We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Yosemite Westgate Lodge

View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Yosemite Westgate Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

822 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for Yosemite Westgate Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 670: English reviews
Wuppertal, Germany
Reviewed 5 April 2017 via mobile

First of all, the lodge is pretty nice. I can recommend staying there in summer as it can bei close to the Yosemite National Park. What ruined our stay was the fact that a main conncection road was closed. It was not mentioned anywhere which led us to a long detour on forest roads. One could have avoided this by...

Thank Lars B
INNsight_HG, Owner at Yosemite Westgate Lodge, responded to this review

Lars: I am truly sorry that the recent road closure created a poor stay for your at The Westgate. We actually did email all of our guests with a notification but it is likely that message did not reach you. In any respect, we also wish the road was open and repairs are ongoing. We are glad that you felt...

Westville, Oklahoma
Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

Although this claims to be and is close to the gate of the park, what they neglect to tell you is that the road feel of the mountain and you can't get in the park on that side. It is a2 1/2 hour drive to the park and there is nothing within 11 miles of the hotel to eat or...

2Thank Charlotte W
INNsight_HG, Owner at Yosemite Westgate Lodge, responded to this review

Charlotte: We are sorry that you were impacted by the recent road closure on Big Oak Flat Road. This has led to a detour to reach The Valley. The road repairs are ongoing and sadly out of our control. We do hope you give us a second chance during the Summer and after the road is reopened--you will realize we...

surfers paradise
Reviewed 19 February 2017

We had an overnight stay here so we could explore Yosemite NP for the day in winter. Coming from San Francisco it was on the main road but defiantly a remote location so no Wifi or cell reception. Quite a distance from Groveland Town gas, shops and restaurants, but closer to the Big Oak Flat main park entrance. Rooms were...

1Thank khrissurfers
INNsight_HG, Owner at Yosemite Westgate Lodge, responded to this review

Khris: I wanted to thank you for staying with us at The Westgate and taking the time to write an honest straightforward review of our hotel. I also wanted to share some good news. We do work very hard to provide a clean and comfortable place to stay and hospitality for our travelers who come from around The World to...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

The lodge was clean and room tidy. Very minimally stocked- no cutlery or plates and only plastic cups. No wifi (removed from being offered). No food or restaurants within 10 mins. Would advise to stay elsewhere in Yosemite for better experience.

1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
INNsight_HG, Owner at Yosemite Westgate Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest: Thanks for staying with us at The Westgate. Let me address your concerns. Visiting us in The Winter can be a bit challenging as our on-site restaurant is closed for the Winter and many local businesses close early. Our restaurant is opening this month so that will make things seem less remote. Unfortunately, there aren't many options in...

Olathe, Kansas
Reviewed 13 February 2017

I paid in advance for 7 nights but stated on check-in that I would be leaving early. I was told in effect, fine, no problem. Expedia billed me for the seven nights. I called the hotel and Expedia but both claimed it was the responsibility of the other party to grant the refund. Don't count on the credit card company...

Thank ringmerlin
INNsight_HG, Owner at Yosemite Westgate Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest: I am sorry that you had an issue with Expedia offering a refund--unfortunately we have no control over the third party's booking terms--We marked your booking as an early cancellation with the OTA but I am not sure what happened between Expedia and yourself. This is why we always recommend our guests to book directly with us at...

Reviewed 18 January 2017

We traveled as a family in June 2016. Its fairly close to the park as far as lodging goes. There is a restaurant right next to it which very helpful. No internet connectivity or phone service which is quite common to the area. There are computers in the office which have connectivity which is helpful.

Thank luvtravel2000
INNsight_HG, Owner at Yosemite Westgate Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest: I wanted to thank you for staying with us at The Westgate. I would have loved to learn what it would have taken to be a memorable and quiet place. We are working hard to continuously improve our product to make sure guests visiting Yosemite have one of the best hotels to stay at in The Yosemite Westgate...

Sebastopol, California
Reviewed 17 January 2017

The room was clean and well-kept. The staff was friendly. The location is quite near the Park Entrance. There is no Wi-Fi There is no Cell reception for AT&T The walls/floors are thin and noise travels easily. Off-season the restaurant is not open and the hotel is a LONG way from anywhere else to eat. Off-season the water heater is...

Thank thedude2017
INNsight_HG, Owner at Yosemite Westgate Lodge, responded to this review

Hey Dude! ;) Thanks for staying with us at The Westgate. I wanted to personally respond to your review. First my gratitude for staying with us our hotel during the off-season. Second, I wanted to express my agreement for the fact that we are very remote--in fact all of Yosemite is pretty isolated and remote--it is rugged and preserved in...

