We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

La Jolla Cove Suites

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
La Jolla Cove Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

941 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 885: English reviews
Start your review of La Jolla Cove Suites
 Click to rate
Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is basically an expensive motel. We rented a 2 story 2 bedroom and 2 bathroom suite. The rooms are old and smelly. None of the bathroom doors locked and the toilet paper holders and hair dryer were broken off the wall. For the money they charge, they can put a little more effort into making the rooms cozy. The...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Irene S
GMLaJollaCoveSuites, General Manager at La Jolla Cove Suites, responded to this review

Dear Irene S, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay, but would like to let you know we are currently renovating our property. So, I hope you will give us another chance in the future. Best regards,

Zelienople, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked an "Newly Renovated Guest Room with Oceanfront Balcony. 1 King bed, PLUS a separate Queen Bedroom" for two nights during their 30% off sale for a total of $377. Not a bad price for the location and the size of the room. We were in room 401, which had no one above or to the right. Wonderful views...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mustangjeanne
GMLaJollaCoveSuites, General Manager at La Jolla Cove Suites, responded to this review

Dear mustangjeanne, I apologize for the issues you encountered during your stay. I am glad to hear you still enjoyed our ocean front location. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit the La Jolla Cove. Thank you for your feedback. Best regards,

Shawnee, Kansas
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The hotel was right on the Pacific by the Cove which is an awesome location with sea lions, kayaking, scuba diving, snorkeling, etc. The hotel was dated, but sufficient and clean with a complimentary breakfast. Parking was $40/day vs. the $20 advertised. We had two bedrooms each with a king size bed. The walls are definitely not sound proof. Again,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wandab410
GMLaJollaCoveSuites, General Manager at La Jolla Cove Suites, responded to this review

Dear wandab410, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. I am so happy to hear you enjoyed our ocean front property. We hope you will stay with us again in the future. Best regards,

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

La Jolla has lots of very nice hotels if you are willing to pay $400 a night. The Cove Suites is in a great location directly looking over the cove and just a stroll up the hill to the many restaurants and shops. Unfortunately it is a bit tired and in need of some refurbishment. The room itself, a sea...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lenp135
GMLaJollaCoveSuites, General Manager at La Jolla Cove Suites, responded to this review

Dear Lenp135, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay. I am happy to hear you enjoyed our magnificent ocean views. We are always looking for ways to improve. So, your feedback is much appreciated. Thank you again for providing such great feedback. Best regards,

New York City, New York
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Spent one night in room 416, which is a King-Queen oceanfront room. Paid around $200 using the tripadvisor discount code. Upon arrival, we were able to find parking across the street, which is is three hour parking from 8-6. Otherwise there was a separate $30 parking fee. Check in was smooth and the woman working the reception was extremely polite...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank rajia21
GMLaJollaCoveSuites, General Manager at La Jolla Cove Suites, responded to this review

Dear Rajia21, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. I am happy to hear you enjoyed the spectacular view from your ocean front balcony. We are always looking for ways to improve. So, your feedback is appreciated and welcome. Thank you again for the great review. Best regards,

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Small room, no heat, soft bed, broken toilet seat, view of rear parking lot, slow internet. Huge dumpster in front of the entrance when I arrived. You get the picture. Less than you would expect even from a budget hotel. But the location on the cove is good.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank julyguest
GMLaJollaCoveSuites, General Manager at La Jolla Cove Suites, responded to this review

Dear Julyguest, I am so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the room you booked. Most of our rooms do have ocean views and a substantial amount of space. We are currently undergoing a renovation and I apologize for any inconvenience. I hope you will give us another chance in the future. Thank you for taking the time...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were thrilled to be upgraded at no extra charge to a beach front view. There were two queen size beds that were very comfortable and the rooftop continental breakfast was delicious. The staff was very friendly as well. We loved the deck as well which gave us a view of the ocean.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Valerie S
GMLaJollaCoveSuites, General Manager at La Jolla Cove Suites, responded to this review

Dear Valerie S, Thank you so much for the wonderful review. I am so happy to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. We take great pride in our staff and it is always good to hear they are making a difference in our guest's experience. Thank you again for the review. Best regards,

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The location is great but my WiFi didn't work and the hotel had me on the phone with IT (which took an hour)... not exactly my idea of a peaceful time. I had work / studying to do so I needed the WiFi. Also, the walls are poorly insulated and you can hear doors slamming everywhere. In addition, the food...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paul J
GMLaJollaCoveSuites, General Manager at La Jolla Cove Suites, responded to this review

Dear Paul J, First I want to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. I am sorry about the wifi connectivity issue. I assure you we are currently working to fix this problem. I am happy to hear the at you enjoyed the view from our ocean front location. I hope you will give us another...

Orange County, California
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here based off of the pictures that were advertised on their website. However, this was definitely not a suite by any means. The hotel was more like a motel with the dingy green carpet, popcorn ceiling, dirty bathroom. It is quite expensive for the quality you are really getting. I was honestly pretty grossed out and was happy...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 650viviant
GMLaJollaCoveSuites, General Manager at La Jolla Cove Suites, responded to this review

Dear 650viviant, I am so sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. I have shared your feedback with our management team and we are working very hard to fix any issues that may arise in the future. With out feedback like this we cannot grow. So, just want to express how much we appreciate you taking the time...

Branchville, New Jersey
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Holy small room! The room was clean, but it doesn't take much to keep a room where the bed takes up 90% of the room clean anyway. Wouldn't have cared if that was the worst part of the room. The worst part was the shower... the shower curtain wasn't long enough so water just ran over the floor and it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Woohoo451
GMLaJollaCoveSuites, General Manager at La Jolla Cove Suites, responded to this review

Dear Woohoo451, I am sorry you did not totally enjoy your stay. We do offer a wide variety of rooms to accommodate every budget. Many of our rooms are quite large and offer spectacular views of the ocean. We hope you will give us another chance to show you what we have to offer. Thank you so much for the...

721 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (446)
Viewed
Room/Suite (109)
Viewed
View from Room (80)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (77)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (22)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (115)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (199)
Viewed
Deluxe One Bedroom Suite #150 (116)
Viewed
Pool (9)
Viewed
The Hotel (74)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (76)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
0.3 km away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
794 reviews
0.2 km away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,088 reviews
0.4 km away
Grande Colonial La Jolla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
796 reviews
0.6 km away
Inn by the Sea
Inn by the Sea
#13 of 24 in La Jolla
771 reviews
1.5 km away
La Jolla Shores Hotel
La Jolla Shores Hotel
#10 of 24 in La Jolla
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The closest ocean front vintage boutique property in La Jolla with hotel guestrooms, studio rooms and suites, most with ocean views ! Only 220 feet from world renown La Jolla Cove's beach, walk to the Cove to snorkel, dive, swim or surf. Watch the sea lions or catch a west coast sunset all from your private oceanfront guestroom balcony. Within walking distance to world class shops and restaurants.Guests can also enjoy our heated saltwater pool,or relax in our spa under the stars in the evening after a bike ride along the coast. Start your morning off with continental breakfast on the rooftop with magnificent vista views of the Pacific Ocean and the rugged Southern California coastline. A most memorable experience in a breathtaking location! ... more   less 

Additional Information about La Jolla Cove Suites

Address: 1155 Coast Blvd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-3627
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Price Range: $242 - $483 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Jolla Cove Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your La Jolla Cove Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Jolla Cove Hotel La Jolla
Cove La Jolla
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in La Jolla
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from La Jolla Cove Suites staff and other travellers.
25 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (25)

Questions? Get answers from La Jolla Cove Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“401 has a great view, as I am sure all the rooms on the 4 floor do.”
 of 5 bubbles mustangjeanne, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“ask for a balcony room”
 of 5 bubbles werdtothewize, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“For the best views, request the suites at the top of the hill, outside the main building.”
 of 5 bubbles Jackgam, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ocean side”
 of 5 bubbles MaxWien, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“ask to see room first”
 of 5 bubbles 927patricias, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5