Hotel Abrego

Hotel Abrego

Traveller (418)
Room & Suite (363)
Hotel Abrego
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#6 of 58 hotels in Monterey
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Craftsman-style inspired guestrooms in warm, inviting earth tones to reflect Monterey’s relaxed and friendly style. Italian linens, luxurious bathrooms, mini refrigerators, complimentary Wi-Fi and parking, and a wealth of other thoughtful amenities create guest rooms that exceed expectations. Additional features include a walnut desk and ergonomic chair, a plush chaise lounge, and 32-inch flat-screen TV. Most rooms include fireplaces. Bistro Abrego serves an eye-opening breakfast menu and a locally inspired dinner menu, and there is a spacious heated swimming pool and hot tub to relax in.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Kids' meals
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Seating area
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Filipino
Hotel links
Special Rate:More Savings on Longer Stays

Location

755 Abrego Street, Monterey, CA 93940-3101
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 83 out of 100
83
Monterey Peninsula Airport
3,538Reviews26Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,928
  • 1,090
  • 349
  • 112
  • 59
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Jessica P wrote a review Mar 2023
Sacramento, California
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Unplanned trip but was so welcoming. Our camping ground was closed and stayed here due to rain with two young kids. The heated pool was amazing. The staff so friendly. So many nice touches to make you feel welcomed. It is also very close to many good restaurants. I would highly recommend
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Karin Prichard, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Abrego
Responded 31 Mar 2023
Dear Jessica P, Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Abrego. I'm happy to read your family enjoyed their trip despite the rain. We appreciate all your kind comments and hope we can welcome you again soon. Warm regards, Karin
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anonymously33 wrote a review May 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Amidst the “bad” reviews, location was amazing! View from Fireplace King (free upgrade) was fairly good with a decent unexpected view of the ocean. We didn’t want a completely run down place (Cannery Row Inn looks freaking great online but not so much in person - was our runner up and we’re so happy we chose Abrego) Abrego is updated, water stays hot for lingering showers - careful if you have little ones - and A/C is ice cold.

Definitely will return here. Very happy newly loyal customers!

Can’t wait for Corona to be over so we can enjoy getting drunk at the restaurant/ bar they have and then scamper back up to our rooms.

If you didn’t choose Abrego? Psshhh you’re paying way too much for that “ocean view” or you most definitely don’t have Arctic A/C and steamy Mark Sloan Showers
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Karin Prichard, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Abrego
Responded 13 May 2021
Dear Anonymously33, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your great feedback and hope we can welcome you back this summer when we're able to offer out Bistro service again. Warm regards, Karin
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Oaklandish3 wrote a review Mar 2020
San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is well located about a 5-10 minute walk to the center of town. They have lots of free parking. The prices are extremely reasonable. Staff is friendly. The rooms are comfortable. My lower rating is that the rooms are a little tired, carpets could use replacement as could some of the furniture. Colors are dark browns so the rooms are dark therefore. My room faced the parking lot so I had to keep the blinds closed all the time making it also gloomy. A refresh with brighter colors would earn them a much higher rating. But, I will definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
cheaptravelhunter wrote a review Jun 2021
california
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I expected better. Super thin walls. A complimentary can of WD40 in the upper rooms would be a plus. I can’t verify, but I get the distinct feeling this was originally an old Motel 6 that someone decided to sink a ton of money into. Sorry, it doesn’t work.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Karin Prichard, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Abrego
Responded 30 Jun 2021
Dear cheaptravelhunter, Thank you for providing your feedback on your recent stay with us. We value your comments. I am very sorry you didn't enjoy your time with us and were disturbed by noise. We have not had any affiliation with Motel 6 in the past and regret you did not enjoy our recent remodel to the rooms. Kind regards, Karin
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sfcl0ud wrote a review Sept 2021
San Francisco, California
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Conveniently located near Monterey’s “Main Street” and key attractions but away from the hustle and bustle. Free parking made for worry-free use of our car throughout the day but probably resulted in me using the car more than I would’ve otherwise. Ha. Still, was grateful for the flexibility.

Hotel room is comfortable. I like the modular furniture, so I could move the little table to chaise lounge so my son can have a dedicated space. I unfortunately found a sticky spill by the dresser. We mostly managed to wipe it up but would’ve appreciated a cleaner space. The sink and shower have great water pressure and gets VERY HOT. Watch out. I’m not complaining—I like hot showers—just a word of caution because it can be scalding hot.

Oh, there are robes! Bath robes. A nice touch and great to use for a jaunt out to the pool. Depth ranges from 3.5’ to 8’. So it’s good for the whole family. Our room was on third floor across from pool area. It can get quite loud if there are animated people in the hot tub…I think partly because they’re trying to shout over the sounds of the hot tub. Fortunately this only happened once during our stay.

Hotel’s bistro is open for early dinner (5-9pm? Be sure to call hotel to check times as they may change) but with a very limited menu. This is as of late August 2021. The chef is developing the menu so look for more to come. My only recommendation is for staff to be educated and more informed about allergies, especially Gluten allergy which has become more prevalent. It’s not enough that foods are not made with wheat gluten ingredients, they also shouldn’t be fried in oil or cooked in cookware that was used for foods with gluten. I didn’t try the food because I was afraid of the cross contamination. Eat at your own risk and proceed with caution.

Finally, not sure if others experienced this as well but the internet was VERY SPOTTY during our stay. I ended up using up all of my cell phone data because I didn’t realize the WiFi had cut out. Eek. I’m glad I didn’t have to work during this trip. I don’t think I’d recommend this hotel for remote working unless you don’t need constant connectivity or have an alternative way of connecting like a personal hotspot.

Otherwise, I’d recommend this hotel to families and couples and probably for shorter stays since there’s no kitchen etc and only a mini fridge which just barely keeps a carton of milk from spoiling for a couple days.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Save the money on delivery and pick-up takeout from local restaurants. Lots of great options...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Karin Prichard, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Abrego
Responded 9 Sept 2021
Dear sfcl0ud, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us and share it on TripAdvisor. We love your detailed feedback and have shared it across our teams in order to help improve our services. I am very sorry for the cleanliness issue you experienced and appreciate your patience with it and the WIFI. Our kitchen staff will also evaluate your concerns on the gluten free options. I hope you and your family will come back and visit us again soon. Kind regards, Karin
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Raf M wrote a review Jan 2020
Fresno, California
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I had a great experience at this hotel. I was upgraded to a king size bed with fireplace when I arrived instead of queen bed. When I noticed I didn't have a tub in room, I was disappointed ( I had hiked 13 miles that afternoon, and was looking forward to a soak.) When I inquired about getting a room with a tub, and I would gladly pay extra, I was immediately moved without a fuss. The room was clean, the fireplace blows hot ( I was expecting just for looks kinda thing.) and the area was great. Within a 13 minute walk of fisherman wharf, but all along the way you had your choice of restaurants and bars to choose from. Oh yea, the bartender was super cool, although I did wish they actually served beers from a tap. I highly recommend, and would return again in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Teri0579 wrote a review Feb 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I loved this place, even during Covid restrictions. We were still able to have a relaxing time. We had to bring our dinner back to the hotel and I requested a couple of plates. The staff would bring us an entire cutlery, plates and wine glasses up. We had a beautiful fireplace in the room.
We were able to enjoy our takeout on real dishes with the complimentary wine for our Anniversary. They took safety extremely serious and I never worried about it, I felt they really cared for their guests at every level.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Karin Prichard, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Abrego
Responded 14 Feb 2021
Dear Teri0579, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review of Hotel Abrego. I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed your anniversary celebration here. I hope you will visit us again if your travels bring you back to Monterey. Warm regards, Karin
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lhkjames wrote a review May 2021
1.0 of 5 bubbles
After many long discussions and risk assessment, my husband and I finally decided to venture out and take a little getaway in the midst of this pandemic. Looked at many hotels and decided on this hotel based on the 4.6 out of 5 cleanliness rating on Expedia. We were also assured during the check-in process that the normal daily room service would NOT be done UNLESS it is requested by us due to COVID-19. We felt "safe" and trusted the staff would not enter our room unless we requested it. To our surprise, when we returned from our day trip on 5/8 Sat around 7:30PM, we noticed the bed was made and our personal items seemed to have been organized. Someone had entered our room without our request or permission.

We immediately called the front desk described the situation. The clerk confirmed they had cleaned the room. When we told her the request was not made to have the room cleaned, she just repeated that the room was cleaned. We decided to go to the front desk and discuss the situation with the manage on duty in person.

We felt what we received was a “text book” response. The only resolution offered was not charging us for the second night we had booked and decided not to stay due to health and safety risks. We decided to drive all the way back to Orange County that night and didn't get home till 3AM in the morning.