San Diego, California
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

Although fairly close to the Yosemite park entrance, they are not very close to anything else. Their website boasts of an on site restaurant but it was closed during our visit without any prior notice. We had to drive 10 miles into town on dark windy roads each night. Not even a bbq on site to cook our own meals....

Thank b0nanza
INNsight_HG, Owner at Yosemite Westgate Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest: I wanted to take the time to thank you for staying with us at The Westgate and also address some of your concerns. Yosemite is still a quite rugged place--it is nature in almost every sense of that word. Our hotel is one of the only places to stay in this area because of this rugged environment. We...

Selangor Malaysia
Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

We were here for a night after visiting Yosemite national park, which was about 1 & 1/2 hours drive away. Check in was quick. We had a deluxe room which housed 5 of us comfortably.Microwave and a fridge was available, it would help if cutlery was provided. Room was big, comfortable and clean. We liked this place very much. Due...

Thank mkjs66
INNsight_HG, Owner at Yosemite Westgate Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest: Thanks to you and yours family for staying with us. I am glad that you had a wonderful experience and enjoyed our Deluxe Room--it is quite spacious. I do have some awesome news--the biggest gripe we've heard in the past years is that we had no WiFi--this was due to technical limitations--well we are excited to announce that...

Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed 2 December 2016

Nice rooms, seem to be newly renovated. Only the showers are a bit weired, very difficult to set a temperature anywhere between very cold and very hot. A bit pricy, but still ok compared to the generally high price level in the Yosemite area. It's a 1 hour drive to Yosemite valley, so not that close.

Thank Tom K
INNsight_HG, Owner at Yosemite Westgate Lodge, responded to this review

Tom: Thanks for staying with us at The Westgate in The Winter. We appreciate your business and especially are thankful for your review. We aspire to be one of the best places to stay in The Yosemite Area so your feedback helps us improve our product and service. Do spread the word about our hotel and have your friends and...

194 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (173)
Dining (5)
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Room/Suite (39)
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Bathroom (16)
View from Room (3)
Family/Play Areas (1)
Other (63)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (21)
Dining (1)
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Other (18)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groveland
18.9 km away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
25.2 km away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
1,980 reviews
15.7 km away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 km away
Hotel Charlotte
Hotel Charlotte
#2 of 7 in Groveland
792 reviews
15.1 km away
The Groveland Hotel
The Groveland Hotel
#5 of 7 in Groveland
569 reviews
30.2 km away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Yosemite Westgate Lodge is the most modern lodging facility on Highway 120, located just a mere 12 miles from the Big Oak Flat "Westgate" Entrance to Yosemite N.P., And a short 35 mile jaunt down to the Valley Floor and the many popular features of Yosemite including the thunderous waterfalls, Half Dome, El Capitan, Cathedral Rocks, and many campgrounds in and around Yosemite. We offer the ideal place to stay if you are traveling from the San Francisco Bay Area and Northern California. Our hotel boasts 48 luxuriously appointed and newly remodeled and extremely spacious rooms. Most of our rooms have two queen size beds, making them ideal for families or groups. The Yosemite Westgate Lodge is a 100% Non-Smoking facility and unfortunately, Pets are NOT allowed. The Lodge has a heated swimming pool, spa, playground, laundry facilities, and an adjacent restaurant. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Yosemite Westgate Lodge

Address: 7633 Hwy 120, at Buck Meadows, Groveland, CA 95321 (Formerly Yosemite Westgate Motel)
Region: United States > California > Groveland
Price Range: $237 - $435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Yosemite Westgate Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Yosemite Westgate Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn Yosemite Westgate Hotel Groveland
Americas Best Value Inn Groveland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Yosemite Westgate Lodge staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Holliston, Massachusetts
over a year ago
Brasília, Distrito Federal, Brazil
Holliston, Massachusetts
Boulder, Colorado

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Yosemite Westgate Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms seemed similar and have parking”
khrissurfers, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“It's a standard arrangement as far as choosing a room.”
ringmerlin, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“two levels, but we didn't seem to hear the guests upstairs.”
llevans, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The information given for this hotel is very clear. Cell service is almost non existent, and there is no wi-fi.”
tfp1, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“First floor gets a lot of noise from above.”
Onthebeachgene, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
US$229* /night
View Deal
View all 7 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates