We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1111 10th St, Monterey, CA 93940-3638
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$165
View deal
Expedia.com
US$170
View deal
Free cancellation until 18/02/23
Agoda.com
US$149
View deal
Free cancellation until 14/02/23
Hotels.comUS$170
TravelocityUS$170
AlgotelsUS$181
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (302)
360
Panoramas (9)
Room & Suite (352)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#2 of 57 hotels in Monterey
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
GreenLeaders Silver level
The Stage Coach Lodge in Monterey, CA offers the best value for travelers visiting Monterey, CA and the Central California Coast. Conveniently located in Downtown Monterey, The Stage Coach Lodge is off the beaten path in a quiet residential area but right off of Highway 1 and minutes from all of the great amenities Monterey has to offer including Fisherman's Wharf, Carmel, Monterey Bay Aquarium and more. Fully remodeled with nice luxurious touches and offering great rates, The Stage Coach Lodge is a top ranked place to stay in Monterey.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Vending machine
Diving
Hiking
Children's television networks
Outdoor furniture
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Snorkelling
Fishing
Picnic area
Sun terrace
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Safe
Telephone
Coffee / tea maker
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Residential Neighbourhood
Green
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi
1200Reviews11Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 559
  • 457
  • 132
  • 31
  • 21
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Amanda L wrote a review Jan 2023
1 contribution
I was very impressed with the cleanliness, appointment and comfort of the room. There isn’t much for amenities but that wasn’t my main objective for this stay. Although the pool, while small, was charming and looked well cared for and clean as well. It was also surprisingly very quiet and affordable. I would recommend this place and certainly be back if ever in the area again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Satisfaction Team, Owner at Stage Coach Lodge
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a star rating - it's much appreciated! Our ultimate purpose lies in keeping our beloved guests safe and providing them with a well-maintained and clean place to stay. We are so happy to hear you had a relaxing stay in our quiet hotel. We are committed to providing honest hospitality at an affordable rate to all of our guests. Your recommendation is highly appreciated. Thanks again for choosing to stay with us!    Best Regards, Stage Coach Lodge Management P.S. For amazing offers and the best rates on our accommodations, book directly on our website: montereystagecoachlodge.com.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hal-ThePlanner wrote a review Dec 2022
Austin122 contributions46 helpful votes
Rooms are very clean, wll kept, and appointed. Front desk staff was very nice and professional. I would stay here again if the need arises. Only issue we had was SUPER mnor in the heater did not work as epected, but we really didn't need it.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: If I was to stay again in future visit to the area, I would ask for 2nd floor.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Satisfaction Team, Owner at Stage Coach Lodge
Responded 29 Dec 2022
Dear Guest, Wow! Thank you so much for writing us a PERFECT SCORE REVIEW! We are glad that you had a great stay in our clean guest rooms. Our front desk staff is glad to receive your kind words.  We can't wait to have you back for another pleasant stay with us on your next visit to the Monterey area. Until then, take care!   Best Regards,  Stage Coach Lodge Management P.S. Don't forget to book directly on montereystagecoachlodge.com instead of Online Travel Agents and get the best deals and discounts.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Krishnan N wrote a review Nov 2022
2 contributions
A nice property. Rooms are big, clean and well kept. Nice owner. Free parking is a bonus and being able to do laundry on the premises is a plus. I would characterise it is a “well preserved chateau from the 90s”! Highly recommended. I would most definitely stay here again when I visit Monterey or Pacific Grove or Carmel by the Sea or Pebble Beach.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Satisfaction Team, Owner at Stage Coach Lodge
Responded 29 Nov 2022
Dear Krishnan, Thank you so much for your review. We really appreciate you being a loyal guest. We are happy to learn that you had an excellent time staying with us in Monterey and you found our accommodations clean, comfortable, and spacious. We are happy to know you enjoyed our amenities. Nothing makes us happier than hearing that you will return on your next visit to Monterey! Thank you once more for your excellent feedback. Kind Regards, Stage Coach Lodge Management P.S. For amazing offers and the best rates on our accommodations, book directly on our website: montereystagecoachlodge.com.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jeff D wrote a review Nov 2022
1 contribution
Great room, amenities exceeded expectations. First time stay and will be back. Quiet area and very responsive front desk agent. Very clean room, Pete's coffee. Our room was at the end of the hall on the second floor, so we didn't experience any noisy neighbors.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Satisfaction Team, Owner at Stage Coach Lodge
Responded 17 Nov 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your lovely review! We sincerely appreciate your feedback. We are so glad to hear that you loved our hotel rooms. It is awesome to learn that you enjoyed Stage Coach Lodge's quiet ambiance. I'm glad you enjoyed our spotless and comfortable guest rooms.  We can't wait to have you back for another pleasant stay with us on your next visit to Monterey. Best Regards, Stage Coach Lodge Management  P.S. For amazing offers and the best rates on our accommodations, book directly on our website: montereystagecoachlodge.com.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Galina M wrote a review Nov 2022
San Francisco, California63 contributions17 helpful votes
