We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Yosemite Westgate Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Yosemite Westgate Lodge
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

795 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Yosemite Westgate Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 652: English reviews
Melbourne
Reviewed 18 July 2014

You know that a hotel room is likely to be clean when you open the front door and you smell bleach. And in this case I was right. The room was spotlessly clean. It was a comfortable room with two queen sized beds and everything needed for a single-night stay. Note that the hotel no longer supplies Wi-Fi. You’re a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IntercontinentalOz
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewed 16 July 2014

It's technically a motel. And it feels like it. The rooms are fine, just very generic. It definitely looks better on the pictures. The bathroom seemed older and too basic. The motel is 10 miles outside of Yosemite park. The park itself is huge. So from the park village to the motel is 1 hour drive. It's something to consider....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeFTL
Littleborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in June. The hotel is very basic and the Wi-Fi does not work at all. The hotel is very close to the entrance of Yosemite. There is a restaurant next door which is Ok. It is a good choice of hotel for the location, which is basically what you are paying for.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 808Neilb4
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Yosemite Westgate Lodge, responded to this review

Neil: I wanted to thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Your honest appraisal is valued. We do wish we got a few more ticks of positiveness. We're sorry we do not have WiFi--it's unfortunately out of our control. You won't find high speed internet anywhere up in this corridor because of the remote location unfortunately. We...

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewed 3 July 2014

A good Hotel . Big and clean room and bathroom. Not very expensive because it is outside the Yosemite Park, but not very far from the entrance. They don´t have a restaurant but there is a good one next to it . A good choice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joseli B
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Yosemite Westgate Lodge, responded to this review

Joseli: Thank you for your positive review of your stay at Yosemite Westgate. We are glad that you had a good stay and see the value of our property. While many may see our rates as expensive, we actually offer a tremendous value compared to the few options within The Park and offer the most amenities in The Yosemite Area....

Independence, Kentucky
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed in room 202 for one night on our way into Yosemite. Location of hotel is acceptable-was about 1 hour from Yosemite valley floor in little traffic. Upon check-in, the room seemed acceptable. Liked the tile floor at the entrance and bathroom area. No apparent problems that evening. However, in the morning, we found that ANTS had found our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 123TinaF2014
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Yosemite Westgate Lodge, responded to this review

Tina: I wanted to take the time to address your complaint regarding ants at our hotel. Yosemite Westgate Lodge does not have an ant problem in the traditional sense. We are sorry that ants were attracted to your room and you had such an unpleasant stay because of it. The reality of the situation is that as humans, we have...

dallas
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We booked this room directly, well in advance. Reviews were good, and prices in the Valley higher. My wife would not like a tent cabin or other place with shared bathroom/showers. We were disappointed with the lack of WIFI, but the room was quiet, large, and had the microwave, fridge and coffee maker. The shower water never got hot for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DallasGlenn
Los Angeles
Reviewed 29 June 2014

First off, this motel is NOT in Groveland. It is about 30 minutes past the town of Groveland. I booked this through Hotels.com and filled out the number of additional people in the room before getting the final price. When we arrived late at night in the middle of nowhere the owner said I had to pay additional money for...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank RomanticSoul24
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Yosemite Westgate Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest: I wanted to take the time to respond to your inquiry. First off, thank you for the review. But I wanted to set the record straight because it is unfair to state that we are deceptive. We clearly denote our extra person fees and do not offer Fee WiFi. We used to but unfortunately because of our location,...

London
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We were on our way from San Francisco to the Yosemite National Park and I had previously booked this motel and it was about 10 miles from the western entrance so quite conveniently situated. The surrounding forest was very nice and the Motel which was quite large had a swimming pool in the middle. Groveland which was the nearest town...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stephen C
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Yosemite Westgate Lodge, responded to this review

Stephen: Thanks so much for your positive review of your stay at The Westgate. You're right, we're located in the Gold Country. There's alot of history up here in these hills. We are located smack dab in the middle of the forest and while we may seem far to many, we are the closest to Yosemite. Groveland is a fantastic...

Oakland, California
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We planned our Yosemite family vacation too late to get any accommodation within Yosemite, so the Westgate seemed like the closest (acceptable) hotel to Yosemite. I stayed here for 4 days in June with my husband and our 12 month old baby. Proximity to Yosemite: I'm not sure how some people were getting to the valley floor in 30 min....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Elizabeth D
Hamilton, Ohio
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

The motel is located very near the park entrance. It is about a 30 minute drive to the valley floor. The rooms are basic but very clean. The pool and hot tub are great to come back to at the end of a day hiking in Yosemite. The owners and office staff were extremely friendly and knowledgeable. I would stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Morishe

183 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (162)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groveland
18.9 km away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
25.3 km away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
1,903 reviews
15.2 km away
Hotel Charlotte
Hotel Charlotte
#2 of 6 in Groveland
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 km away
The Groveland Hotel
The Groveland Hotel
#4 of 6 in Groveland
558 reviews
30.0 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
30.2 km away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Yosemite Westgate Lodge is the most modern lodging facility on Highway 120, located just a mere 12 miles from the Big Oak Flat "Westgate" Entrance to Yosemite N.P., And a short 35 mile jaunt down to the Valley Floor and the many popular features of Yosemite including the thunderous waterfalls, Half Dome, El Capitan, Cathedral Rocks, and many campgrounds in and around Yosemite. We offer the ideal place to stay if you are traveling from the San Francisco Bay Area and Northern California. Our hotel boasts 48 luxuriously appointed and newly remodeled and extremely spacious rooms. Most of our rooms have two queen size beds, making them ideal for families or groups. The Yosemite Westgate Lodge is a 100% Non-Smoking facility and unfortunately, Pets are NOT allowed. The Lodge has a heated swimming pool, spa, playground, laundry facilities, and an adjacent restaurant. Sorry, we do NOT have WIFI. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Yosemite Westgate Lodge

Address: 7633 Hwy 120, at Buck Meadows, Groveland, CA 95321 (Formerly Yosemite Westgate Motel)
Region: United States > California > Groveland
Price Range: $136 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Yosemite Westgate Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Yosemite Westgate Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn Yosemite Westgate Hotel Groveland
Americas Best Value Inn Groveland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Yosemite Westgate Lodge staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Holliston, Massachusetts
over a year ago
Brasília, Distrito Federal, Brazil
Holliston, Massachusetts
Boulder, Colorado

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Yosemite Westgate Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“two levels, but we didn't seem to hear the guests upstairs.”
 of 5 bubbles llevans, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The information given for this hotel is very clear. Cell service is almost non existent, and there is no wi-fi.”
 of 5 bubbles tfp1, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“First floor gets a lot of noise from above.”
 of 5 bubbles Onthebeachgene, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Not a lot of traffic at night so any room should be great!”
 of 5 bubbles pdavis479, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay here. The place is a total joke.”
 of 5 bubbles harryd589, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay