We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Weller House Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Weller House Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

159 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Weller House Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 159: English reviews
Scotts Valley, California
Reviewed 19 July 2016

The house is historic dating back to 1860s. The owner and staff are very friendly and likable people. We were, however, disappointed that the house was not in the best repair needing painting and decor maintenance. Our room was small but made smaller by way oversized furnishings leaving little room for walking about. It took over 5 minutes to get...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank drfwilson
Vivienka, Manager at Weller House Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to let us know your concerns. As an estate with 4 large buildings exposed to ocean winds, exterior painting is a continuous process, and there are always areas being prepped for painting (not the prettiest sight, we agree, but it's part of sea town reality). Regarding breakfast, as we served mainly organic, locally sourced ingredients...

Montclair, New Jersey
Reviewed 16 July 2016

Our room was located in the watertower - which we were not told in advance. We had to carry our luggage up two very long & steep flights of stairs. I had hurt my knee at the beginning of our trip, so this was torture. The watertower has NO WiFi, you have to use the common room in the Inn,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joannkatz
Vivienka, Manager at Weller House Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your input. We are checking websites and making sure the location of all rooms is clear. So sorry your knee was hurting, we would have been happy to help you with your luggage, if there was no ground floor room available during your stay! I agree there should be more seating for guests in the garden, and am...

Paris, France
Reviewed 8 July 2016

We stayed at Weller House Inn 2 nights in Fort bragg. The place is nicely located (you can access almost all the pub/restaurants of the city by foots). The room was large and comfortable, and of course very clean. The hosts are very nice and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank itsnoway
Vivien L, Manager at Weller House Inn, responded to this review

So glad you enjoyed your stay here, and the nearby attractions. Thanks for taking the time to write a review!

Oakland, California
Reviewed 18 June 2016 via mobile

We stayed Friday night in the lotus room and were welcomed by the host Vivian, who is working on multiple projects like curtains and old books and gives a tour in her historic house. The lotus room has a slipper tub in which we soaked but has no shower. The bed was clean, the furniture, bathroom were old and with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HoneyandHoney
Vivienka, Manager at Weller House Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. The furniture is indeed old, but we do occasionally refinish the pieces which show wear and tear from many guests. The antique Chinese chairs from Lotus are slated for this winter's renovation. Do come back to enjoy the improvements we have made since your stay!

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 18 June 2016 via mobile

A wonderful historic house with a beautiful garden. The rooms with victorian furniture are gorgeous. There is a wonderful view from the terrace which one enters via the ballroom. If you would like to stay in a inn with history, this is the place.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TinaMZH
Vivien L, Manager at Weller House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know your appreciation!

Redlands, California
Reviewed 23 May 2016

This may have been a prime place to stay in the past, but not anymore. The room was nice, but not set up for four people as requested in the reservation. The "garden" could be spectacular, but looks like it hasn't been cared for in quite a while. We were also surprised that there was ballroom dancing going on Friday...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michael L
Vivien L, Manager at Weller House Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to list your suggestions for improvement. The garden was indeed a jungle, after massive spring rains, and underwent thorough weeding and trimming. We do indeed have dancing in our ballroom, but it ends promptly at 9pm so that our guests need not be disturbed at bed time. Usually guests who go to bed before 9pm...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 18 January 2016

This place really does not warrant a $285/night price tag. Yes, the historic building is very charming, but the whole place looks a bit run down, the curtains in our room (we stayed in the Rose Room) felt like plastic, and the amenities are practically non-existent. The extent of the amenities provided is a Costco sized bottle of Pantene ProV...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank ClarBear
Vivien L, Manager at Weller House Inn, responded to this review

Please let me know where one can stay at a charming historic mansion with only 9 guest rooms but many spacious common rooms (including an all redwood ballroom), nestled in half an acre of gardens, without paying quite a bit more than for a common motel room. The curtains in Rose room are 100% silk taffeta, a material popular in...

Laguna Beach, California
Reviewed 14 January 2016

Everything about this bed and breakfast was perfect. I was greeted by the owner upon arrival and she made every effort to make me feel at home. The room had a claw foot tub, robes and lots of interesting books to explore. The bed was comfortable and pillows fluffy. I went to Fort Bragg to look for sea glass and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PatienceShutts
Reviewed 4 January 2016

The Weller House is a charming house, ideally located within close walking distance of downtown and Glass Beach. The owner was very kind and welcoming when we arrived and offered great advice for local restaurants and a scenic drive option. They also upgraded us to a bigger room at no extra charge. But unfortunately, we had several issues with our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Caroline K
Vivienka, Manager at Weller House Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We're sorry we didn't have a room ready for you due to lack of information from Airbnb (this is just one of several reasons we try to avoid dealing with them any more). We do lock the front door whenever we are not here to welcome visitors, and in nearly 20...

Reviewed 28 December 2015

We were road-tripping from Seattle to San Jose and booked our room on the day of our stay through Trip Advisor. We arrived after 9pm and were still greeted with a warm welcome and a tour of the house from owner/innkeeper Vivien. Our favorite parts of the house were the ballroom on the top floor and the balcony atop the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JRoon09

175 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (97)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (78)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Bragg hotels
1.7 km away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
407 reviews
1.4 km away
The Beachcomber Motel and Spa on the Beach
3.5 km away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#4 of 23 in Fort Bragg
598 reviews
0.9 km away
Beach House Inn
Beach House Inn
#10 of 23 in Fort Bragg
205 reviews
2.7 km away
Emerald Dolphin Inn
Emerald Dolphin Inn
#7 of 23 in Fort Bragg
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Historic 1886 inn with ballroom, library, dining room, water tower observation deck, and gardens. Featured in the New York Times and Sunset Magazine. Nine fine guest rooms, each with private bathrooms, sitting areas, down pillows and comforters, Egyptian cotton sheets. King or queen beds, two rooms have private Jacuzzis. The water tower observation deck is the high point in town, great for whale watching and sunsets. Gardens with heritage and edible ornamentals (organic since 2008). The virgin redwood ballroom on the third floor of the main house is a unique and beautiful space, ideal for all sorts of gatherings. Weekly dance (FREE with LODGING): Monday FOLK DANCE CLASS, Tuesday TANGO PRACTICA, Wednesday WALTZ CLASS, Friday EAST COAST SWING DANCE, Sunday WEST COAST SWING CLASS ... more   less 

Additional Information about Weller House Inn

Address: 524 Stewart St, Fort Bragg, CA 95437-3207
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Fort Bragg
Price Range: $195 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Weller House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Weller House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Weller House Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Tracy, California

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Weller House Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Request a water tower room.”
952elij, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“There was one with an adorable window seat that looked great for spending a whole vacation reading and drinking wine.”
I2197LSamandac, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the south side get the morning light”
jcoe2001, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I love the room with the slipper claw foot tub~my favorite.”
isap601, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“downstair rooms got the greenest views (because of the garden), otherway, upstair rooom are sooo lightning”
sebadiamante, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5