We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Historic Mayfair Hotel

Show Prices
#242 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Historic Mayfair Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

444 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Historic Mayfair Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 259: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 September 2013

I stayed here in August for 4nights. Room was clean, a good size and comfortable. Yes the curtains were a little dated, but don’t let this put you off. The location is good – close to the metro, if you have a car the car park at the hotel is secure. The location is fine, I really liked the downtown...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank SamanthaH84
MayfairLA, General Manager at Historic Mayfair Hotel, responded to this review

Dear SamanthaH84, thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay at the Mayfair. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgement of a positive nature. It's truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff's efforts and takes the time to share that with us....

Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We choice this hotel for it's proximity to the Orpheum Theater and it's price. After booking however, there was a price discrepancy that led us to being charged an extra $50. They charge for parking in their garage also. The room was small and outdated, the bathroom was the same. Awful water pressure and the mattress and pillows really left...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank jtlsmfry
MayfairLA, General Manager at Historic Mayfair Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jtls mfry, thank you for taking the time sharing your recent stay at the Mayfair. As of the $50 extra, it is a standard deposit for incidentals and nothing to do with the rate. That amount cancels out upon check out unless there are extra charges asides from your room rate (ie. parking, breakfast, phone calls). Majority of hotels...

Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed 4 nights at The Mayfair Hotel. The rooms are very small, tiny bathrooms (no place to put your staff). For refrigerator you have to pay extra. Additional pay for parking ($12 per night). Breakfast is not included ($12.95 per person). Only one thing was good is a location of this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Iermis
MayfairLA, General Manager at Historic Mayfair Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lermis, thank you for your comments. The Mayfair is a great value alternative to Downtown LA. The hotel charges $12 per night for parking which is very competitive in the area and it includes 24 hours security and in/out privileges. We want to let you know that the hotel will have a full renovation early of 2014 top to...

Huddinge, Sweden
Reviewed 1 September 2013

My wife and I stayed here for ten nights to visit our daughter and its comfortable and good price hotel. The neighborhood is not bad with genuine mexican food and close to dowtown LA, a five minute walk to the 7th street metro station. Well worth the price and recommended and there are hotels that are close by that are...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank MikaelEaly
MayfairLA, General Manager at Historic Mayfair Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MikaelElay, thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay at the Mayfair. I'am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. The hotel is withing walking distance to a lot of great places to visit and always strives to provide reasonable prices to its guests. We want to inform you that starting early 2014, the hotel will...

Reviewed 29 August 2013

Just back from 3 nights at The Mayfair Hotel at the end of a 16 night trip across the USA. Sadly this once 'Historic' hotel is in bad need of restoration from top to bottom. Lobby entrance and front desk look appealing but from my experience that's where the good bit ends. Rooms are very tired with grubby curtains, damaged...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Les M
MayfairLA, General Manager at Historic Mayfair Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Les M, thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay at the Mayfair Hotel. The Mayfair is a great value alternative to Downtown LA and we continue to improve our offerings. We want to be sure to inform you that starting early of 2014, we will undergo a big renovation which will incorporate the hotel top...

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I booked this hotel for 10 nights, i loved it the staff were so helpful and friendly, i traveled from NZ all by myself what a great experance for me 1st time outside NZ my home country im sad to leave,, my room was wonderful, i couldent have asked for a better holiday. I Recomend this hotel to all, i...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Rona G
MayfairLA, General Manager at Historic Mayfair Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rona G, thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay at the Mayfair Hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgement of a positive nature. It's truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff's efforts and takes the time to share that with us. Your comments...

Feilding, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We arrived after a 20 hours of flying to be told we could not check in before 3pm as our room was not ready. At the time of booking I had requested an earlier check-in (11am) but this was not taken into account. The foyer is ok looking but the leather couches were peeling, it just looks tired. We got...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Stell_Stu
MayfairLA, General Manager at Historic Mayfair Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Stell_Stu, thank you for taking the time to share you comments. I apologize that you have to wait for your room, we were sold out the night before and it does take us a while to get the rooms ready. We want to let you know that there will be a full renovation starting on February 2014. I am...

Reviewed 9 August 2013

We arrived in a foyer of peeling leather couches and dirty dusty plastic foliage.The rooms were dirty,stains on carpet walls ripped curtains ,some one elses hair in badly stained bathroom, horrible odour,no fridge,nothing to drink out of,no tea or coffee facilities.Air conditioning was so old the noise kept you awake.the neighbourhood was shady.We cant believe our travel agent would book...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rustybentes
MayfairLA, General Manager at Historic Mayfair Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rustybentes, thank you very much for your comments. As the new management company that took over April 2013, we are working diligently to clean the hotel top to bottom. There will be a full renovation plan on early 2014. We'll take a hard look in the room you were in and make sure we get it on to top...

Ashburn, Virginia
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I understand that this property is under renovations, and i just hope that the room that I was given is on the list to be renovated, but the part that I did see that was renovated was done really nice and it looks like this property will be very nice once the renovations are complete, and hopefully, the prices will...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Martin T
MayfairLA, General Manager at Historic Mayfair Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Martin T, thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay at the Mayfair Hotel. The Mayfair is a great value and we continue to improve our offerings. The new management and owner of the Mayfair are very committed to bring the Mayfair back to its past grandeur. We currently redone the restaurant for both breakfast and...

Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Needed to spend a few days visiting some clients in downtown L.A. Location was really close to where I needed, also just a short distance to Staples Center and the Fashion District. The neighborhood is undergoing a transformation with older buildings sandwiched between newer buildings. This hotel is certainly historic. I received a room that was recently remodeled and it...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Steve S
MayfairLA, General Manager at Historic Mayfair Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Steve S, thank you very much for your comments. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. The Mayfair is a great value alternative to Downtown LA and yet still close to the attractions. Thank you for your comments about the staff, I will definitely pass it along. We look forward to your next visit. Sincerely, Mike...

217 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (201)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (45)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
View from Room (23)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (85)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
The Milner Hotel Downtown Los Angeles
Downtown
Stillwell Hotel
Stillwell Hotel
#210 of 348 in Los Angeles
79 reviews
Hotel Solaire Los Angeles
#171 of 348 in Los Angeles
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Ramada Los Angeles/Downtown West
Ramada Los Angeles/Downtown West
#180 of 348 in Los Angeles
553 reviews
Downtown
O Hotel
O Hotel
#138 of 348 in Los Angeles
430 reviews
Downtown
Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Historic Mayfair Hotel in the heart of downtown Los Angeles was the tallest building west of the Mississippi when it was built in 1926. We maintain the American charm of the Roaring Twenties with marble floors, brass fixtures, glass etchings, and fluted column pillars. Modern amenities have been added for your comfort while preserving the grandeur of Old World elegance. With 295 rooms available for guests with King, Queen, Twin full sized or single beds, the Historic Mayfair Hotel offers an affordable stay surrounded by the vibrancy of city life. Our convenient location allows guests to explore all of Los Angeles from the beautiful hillsides of Beverly Hills to the cultural hotspots of Hollywood. If you're looking for a home away from home enjoy our junior suites with a lounge area, refrigerator, and microwave, or our executive suite with a dining room and kitchenette. The Celebrity, our onsite dining, serves a full breakfast daily with a variety of hot and cold options for guests. The location of the first post Academy Awards party in 1929, the Historic Mayfair Hotel is the optimal choice for those looking to discover the architecture, culture and history of Los Angeles at reasonable rates. Our tenured and experienced staff is here to make you feel relaxed and comfortable at our hotel, and ensure that you have a memorable stay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Historic Mayfair Hotel

Address: 1256 W 7th St, Los Angeles, CA 90017-2346
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles
Price Range: $180 - $449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Historic Mayfair Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 295
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, HotelsforEveryone, Jetsetter, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Historic Mayfair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfair Hotel Los Angeles
Mayfair Los Angeles
Mayfair Hotel La
Hotel Style:
#31 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Historic Mayfair Hotel staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from Historic Mayfair Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Probably higher up, as the hotel is right on the street.”
 of 5 bubbles 97vista10, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“doubt there are any good rooms that don't have noise and dust”
 of 5 bubbles Iloveibizamillion, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“stay at another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles juliamD522AH, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The rooms are clean, updated and a little tight on the 5th floor, almost had a midtown Manhattan feel. My shower was so small I had to turn the water off to soap up, and the rest of the bathroom gets even smaller ”
 of 5 bubbles 38deanp, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on 15th floor offer great views. Make sure to get a renovated room.”
 of 5 bubbles MickyMG, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5