We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Red Cottage Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Red Cottage Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

194 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Red Cottage Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 191: English reviews
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewed 16 March 2016

Rooms are built from garage or container like constructions All staff members except one were unfriendly over the 4 days that I stayed there Food - breakfast was so bad it gave me a stomach ache. They leave oranges there for guests, but they are not fresh and not replaced.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachel B
RCIadmin, Front Office Manager at Red Cottage Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the time to review our property . We value your input and will surely take note of the feedback and use it to better serve our guests . Thank you for staying with us.

Longview, Washington, United States
Reviewed 12 March 2016

Location is everything, and this property proves it. You turn in off of El Camino Real, a four lane busy road, but drive behind a 2-story Real Estate Business to be ON Red Cottage Inn property. You find that it is quiet where ALL of the rooms are located, and the outdoor seats in front of the pool, and those...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joan D
RCIadmin, Front Office Manager at Red Cottage Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing the highlights of your stay with us . We hope to see you again .

Placerville, California
Reviewed 1 March 2016

Just got back and it is clean, friendly staff, nice breakfast....very cute place...would recommend it! Lots of restaurants close by and cute places to see at night in Menlo Park area. The staff knew of places to eat that were nearby.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Penny P
RCIadmin, Front Office Manager at Red Cottage Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your pleasant experience with us . We hope to see you on your next visit in the area.

Switzerland
Reviewed 21 November 2015

The Red Cottage Inn is a motel-style hotel, with all the amenities expected. Our room, with is small patio was very adequate. The swimming pool and the sitting area around provide for nice relaxation. The small, complimentary continental breakfast buffet is nicely adequate.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rokkap
RCIadmin, Front Office Manager at Red Cottage Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review . We appreciate all you kind remarks about our property. We look forward to your next visit.

Reviewed 16 November 2015

This small motel/cottage is great if you are looking for a comfortable stay for a few nights. Located right off of El Camino, across from the college, it offers the amenities you need to get a good night's rest. The rooms are clean (I thoroughly inspect all from a quality control view) and you have free WiFi and cable TV....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Superfly885
RCIadmin, Front Office Manager at Red Cottage Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review. We appreciate all your kind remarks about our property. We are scheduled to upgrade the property and will keep your suggestion in mind. Our Staff will always do everything possible to ensure your satisfaction. We look forward welcoming you on your next stay.

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 26 October 2015

Lovely place and. Pretty little open courtyard. We were there for four nights for class college reunion in Palo Alto. GREAT location, but, again, it comes down to the quality of the bed. Sheets and towels were barely even average quality and the bed was uncomfortable. I could feel indents in the mattress from wear. The housekeeping and front desk...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jclarremore
RCIadmin, Front Office Manager at Red Cottage Inn, responded to this review

Hi Mr Ted Larremore, Thank you for taking time to review . We appreciate your remarks.We are pleased to read comments on our property and our staff but we are sorry to learn how you feel about your bed in your room. We do hope this does not keep you from visiting us again in the future. We are schedule...

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 3 September 2015

The Red Cottage Inn was a completely pleasant surprise. Situated off busy El Camino Boulevard this little motor inn is a haven in the busyness of the surrounding area. The room was very clean, quite and had an outdoor patio which was delightful. Only 2 miles from Stanford Campus, I plan on returning here for the Stanford football games this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mutinousdog
RCIadmin, Front Office Manager at Red Cottage Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind remarks . We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and very delighted to know that you find the hotel very clean, quiet and very quaint. We look forward welcoming you on your next stay.

E Palo Alto
Reviewed 28 August 2015

Excellent central bay area location. The whole place is beautiful. The room was spacious and airy. It was like a small apartment. The kids had an area to themselves sectioned off. And the shower was like being in heaven. It was immaculate. Close to stanford univ., hospital, and.mall. half hour from san fran., and half hour from san jose. 10...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank karenrD1857CD
RCIadmin, Front Office Manager at Red Cottage Inn, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with s .We look forward to your next visit. Thank you fro your review!

Calistoga
Reviewed 20 August 2015

The Red Cottage Inn has been a carefully guarded secret among generations of Stanford parents and frequent business travelers to Silicon Valley. It is a small, meticulously maintained motel on the border of Atherton and Menlo Park. The motel is located just off El Camino which is busy during the day but quiets down at night. Downtown Menlo Park with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Calistoga Grower
RCIadmin, Front Office Manager at Red Cottage Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and kind remarks.Your recommendations is genuinely appreciated.We are glad you and guests enjoyed your stay with us. Looking forward to your next stay.

Sonoma, United States
Reviewed 4 August 2015

I spent a very uncomfortable night at the Red Cottage Inn and Suites. As a professional I sent a letter to the manager expressing my concerns and suggestions. Unfortunately, after two months, I have not received any acknowledgement of my communication nor a response. I am very disappointed since my issues are resolvable.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mariyln K
RCIadmin, Guest Relations Manager at Red Cottage Inn, responded to this review

We apologize that you were disappointed that we fell short of your expectations. Unfortunately, we did not receive any letter regarding your concerns. We will be more than happy to address your concerns and suggestions and if you have time please send us an email at frontdesk@redcottageinn.com.

37 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menlo Park
1.5 km away
Hotel Lucent
Hotel Lucent
#2 of 9 in Menlo Park
116 reviews
0.7 km away
Menlo Park Inn
Menlo Park Inn
#4 of 9 in Menlo Park
201 reviews
2.2 km away
Stanford Park Hotel
Stanford Park Hotel
#1 of 9 in Menlo Park
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 km away
Creekside Inn
Creekside Inn
#7 of 27 in Palo Alto
575 reviews
0.6 km away
Residence Inn Palo Alto Menlo Park
3.3 km away
The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 

Additional Information about Red Cottage Inn

Address: 1704 El Camino Real, Menlo Park, CA 94025
Region: United States > California > Menlo Park
Price Range: $193 - $376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Cottage Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and TravelClick so you can book your Red Cottage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Cottage Hotel Menlo Park
Red Cottage Menlo Park
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Menlo Park
#3 Family Hotel in Menlo Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Red Cottage Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Red Cottage Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I would stay on the 1st floor. I had room 117 - an ADA room - was even larger.”
 of 5 bubbles DEANAL892, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Avoid rooms above office, may have infestation”
 of 5 bubbles mountain820, 17 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Get the suite if available. We did have a refrig, MW but it was rather crowded... Get the suite!”
 of 5 bubbles G529AYjenniferw, 3 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Lower number rooms are closer to the parking area - but the property is small so this is really not an issue unless it's pouring rain.”
 of 5 bubbles MuseumMom57, 30 Mar 2016 | Read review
“to ensure Extra quiet, ask for rooms "beyond the pool"”
 of 5 bubbles joand338, 11 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5