We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Red Cottage Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Red Cottage Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

196 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Red Cottage Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 193: English reviews
Calistoga
Reviewed 20 August 2015

The Red Cottage Inn has been a carefully guarded secret among generations of Stanford parents and frequent business travelers to Silicon Valley. It is a small, meticulously maintained motel on the border of Atherton and Menlo Park. The motel is located just off El Camino which is busy during the day but quiets down at night. Downtown Menlo Park with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Calistoga Grower
RCIadmin, Front Office Manager at Red Cottage Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and kind remarks.Your recommendations is genuinely appreciated.We are glad you and guests enjoyed your stay with us. Looking forward to your next stay.

Sonoma, United States
Reviewed 4 August 2015

I spent a very uncomfortable night at the Red Cottage Inn and Suites. As a professional I sent a letter to the manager expressing my concerns and suggestions. Unfortunately, after two months, I have not received any acknowledgement of my communication nor a response. I am very disappointed since my issues are resolvable.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mariyln K
RCIadmin, Guest Relations Manager at Red Cottage Inn, responded to this review

We apologize that you were disappointed that we fell short of your expectations. Unfortunately, we did not receive any letter regarding your concerns. We will be more than happy to address your concerns and suggestions and if you have time please send us an email at frontdesk@redcottageinn.com.

Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 July 2015

This is a straightforward motel with good average accommodation, but in no way luxurious. The location is good, a little way back from the busy Camino Real. A fairly basic breakfast but with good cereal. The rate we were charged was not justified by the accommodation and breakfast

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EKandBSK
RCIadmin, Guest Relations Manager at Red Cottage Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you felt that our hotel is just average, not luxurious and overpriced. Over the years the market and overhead cost of doing business in Menlo Park has increased. With that being said, we still find that our rates are significantly lower than our competitors together with the complimentary services we offer like free parking,...

Reviewed 18 July 2015 via mobile

I had given this hotel a high rating previously, but I am downgrading it since they have more than doubled their rates, putting it well out of my price range, even with a AAA discount. I don't know if they are under new ownership, or have just gotten greedy. I won't be staying here anymore.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura V
RCIadmin, Guest Relations Manager at Red Cottage Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We apologize that you felt that we have more than doubled our rates but over the years the market and overhead cost of doing business in Menlo Park has increased. We do offer discounted rates like AAA discount, Advanced Purchase rates and Extended Stay discounts to offer our guest better deals. We still find that...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 15 July 2015 via mobile

Stayed one night in July. Rooms were tidy & well appointed if smallish in size. I was upgraded to a suite which was very spacious, but with rel. little privacy in living area as this faced straight into pool area do folks taking a dip stared straight into the living area. Service was good. Room was clean although I was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kiwikruiser
RCIadmin, Front Office Manager at Red Cottage Inn, responded to this review

We are glad that the unusual spider incident did no dampen your stay with us. Our fitness room is located near the office, apologies if guest services agent did not informed you upon check in . Thank you for taking the time to write a review and sharing your detailed account of your experience with us..We look forward to the...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 17 June 2015

I stayed at the Red Cottage Inn and Suites for work and found it to be more than adequate! The room was spacious for one person and had a nice sized refrigerator and coffee maker. It was very comfortable and the free breakfast provided was all I needed. Protein such as boiled eggs and yogurt were available as well as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Irishlassy2014
RCIadmin, Guest Relations Manager at Red Cottage Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. We look forward in welcoming you back.

Bend, Oregon
Reviewed 1 June 2015 via mobile

This older motel has been well maintained. Grounds are nicely landscaped with a sweet courtyard. Rooms are small but acceptable. Pet friendly. Nice staff. They don't charge for parking, which is a plus. Biggest drawback is a commuter train just blocks away, which rumbles by until 10 pm.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lauren98604
RCIadmin, Guest Relations Manager at Red Cottage Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the nice feedback. We look forward in welcoming you back.

Wooster, Ohio
Reviewed 29 May 2015

I stayed here for 5 nights and was pleasantly surprised. The property was lovely, room was larger than expected, and the staff was very friendly and welcoming. I arrived quite early from the east coast and was able to check in very early, which was extremely convenient. The breakfast was much better than the usual continental. The wifi was good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KShoeWoo
RCIadmin, Guest Relations Manager at Red Cottage Inn, responded to this review

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are renovating the fourth quarter of this year and one of our focus would be upgrading to a bigger bathroom. We hope to see you soon and showcase the new look of the hotel.

Lander, Wyoming
Reviewed 28 May 2015

We stayed here 4 nights May 2015. Very quiet peaceful inn. Nice swimming pool. Small exercise room that is perfectly adequate with treadmill, horizontal bicycle and step machine. Very nice staff. No complaints at all. For quietest rooms, ask for upstairs, facing pool near back. Microwave, fridge and coffee machine in room. Hot water and fruit 24/7 in lobby. Average...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank p c
RCIadmin, Guest Relations Manager at Red Cottage Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. We look forward in welcoming you back.

Reviewed 9 April 2015

Stayed 2 nights over Passover/Easter weekend while visiting my brother in Menlo Park. The lower rooms have two full sized beds and upstairs have king beds. Lower level rooms have an outdoor deck with a little table and two chairs. Very charming. There is a fireplace and chairs for all to share outside as well as a pool. The hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Shoshana H
RCIadmin, Guest Relations Manager at Red Cottage Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate your kind words and we are very excited to inform you that we will be renovating the end of this year that will expand our breakfast area. We look forward in welcoming you back and showcasing the improved look of the hotel.

42 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menlo Park
1.5 km away
Hotel Lucent
Hotel Lucent
#2 of 9 in Menlo Park
121 reviews
0.7 km away
Menlo Park Inn
Menlo Park Inn
#4 of 9 in Menlo Park
202 reviews
6.8 km away
Creekside Inn
Creekside Inn
#7 of 27 in Palo Alto
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Stanford Park Hotel
Stanford Park Hotel
#1 of 9 in Menlo Park
764 reviews
8.6 km away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
864 reviews
0.6 km away
Residence Inn Palo Alto Menlo Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 

Additional Information about Red Cottage Inn

Address: 1704 El Camino Real, Menlo Park, CA 94027-4127
Region: United States > California > Menlo Park
Price Range: $183 - $397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Cottage Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Red Cottage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Cottage Hotel Menlo Park
Red Cottage Menlo Park
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Menlo Park
#3 Business Hotel in Menlo Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Red Cottage Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Red Cottage Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“corner room was private and quiet”
 of 5 bubbles 532maryal, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I would stay on the 1st floor. I had room 117 - an ADA room - was even larger.”
 of 5 bubbles DEANAL892, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Avoid rooms above office, may have infestation”
 of 5 bubbles mountain820, 17 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Get the suite if available. We did have a refrig, MW but it was rather crowded... Get the suite!”
 of 5 bubbles G529AYjenniferw, 3 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Lower number rooms are closer to the parking area - but the property is small so this is really not an issue unless it's pouring rain.”
 of 5 bubbles MuseumMom57, 30 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5