Overall, we thought the situation was handled poorly especially considering the pandemic situation. At the end of the day, we thought our privacy was violated and the trust that was promised regarding health and safety was broken. I really wonder if the proper cleaning protocol to address COVID was followed or even in place. It is very unfortunate, this experience has put us back to not travel for a long time.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Karin Prichard, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Abrego
Responded 16 May 2021
Dear lhkjames, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your visit on TripAdvisor. I am very sorry that your stay with us ended so abruptly and you felt unsafe while you were with us. We have investigated what happened and are retraining our housekeeping staff to avoid this mistake in the future. We endeavor to have clear COVID protocols and protections and I apologize that we did not provide the safe haven you were expecting. Kind regards, Karin
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
NorthernSoutherner wrote a review Mar 2020
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for 2 nights and were really pleased with our choice. The hotel was clean, comfortable and well equipped. Every staff member we encountered was friendly. The room was spacious with a fireplace. We had plenty of storage and plug sockets. A couple of minor observations - bath sheets would be preferable to small bath towels, a mirror on the desk would be useful for makeup etc, a better hairdryer would be so appreciated, and hooks by the door would be useful for coats. Apart from those minor points, the hotel was in a great location and we enjoyed walking to the downtown area and old fisherman’s wharf for restaurants. Compared to other hotels in the area, this hotel was a bargain and free car parking was a bonus. Thanks, Hotel Abrego!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
rwang04 wrote a review Nov 2020
San Francisco, California
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The location is extremely convenient; less than 15 minutes to the aquarium and cannery, as well as centrally located to a number of fun golf courses. The quality of this hotel never disappoints: the quality of the rooms and amenities is superior, the staff is exceptional and the price is reasonable. The room is spacious and comfortable. I have stayed here a number of times over the past ten years; the quality and customer service is consistently superior. This is my go-to place to stay in Monterey!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Karin Prichard, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Abrego
Responded 21 Nov 2020
Dear rwang04, Thank you so much for sharing your great review of Hotel Abrego. I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your most recent stay. Your continued loyalty to the hotel means a great deal to us and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon. Warm regards, Karin
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Greg C
Spring Hill, Florida10 contributions2 helpful votes
Hello! First, it's a very nice property, and very "Monterey"! That said, it would be a very long walk to the aquarium, or anywhere on Cannery Row. Honestly, even Fisherman's Wharf, tho much closer, is still a bit of a walk. While the Wharf is certainly doable, I'd plan on taking an Uber to the Aquarium and Cannery Row. Hope this helps!
jonfan asked a question Sept 2020
California, USA28 contributions5 helpful votes
Is the pool open? I hear some places have pools animal upon reservation.
Answer from Jennifer A
Hello, Our pool is open with a reduced maximum capacity of 10 people or less. We also require that masks are worn unless you are in the water. Unfortunately, our hot tub is closed along with our business center, fitness center, restaurant and bar due to current health related guidelines. Thank you, Karin
Liz G asked a question Aug 2018
St. Albans, United Kingdom14 contributions9 helpful votes
Do all the rooms have own patio/veranda?
Answer from Richard
Exeter, United Kingdom35 contributions65 helpful votes
Neither of the rooms that we stayed in had a patio or balcony
Liz G asked a question Aug 2018
St. Albans, United Kingdom14 contributions9 helpful votes
Do all the rooms have patio/veranda?
Answer from Dan P
Hello Liz, Only some of the rooms have a patio or balcony off the room. Please let us know if you will need any other information, we are here to ensure you have a wonderful stay. Dan
Ricky P wrote a tip May 2024
Edinburgh, United Kingdom194 contributions88 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms not in the main building have no elevators and weird stair layouts that are very dark at night"
Read full review
Julie D wrote a tip Feb 2024
Fresno, California2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Definitely can walk to Old Town Monterey from the Hotel"
Read full review
Kayla C wrote a tip Sept 2023
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"We didn’t have issues but it did seem the parking lot got crowded toward evening. "
Read full review
Tinamaje wrote a tip Jul 2023
Belfast, United Kingdom14 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Request a room on top floor to minimise noise"
Read full review
brad wrote a tip Jun 2023
Conroe, Texas7 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The parking is a little tricky. Watch your driving coming in and out. This is a really cool hotel.We enjoyed it. "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Monterey area.
PRICE RANGE
S$257 - S$482 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
abrego hotel monterey
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaMonterey CountyMonterey
NUMBER OF ROOMS
93
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL ABREGO: UPDATED 2024 Reviews, Price Comparison and 663 Photos (Monterey, CA) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Abrego
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Abrego?
Nearby attractions include San Carlos Cathedral (0.2 km), Cooper-Molera Adobe (0.4 km), and Stevenson House (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Abrego?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Abrego?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Abrego?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Abrego?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Abrego?
Conveniently located restaurants include Paris Bakery Cafe, Estéban Restaurant, and Old Monterey Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Abrego?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Hotel Abrego located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Monterey.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Abrego?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hotel Abrego offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Abrego?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Filipino.
All Monterey HotelsMonterey Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in MontereyHotels near Hotel Abrego
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire