We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Bacara Resort & Spa

Show Prices
#1 of 10 Hotels in Goleta
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Bacara Resort & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,179 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Bacara Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,127: English reviews
Sonoma, California, United States
Reviewed 7 October 2014

It is an unbelievable sight as you look down the steps to the main pool and out to the ocean. The view is framed by palm trees and cabanas- just about perfect. Outside, up a flight of stairs is the Bistro, where you can dine in or out under the sun or stars. It's really nice at night when you...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pam G
GuestRelations M, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Pam- Thank you for visiting Bacara Resort & Spa. I’m so happy to hear you chose to be part of our family again. You have my sincerest apologies for your experience at the front desk, and we certainly do not want you leaving our resort feeling anything other than happy, relaxed and peaceful. I will certainly bring this issue...

Annapolis, Maryland, United States
Reviewed 6 October 2014

The Bacara is all about atmosphere and Ocean views. If you feel like your pulling into a movie set your right, movies and commercials are filmed there from time to time. I love the Spanish decor, fountains, indoor and outdoor fireplaces..very romantic! My favorite rooms have a fire place in the bedroom and a balcony with an Ocean view. There...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maggie P
GuestRelations M, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Maggie- Thank you for sharing your kind words and your exceptional experiences at Bacara. It is experiences like yours that we strive to provide every guest at our resort. We do welcome Hollywood from time-to-time and indeed hosted ‘The Bachelorette’ this year. Thank you for writing the tip on the room selection. Like you, rooms with a view, balcony...

Pasadena, California
Reviewed 6 October 2014

Beautiful resort. Highly recommend. Its so well conceived and runs so smoothly. Didn't experience any of the problems that have been published. this was our first time at Bacara. Room was ready an hour early. Location without having known where the best place would be was perfect for us. Beach is so close and walked it everyday. The food and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrsCKR
GuestRelations M, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear MrsCKR - I am so happy to hear your first trip to Bacara Resort & Spa was so wonderful and earned us the honor of such a lovely 5 star review! It is wonderful to hear your thought on both the food and staff as your feedback will surely be shared with the team. Also, thank you for sharing...

Chester, New Jersey
Reviewed 5 October 2014

I was there in July for a business conference with my wife. From all of the hype of this place, I was left disappointed. The location is beautiful right on the Pacific. Unfortunately, it is covered in rock and if you walk on the beach you will have oil/tar on your feet from a oil spill that happened a while...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NJRES
GuestRelations M, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear NJRES, thank you for your rating and response. We’re truly happy you found our location beautiful. You are correct, rocky beaches can be less than ideal, but we try to be eco-friendly and leave the beach in a natural state; the oil you experienced on the beach is a natural phenomenon known as ‘oil seepage’ that affects all Santa...

California
Reviewed 4 October 2014

Decided to choose Bacara to host our work retreat (9/26 - 9/28). This was my 5th time planning this so I have an idea of what I want/expect. Here were our previous venues in the order that I rank...1. Grand Del Mar 2. The Lodge at Torrey Pines 3. Ojai Valley Inn and Spa 4. La Quinta Resort. What I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Saysum
GuestRelations M, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Saysum- Thank you for your feedback. As a meeting and event planner, we truly value all of your thoughts. It is wonderful to hear you would be happy to come to our resort in the future. Have a wonderful rest of the year and hope to see you again soon. Warm regards, Kathleen Cochran General Manager Bacara Resort &...

Reviewed 3 October 2014

5 stars for location and scenery, goes down hill from there so far. I think this resort is going through a midlife crisis. Half the staff seems to love working here and the other half not so much. Checked in yesterday, room wasn't ready, no biggie we left our phone number and headed out to the veranda for some wine....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mulletonthego
GuestRelations M, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Mulletonthego- Thank you for your detailed feedback. It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed the location, scenery, Bacara Bar and Miro. The rest of your feedback is appreciated and if we have the pleasure to welcome you back, I surely hope we will be able to assist in person. The members of our management teams will be awaiting to...

Reviewed 3 October 2014 via mobile

I'll start off with my chief complaint. When I was looking for hotels in the Santa Barbara area I contacted bacara among them. The "third night free" deal advertised on their website evaporated immediately, supposedly due to lack of availability. I was told the "fireplace king" room would be upgraded to some kind of mini suite if I wanted to...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Mike N
GuestRelations M, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Mike N.- I appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts. Although I am pleased you found our resort beautiful and found many highlights, I apologize you had many concerns. Your feedback is important to us. Again, thank you for your thoughts. If we have the pleasure to welcome you again, I hope we have the opportunity to...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 3 October 2014

Came with a large group again, and though we'd hoped that in the last year it would improve, the resort service has gotten worse. The resort is still charging a nightly fee of $25 for wifi, water bottles in the room, wine and spa use. We never got our wine. We never got our water. I refused to pay the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank TravelGal418
GuestRelations M, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear TravelGal418- Thank you for sharing your feedback. I apologize you encountered numerous concerns during your time with us. As with your last stay, I understand you wanted much more, and will certainly address your feedback with the management team. Warm regards, Kathleen Cochran General Manager Bacara Resort & Spa

Dublin, OH
Reviewed 2 October 2014

My best friends and I spent 3 days at the Bacara Resort and Spa in mid-September to celebrate my 50th birthday. Although my expectations were high, they were delightfully exceeded! There were 5 of us and I requested rooms near one another and was delighted to see that our rooms were connecting which made morning coffee and getting ready for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly C
GuestRelations M, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Kimberly C - Wow, what a lovely review of your recent stay at the resort! I am absolutely ecstatic to hear we were able to exceed your expectation! We are honored you choose us to celebrate such an important day in your life and I am so happy to hear we were able to make it so special. It...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 2 October 2014

My wife and I recently a few nights at the Bacara for our Anniversary and it was an excellent getaway. The staff was very courteous throughout our stay. Our room was large, very clean, and included a fireplace and a large balcony for relaxing and enjoying the sun which was quite nice. the pool and beach areas were perfect for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin M
GuestRelations M, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Martin M - First off, Happy Anniversary! We are honored that you chose us for your anniversary getaway and are so happy we got to be a part of such a special day. Your review was a pleasure to read and I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your room as well as your dining experience. I certainly...

1,042 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (802)
Viewed
Dining (48)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (116)
Viewed
Room/Suite (120)
Viewed
View from Room (55)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (185)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (29)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (247)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (186)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
Beach (5)
Viewed
Pool (11)
Viewed
Dining (44)
Viewed
The Hotel (120)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (54)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goleta
19.5 km away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#8 of 51 in Santa Barbara
940 reviews
19.7 km away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 51 in Santa Barbara
970 reviews
20.1 km away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#3 of 51 in Santa Barbara
1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 km away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#12 of 51 in Santa Barbara
1,239 reviews
19.1 km away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#2 of 51 in Santa Barbara
512 reviews
8.8 km away
Kimpton Goodland
Kimpton Goodland
#6 of 10 in Goleta
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
The Bistro at Bacara
The Bistro at Bacara
Cuisines: American
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Along the bluffs and beaches of the Gaviota coast lies a resort of stunning natural beauty and relaxed luxury. With 78 acres of oceanfront property, including two miles of natural beach, Bacara offers an expansive sun-drenched setting with endless vistas of sea and sky. The resort's innovative and artful design is in keeping with the intimacy and aesthetics of a Mediterranean village. Unwind at an award-winning 42,000-square-foot spa and fitness center or relax beside one of three zero-edge swimming pools and 26 private cabanas. The resort's 358 newly-renovated guestrooms and signature suites artfully infuse luxurious interiors with modern technologies for a true sense of comfort. Additional resort amenities include a new oceanfront restaurant, Angel Oak, four Har-Tru clay tennis courts, a Foley wine tasting room, and the adjacent Sandpiper Golf Club. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bacara Resort & Spa

Address: 8301 Hollister Ave, Goleta, CA 93117
Region: United States > California > Goleta
Price Range: $665 - $1,546 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bacara Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 358
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Bacara Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Barbara Bacara Resort
Bacara Spa Resort Santa Barbara
Bacara Resort Santa Barbara Ca
Bacara Santa Barbara
Bacara Hotel Santa Barbara
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Goleta
#1 Business Hotel in Goleta
#2 Family Hotel in Goleta
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bacara Resort & Spa staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Bacara Resort & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you can swing it, go for a partial or full ocean view room.”
  • Fireplace is amazing! The balcony was huge!
 of 5 bubbles kathleeng144, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“"partial" sea view suites have great views too”
 of 5 bubbles MarcoS524, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“they are all good but if you want an ocean view they can do that also”
 of 5 bubbles surbanske10, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors to get some natural light!”
 of 5 bubbles 06Mexico_Lover, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Definatel better hotels around unless u like timeshare complexes”
 of 5 bubbles 371tracyf, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5