We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

345 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 343: English reviews
Oakland, California
Reviewed 21 September 2016

Lovely setting in the pines but access to city services. Excellent breakfast in quiet peaceful areas. Efficient and courteous service at check-in and check-out. Offered to call me when room was prepared as I was very early. Reasonable price accommodation in the Gold Country. You will enjoy

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jstepheng
HAMID K, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your response. We're glad to here that you enjoyed your stay. We keep adding breakfast items for guest enjoyment and our excellent staff takes great pride in providing terrific customer service!

Canada
Reviewed 17 September 2016

The hotel appears clean and staff was friendly. The area is also clean. The wireless internet did not work in our room and we had to go out in the parking lot to use it. There were several incidents during the weekend. A friend's trailer was broken into and items were stolen. Drug deals happening in the parking lot. People...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Aaron D
HAMID K, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that our facility did not meet your expectations. However we can assure you that your unfortunate experience was not the norm. Our property and grounds are very secure and staffed 24 hours for guest convenience. We don't allow non guests on property and discourage loitering in the lobby after hours. We hope that you will...

san francisco, United States
Reviewed 17 September 2016

The hotel was exactly what we had in mind for the first part of our trip. Everything was fine and the stores and restaurants in the immediate area were a nice find. As an added bonus there was a hot rod show at the fairgrounds nearby. Nice people and cool cars.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
HAMID K, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your response we're glad to hear that you had a wonderful stay here with us! The Roamin' Angels classic car show is a great attraction here in Grass Valley that takes place annually during the second weekend in September.

Madera, United States
Reviewed 16 September 2016

Great, friendly staff. Great breakfast. Clean towels. Pool and hot tub. WiFi is good. Beds are a little to hard for comfort. Nice location. Sap from the trees is a downfall. Fresh air. Close to several fast food locations. Nice scenery.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ramon T
HAMID K, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your response! We strive to provide the very best stay in Grass Valley. Its great to hear that you had a great time. And we look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Ferndale, California
Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

I had booked this stay through booking.com. I cancelled it the same way in plenty of time and should not have been charged, yet they this manager charged me, including tax. I called and left a message for the management on Saturday. The manager did not call me back until Monday and said he never received the cancellation. This is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ferndalefoodie_12
HAMID K, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your response. We take these types of issues very seriously and can assure you we will do everything in our control to resolve your issue. Thanks, management

Long Beach, California
Reviewed 5 September 2016

First let me say, we are Marriott people. But due to availability issues reserved a room at the Gold Country Best Western for 2 nights in late August. I had also joined their membership to use them as a backup hotel chain. We had late arrival - the reception agent was not that friendly. When we entered our room it...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sharieaclasen
HAMID K, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your response! :)

Port Townsend, United States
Reviewed 4 September 2016

When we got to our room we soon realized the toilet was broken. We called the desk and an employee came by with a key for a new room. Rather then help in any way, this employee watched us struggle with bags to move (we'd already started unpacking a bit) and did absolutely nothing to help. No apology for the...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mena Q
HAMID K, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your response!

Wellington, United States
Reviewed 30 August 2016

Toilet was loose or broken, causing it to shift when you sat down, which in turn caused the tank to leak water into the bow, wasting water. The guests upstairs sounded like they were bowling in their room all night. There are no pictures or artwork of any kind in the room, making it seem stark. The hotel is located...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Robyn D
HAMID K, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your response. We are continually making improvements to all rooms and property for your comfort.

Fort Myers, Florida
Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

This hotel is a gem in gold country. I spent 3 weeks at this location. The staff is top notch. When my team and I came into the lobby the first morning be for 5am looking for coffee and it wasn't ready. I was told they would have it ready the next day for us and with out fail every...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joe m
HAMID K, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn, responded to this review

You are a wonderful person. Thank you for the nice response. Our staff works very hard to make sure our guests have a wonderful stay, each and every time!

Redding, United States
Reviewed 24 August 2016

Nice place, easy to find except driveway is awkward. Good breakfast, appreciated the protein items for my low carb diet. I would not hesitate to stay here again. We were in a pet friendly room but the carpet just seemed really dirty. I felt it should be as clean as a regular room.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trudy F
HAMID K, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn, responded to this review

thank you for your response. We're glad to hear you had a nice stay!

42 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grass Valley
3.0 km away
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
#1 of 10 in Grass Valley
225 reviews
3.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gold Miners Inn-Grass Valley
2.8 km away
Northern Queen Inn
Northern Queen Inn
#3 of 5 in Nevada City
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Broad Street Inn
Broad Street Inn
#2 of 5 in Nevada City
143 reviews
34.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Golden Key
3.1 km away
Holbrooke Hotel
Holbrooke Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grass Valley
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn!Discover this pet friendly Grass Valley, California hotel offering convenient access to Empire Mine State Park, Historic Nevada City and the Tahoe National Forest. Located in northern, inland California just off highway 49, the BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn is committed to providing the best in customer service, accommodations and amenities at the right price. Each well-appointed guest room at this Grass Valley hotel features cable satellite television and free high-speed Internet access. Hotel guests are welcome to a complimentary full breakfast daily. This pet friendly hotel also offers guest laundry, an exercise facility and a full-service business center. Guests staying at the BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn will be a short walk from a variety of dining and shopping in historic Grass Valley. The Empire Mine State Park, only two miles away, offer the perfect setting for hiking and afternoon picnics. This California hotel is also less than five miles from many other key area attractions including the Nevada County Fairgrounds, the South Yuba River, Scotts Flat Lake, Bridgeport Historic State Park and Historic Nevada City. Business travelers will appreciate being close to the Whispering Pines Business Park, the Grass Valley Group and the Loma Rica Industrial Park. The Grass Valley area is also home to a variety of annual events including the Draft Horse Classic, Music in the Mountains, Dog Shows, the Teddy Bear Convention and more!The friendly, helpful staff at the BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in Grass Valley, California. Make a reservation today and save!**Hot tub and Pool closed until further notice* ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn

Address: 972 Sutton Way, Grass Valley, CA 95945-5177
Region: United States > California > Grass Valley
Price Range: $155 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Best Western, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Main Building”
mbebeck, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“As for a room as far back off of the street as possible for the noise.”
CAgirl408, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
“second floor rooms are probably quieter, but we still heard freeway noise. The motel is right next to Hwy 20.”
Longpier1, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Dont end up in the detached building!”
coyote77north, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't take a room at the far back of the property as it abuts the freeway and is a bit noisy. The remainder of the property seems quiet.”
Dejaceo, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5