We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Emerald Dolphin Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Emerald Dolphin Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

283 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 279: English reviews
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed for one night as a stop over during the coastal drive. It was definitely worth the value! The inn was clean and quiet, the owner was friendly and the continental breakfast was what we wanted (oatmeal, bagels, pastry, juice, cereal). There was free wifi and cable. We would have loved to play mini golf but it was closed... More 

Helpful?
Thank YYZ_647
EDIFortBragg, Owner at Emerald Dolphin Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. We apologize that the Mini Golf was not open the days you were here. In the Winter months when the weather is inclement, the Mini Golf and Family Fun center is only open Thurs-Sundays. Of course the Mini Golf is open up to 7... More 

Windsor, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First off I must say that for the most part we enjoyed the Emerald Dolphin Inn. The desk clerk was very pleasant and the room was clean (#207). However, slept poorly and awoke with a backache and then saw that the matteress was literally sagging in the middle so badly that it touched the floor - when no one was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Trailwalker55
EDIFortBragg, Owner at Emerald Dolphin Inn, responded to this review

We want to thank you for staying with us! We are sorry that the mattress was too soft for your liking. We do want to clarify that what you saw under the bed was the fabric of the mattress cover touching the floor, and not the mattress which sets on a bed frame and box spring. To keep our mattresses... More 

Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

Located just south of the Noyo Bridge on Highway 1 in Fort Bragg is the Emerald Dolphin Inn. There are two, 2 story buildings (no elevators), with clean comfortable rooms, an 18 hole mini golf course and arcade. Walk just a block to the ocean bluffs and watch the surf and sunset. Close to restaurants, art galleries, shopping and Noyo... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank fogcitylover
EDIFortBragg, Front Office Manager at Emerald Dolphin Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Emerald Dolphin Inn. We were happy to have you stay with us. Great to hear you took advantage of the coast and all of its beautiful surroundings. We hope to see you again soon. More 

Petaluma, CA
Level Contributor
90 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2016

The property is one of the larger ones along Fort Bragg. Multiple two story buildings on both sides of side street. We had a room on the second floor facing the mini golf. Even though located right on Hwy 1 the road noise was minimal overnight. Very helpful and pleasant check in process and simple continental breakfast in the morning.... More 

Helpful?
Thank SonomaLocal
EDIFortBragg, Front Office Manager at Emerald Dolphin Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for bringing your family to stay at the Emerald Dolphin Inn. We appreciate your review too! We look forward to having you stay again. More 

Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2016

stayed two nights on a trip from seattle to san fransisco,found the staff friendly and helpful,room was very clean and comfortable,breakfast was a nice touch and was an ideal location for looking around the area,we would use again and recommend when in this area

Helpful?
Thank sdc_13
EDIFortBragg, Front Office Manager at Emerald Dolphin Inn, responded to this review

Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Emerald Dolphin Inn. Thank you for staying with us, we appreciate it. More 

Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2016

We (family of 5) stayed at the Emerald Dolphin Inn during the labor day weekend break. We stayed in the room's over the road from the main reception, directly opposite McDonalds. Our room was clean, well furnished and comfortable. You didn't hear much noise from the street outside or the market, however we were situated between 2 groups of people... More 

Helpful?
Thank Superdella
EDIFortBragg, Front Office Manager at Emerald Dolphin Inn, responded to this review

It was a pleasure having you stay with us over the Holiday weekend. Thank you for bringing your own family and your thoughtful referral to your friends. So glad you enjoyed yourselves. If you ever have an issue with another guest, or anything at all please call the front desk as soon as possible and we will do our very... More 

Blaine, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2016

I stayed here for 2 nights, and maybe it was just bad luck but I must have had the room that was behind the 8 ball. I have to say the room was very clean, the maids did any excellent job and were very friendly. I just want to be clear before you start to read my review I'm not... More 

Helpful?
Thank Claudia M
EDIFortBragg, Front Office Manager at Emerald Dolphin Inn, responded to this review

Our guests and their satisfaction mean a lot to us. We work really hard to make sure our property reflects a professional and friendly atmosphere with very clean and safe rooms. We apologize if you felt anything other than that. Our staff checked several TV's to make sure that your TV didn't need to be replaced, only to find out... More 

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

Booked our stay at emerald dolphin inn for long weekend. The room rates for 2 queen beds was not expensive and it was very close to pumo bluffs, circus and harvest market. They do have keurig at every room and replaced ours via phone call as machine in our room was not working. They do provide complimentary breakfast(cereal, pastry etc)... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank AmitPiplani
EDIFortBragg, Front Office Manager at Emerald Dolphin Inn, responded to this review

Sounds like you and your family were able to have a great adventure of fun while you were here. Thank you for staying with us during during the holiday weekend. We hope that you were able to enjoy everything it was such a great weekend with the circus, logging show, craft fair, mini golf and of course our beautiful walking... More 

Stayton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

We decided to stay at the Emerald Dolphin Inn during our road trip because it looked clean and the price was reasonable. We were surprised how nice it really is. The bed was super comfy and the room is very clean. Definitely would not hesitate to recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Angie A
EDIFortBragg, Front Office Manager at Emerald Dolphin Inn, responded to this review

Angie thank you for staying at the Emerald Dolphin Inn. Nice to hear that we were cleaner and more comfortable than you expected. We work hard to make it shine for our guests. Thank you for noticing. Hope you can come back and visit again soon. More 

Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

This was a awesome place to stay we travel with two pets and they were dog friendly even had a bowl for food and water in case you forgot yours along with a blanket towel and treats I want to come back soon, The coffee maker in the room made it very special to be able to get up in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Junell M
EDIFortBragg, Front Office Manager at Emerald Dolphin Inn, responded to this review

Lucky for us we were able to share two special occasions with you. Glad to hear you and your fur babies enjoyed your visit with us. We look forward to seeing you soon. More 

90 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (70)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Bragg
0.7 km away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 22 in Fort Bragg
578 reviews
0.9 km away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 22 in Fort Bragg
447 reviews
4.4 km away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#4 of 22 in Fort Bragg
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 km away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
4.1 km away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
0.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Fort Bragg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Beachfront
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
One of the newest Inns on the Coast, Emerald Dolphin's guest rooms bring luxurious comfort, gracious hospitality, and first class service to the Mendocino Coast. Located within walking distance to the Hare Creek beach and ocean cliff walking trail. Some jetted spa & fireplace suites. Complimentary continental breakfast, WIFI and many other amenities. Pet friendly rooms available. 18 hole Miniature Golf Course on site with arcade & private party room, fabulous restaurants, shops, galleries, and entertainment nearby. AAA approved- Three Diamonds Award. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Emerald Dolphin Inn

Address: 1211 S Main St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Price Range: $140 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Emerald Dolphin Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Emerald Dolphin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Dolphin Hotel Fort Bragg
Emerald Dolphin Motel
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Fort Bragg
#5 Family Hotel in Fort Bragg
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Bragg
#6 Romantic Hotel in Fort Bragg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Emerald Dolphin Inn staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Emerald Dolphin Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for ocean facing room”
 of 5 bubbles YYZ_647, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Check the mattress first”
 of 5 bubbles Trailwalker55, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We chose a first-floor room for easy pet relief access.”
 of 5 bubbles Kalika611, 18 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Not sure , but wouldn't hurt to ask the staff.”
 of 5 bubbles 154philt, 11 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in an upper room and in the annex so no noise from people above. Ocean view is quite a ways away.”
 of 5 bubbles 533judyc, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay