We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Budget Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Budget Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

72 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 55: English reviews
Start your review of Budget Inn
 Click to rate
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

The Inn is the perfect Budget stay. The wifi never disappoints and the customer service is great. If you're looking for a place on a budget, this is the place for you. Other budget motels in the area have extreme flaws like very slow wifi or tiny tube televisions from the 90s. This was my second stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Levi H
SUNIL R, General Manager at Budget Inn, responded to this review

It is our pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again.

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 11 February 2017

Love love love the new clock radio and bedding in the room I stayed in. Nice added touch. The people here are all so nice from the manager to his front desk ladies to the housekeepers. They did a great job cleaning my room. It's nice and quiet on the side I stay on so I get a good sleep....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Biztrav57
SUNIL R, General Manager at Budget Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the nice review . We look forward to seeing you again. I will pass on your compliments to my staff.

Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Reviewed 9 February 2017 via mobile

Very inviting lobby , standing outside checking in outside through bullet proof glass with a view of the projects across the parking lot. Lamp shade was broken, drug deal gone bad or from when SWAT deployed a flash bang IDK. But didn't have to pay extra for sheets so that was a plus. Staff was very friendly so that's always...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amcc0lgan
SUNIL R, General Manager at Budget Inn, responded to this review

Thank your humorous review and we will fix the issues mentioned in your review. We look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewed 23 January 2017

I decided to revisit this hotel and to my surprise beds and sheets had been change, along with a stronger WI-FI, less humidity even though it was raining outside, they have improved the place a bit, resting was comfortable and the staff is helpful. A word to the wise: make sure to tell the front desk clerk you will have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ricardo M
SUNIL R, Manager at Budget Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us recently. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on the compliments to the staff and look forward on seeing you again.

Gotha, Florida
Reviewed 17 January 2017

The hotel was clean and the owner/front desk was very helpful. We had a credit card snafu but were able to fix the issue. It was great to sleep in a clean room and bed after 2 days of sleeping on couches because of the flooding in Yosemite. We work there and had to be evacuated.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nitnoy24
SUNIL R, Manager at Budget Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again and all the best in your future travel plans.

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 21 December 2016 via mobile

We have stayed at the Budget Inn several times. It's a great value for what you get. The rooms are clean. The wifi is free. They make more upgrades all the time and everybody who works there is always so nice and welcoming.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DnJBell
SUNIL R, General Manager at Budget Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. recently .We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass the nice compliments to my staff. Once again thank you and we look forward to seeing you again.

Hawkley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 November 2016

staff rude, room dirty, breakfast a joke. This was the worst place that I have stayed in ever. the first member of staff we met when we arrived could not be bothered and just didn't want to be there and the one the next morning grunted once and just wanted to play on her phone. the breakfast was a plastic...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
SUNIL R, General Manager at Budget Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us recently. Thank you for bringing the issues you encountered on your recent stay. We wish you the best in your future travel plans.

Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

Listen to the other reviews. It is as bad as they say. Dirty and torn sheets, makeup on pillow case, broken shower, hair all over the floor, roof was barely patched from severe water damage, bed was AWFUL and breakfast wasn't really breakfast. Coffee and a cheap pastry. Very unfortunate. I wish we had just stayed in my SUV. 😔

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ashleigh S
SUNIL R, General Manager at Budget Inn, responded to this review

Thank you taking your valuable time to review your recent stay with us. We do strive to provide clean comfortable rooms and we will look into the issues you mentioned in your review. Wishing you all the best in future travel plans.

Bury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

Hmm ! It was ok, we were passing thru, arrived late and left early. Very basic all round, no in room coffee, fridge, microwave, furniture was a little tatty, small room, bathroom needed replacing but it was clean enough and the most basic breakfast you could get away with in the lobby, coffee, juice and pastries. However the lady on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicky L
SUNIL R, Front Office Manager at Budget Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us recently. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we do have rooms with microwave and fridge for a small fee . Once again thanks for staying with and look forward to seeing you in the future if you happen to travel through Merced.

Reviewed 12 September 2016

The establishment is old, but if you're looking for a place to sleep for a night and you are on a budget, this may work for you. Its location and surroundings are a bit daunting; however, we came across no troubles during our one night stay. The inn has Denny's across the way, next to it is a Shell gas...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kanoilani
SUNIL R, General Manager at Budget Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us recently. We do appreciate your feedback and we will work on the issues mentioned in your review. We do have shampoo and conditioner at front desk available upon request. Once again thanks for staying with us.

16 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merced hotels
0.6 km away
Americas Best Value Inn- Merced
4.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced
3.1 km away
America's Best Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Courtyard Merced
Courtyard Merced
#2 of 14 in Merced
414 reviews
4.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites - Merced
3.2 km away
Travelodge Merced Yosemite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are centrally located in city of MERCED right off the Highway 99 for easy access with FREE WI-FI and onsite laundry facilities for guest use with 24 hr staff AT FRONT DESK.WE ARE LOCATED CLOSE TO DINING PLACES -MC DONALD'S AND DENNY'S OPEN 24 HRS. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Budget Inn

Address: 1215 R St, Merced, CA 95341-5869 (Formerly Vagabond Inn Merced)
Region: United States > California > Merced
Price Range: $73 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Budget Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Budget Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Hotel Merced
Merced Vagabond Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Budget Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Budget Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for an office side room if you like peace and quiet. The other side is adjacent to an all night Dennys”
 of 5 bubbles Biztrav57, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“rooms on the south side are quiet”
 of 5 bubbles T8305KJricardom, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“give it a wide berth”
 of 5 bubbles D505KEstevew, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the wifi password”
 of 5 bubbles shawnt649, 30 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Rooms that face the pool are very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles D1668NStonyp, 16 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5