 23 May 2016

Budget hotel a little bit pricey but overall good. Take into consideration that it is not walking distance to the center of Encinitas neither to the beach and surf spots of Swammys. Breakfast is ok . Staff was very friendly .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lempes
LeelaEconoEncinitas, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Moonlight Beach, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind comments and review regarding your most recent stay with us. We are happy to know that we have exceeded your expectations for just an affordable price. I am so glad that you found our hotel to be clean and convenient and that you enjoyed the accommodations and hospitality that we strive to show...

Chicago
Reviewed 22 May 2016

This hotel was excellent in every way. The room was clean and spacious, and the bed and pillows were very comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. Features like the breakfast and room amenities (refrigerator, microwave) were better than usual for a budget chain. The speed/bandwidth of the free wifi was quite good, and was never a problem. Soundproofing of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ken032
LeelaEconoEncinitas, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Moonlight Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to recognize our staff for their exemplary work in providing clean and comfortable experience for our valued guests. Our staff is highly trained to give you an exceptional experience, and we are very pleased to learn that we achieved this goal during your recent stay. We only wish to give nothing but the...

Santa Cruz, California
Reviewed 17 May 2016

We stayed here last night. We had a room in back overlooking a quiet street. The room and hotel were clean. The staff is pleasant. We would definitely go back. Bonus: close enough to walk to the beach!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marianne S
LeelaEconoEncinitas, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Moonlight Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share this five star experience with our management, staff, and future guests.Our primary aim is to give you a comfortable and accommodating experience, and we are very pleased to hear of our success in this ambition.We are very happy to learn that your stay was so peaceful, and we hope to see you...

Brentwood, California
Reviewed 8 May 2016

This is obviously a budget motel and my review will take it as such. The location was good. The room was a normal budget room. The problem was with the overwhelming smoking smell. When you check in you specifically sign a form saying you won't smoke. But there was a resident near our room who apparently smoked a lot. As...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ken B
LeelaEconoEncinitas, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Moonlight Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave such thorough and revealing feedback. Unfortunately, despite our efforts to ensure that nobody smokes in non-smoking rooms, it does occasionally happen and I hope you’ll accept our sincerest apologies for the smell of smoke that you experienced. We greatly appreciate your time in bringing a number of important matters to light and...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 29 April 2016

The hotel was kept impeccably clean, very comfortable beds and pillows, excellent flatscreen television. The hotel staff were absolutely amazing, friendly, helpful . Love the solar panels on the roof.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew P
LeelaEconoEncinitas, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Moonlight Beach, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the compliments you give to our hotel! We value our customer's experience that is why we always make sure that our facilities are in good shape to provide our customers the best we can offer in a reasonable price. I am glad that we were able to meet your expectations of service and accommodations and...

Grand Marais, Minnesota
Reviewed 26 April 2016

With bus stops and commuter train station nearby the location allows for ease in exploring the San Diego County coastal cities & towns using good quality public transportation. An excellent choice for an economy hotel. Clean & comfortable with a helpful and courteous staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dewesters
LeelaEconoEncinitas, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Moonlight Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and to acknowledge the efforts of our hardworking staff to be as accommodating, helpful and welcoming as possible. It is heartwarming to hear of how our efforts to impress you with our hospitality, comfort and convenience have been successful. On behalf of our entire staff, we thank you for your...

Ventura, California
Reviewed 25 April 2016

Staff was excellent. Room was clean - Refrigerate didn't work properly but they took note of it when we told them about it. Excellent location. Would stay there again. Simple but good breakfast. Ready before 6 am

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elaine9010
LeelaEconoEncinitas, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Moonlight Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and sharing to us your positive experience regarding the appreciation you have for our reliable staff, as well as the liking you expressed with the accommodation in total. We only wish to give nothing but the best service to our guests, and to know that we have accomplished such goal gives us...

Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 22 April 2016

I really enjoyed my stay at the Econo Lodge Moonlight beach. I slept like a baby on the great bed and its in a great location. It was easy to find, parking available, breakfast and a lovely room. I highly recommend it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susie D
LeelaEconoEncinitas, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Moonlight Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving your five star rating of our hotel It is heartwarming to hear of how our efforts to give you a great experience, filled with hospitality, comfort and convenience have been successful. On behalf of our entire staff, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back...

60 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (41)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Encinitas
1.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Encinitas Inn & Suites at Moonlight Beach
4.4 km away
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cardiff-by-the-Sea
110 reviews
1.3 km away
Days Inn Encinitas- Legoland Moonlight Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Rodeway Inn - Encinitas
Rodeway Inn - Encinitas
#8 of 9 in Encinitas
170 reviews
4.9 km away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
0.6 km away
Portofino Beach Inn
Portofino Beach Inn
#9 of 9 in Encinitas
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Moonlight Beach

Address: 410 N Coast Highway 101, Encinitas, CA 92024-2529
Region: United States > California > Encinitas
Price Range: $106 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Moonlight Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Choice Hotels so you can book your Econo Lodge Moonlight Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Encinitas
Encinitas Econo Lodge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Econo Lodge Moonlight Beach staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Sacramento, California
Monroeville, Pennsylvania
8 months ago
El Mirage, Arizona
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Econo Lodge Moonlight Beach staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“First floor if you need an elevator there isn't one.”
 of 5 bubbles PeggyChism, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“First floor has easy access from the front office. Parking is right there.”
 of 5 bubbles phyllis1835, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I would ask for an upstairs room at the back if you can do stairs. There is no elevator at this hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles 421alr, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“we always reserve a room with king size bed on first floor. easy in & out.”
 of 5 bubbles PeanutinIL, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Top floor has high ceilings ... Very spacious and airy!”
 of 5 bubbles happycamper0r, 18 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5