+1
We have stayed in this hotel at the end of October for couple days and did not regret that we booked there. Quiet and seemed safe area, not far(by car) from major restaurants and attractions and most importantly the room was perfectly clean. We were on second floor which I think a bit better than street level( but it’s my only opinion), spacious enough, all you need in room like fridge, safe, coffee machine, iron etc. Bathroom was sparklingly clean and have nice shampoo/conditioner/lotion. Front desk staff was nice too. Breakfast is not included in this hotel, but I think who cares, it’s hard to manage these days. It was reasonably priced so we thought the hotel is deserved those good reviews.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: I think we were at not busiest time, so everything went smoothly
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Satisfaction Team, Owner at Stage Coach Lodge
Responded 14 Nov 2022
Dear Melenga, We are so grateful for your All-Star review. It's great to hear that you found our place quiet and peaceful during your stay. We are glad that you had a great stay in our clean guest rooms. We are glad to know we met your expectations during your stay.  Thank you again for your PERFECT score review; we hope you have an opportunity to make a return visit and stay with us again very soon! Best Regards, Stage Coach Lodge Management P.S. Always remember to book your stay directly at montereystagecoachlodge.com, where you will find the lowest rates anywhere online.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
aceadviser wrote a review Oct 2022
Abergele, United Kingdom60 contributions26 helpful votes
Great room. Very clean with good facilities Pool,laundry,outdoor seating Ron the manager Shanyna the receptionist and all the staff are very friendly and obliging would definitely recommend quiet location about 1.5 miles to fisherman’s wharf
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Satisfaction Team, Owner at Stage Coach Lodge
Responded 28 Oct 2022
Dear Aceadviser, Thank you so much for your All-star review! We will share this with our team to let them know to keep up the amazing work. We are so glad to hear that you loved our hotel. We are so happy to hear you had a relaxing stay in our quiet hotel. We are happy you enjoyed our convenient location. We can't wait to have you back for another pleasant stay with us on your next visit to Monterey. Best Regards, Stage Coach Lodge Management PS: Book your stay directly on our official website montereystagecoachlodge.com instead of online travel agents and get excellent deals and discounts!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Wandere880301 wrote a review Oct 2022
Buffalo, New York3 contributions
We had a perfect stay at the Stage Coach Lodge. We were only in town for one night, but we found the room spacious, comfortable, clean and well-appointed. Our room was at the end of the hall on the second floor, so we didn't experience any noisy neighbors. The rates and location were great. If I'm ever back in Monterey, I would definitely stay here again!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Satisfaction Team, Owner at Stage Coach Lodge
Responded 7 Oct 2022
Dear Guest, We are so glad to see that you enjoyed your Monterey getaway.  Thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback and for highlighting our spacious rooms with comfortable beds. We are glad that you enjoyed our convenient location and modern amenities.  Thanks again for staying with us, and kindly do recommend us to anyone visiting Monterey.   Best Regards, Stage Coach Lodge Management   P.S. Always remember to book directly from our hotel website for discounted rates montereystagecoachlodge.com.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
matthew117 wrote a review Sep 2022
Cheltenham, United Kingdom14 contributions8 helpful votes
This is a good value motel, which was clean, comfortable and had a free car park. When we first checked in we found the corner room a little dark and asked to change to a brighter room. The reception staff were happy to oblige and made us feel welcome. It is a bit of a trek on foot into Monterey, so you are probably better off driving.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: If a swimming pool is important to you, this hotel is probably best avoided. The photos make the...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Owner at Stage Coach Lodge
Responded 3 Oct 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for the positive review of your stay at Stage Coach Lodge.  I am so glad that you had a comfortable stay in our clean rooms. Our front desk staff is glad to receive your kind words.  Thanks again for staying with us, and kindly do recommend us to anyone visiting Monterey. Kind Regards, Stage Coach Lodge Management P.S. Next time book directly at montereystagecoachlodge.com and save!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Adele R wrote a review Sep 2022
Stroud, United Kingdom1 contribution
Arrived after 2 hour drive only to find no toilet facilities until we were allowed to check in, told by receptionist that would have to go to a restaurant and use theres! . Be prepared for a long walk to the centre , we walk fast and it’s a good 20 mins. Room was very clean but there is NO soundproofing from floors above, could hear everything from screaming children and television. We had 2 nights there and needed some more creamer for the Coffee machine, was told oh we have run out, receptionist seemed more interested in watching the television than being helpful 😟. Would not stay again .
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Owner at Stage Coach Lodge
Responded 27 Sep 2022
Dear Guest, We are disappointed to learn that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. I wish you had shared your noise concerns with our staff; they would have attempted to resolve the problem so that you could have a quiet and comfortable stay. We are very sorry for your experience with our staff. Please know our staff is highly trained and it is unlike them to act in such a manner.  We assure you that we will improve our service the next time you stay with us.    Warm Regards, Stage Coach Lodge Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lori T wrote a review Sep 2022
Oakland, California22 contributions9 helpful votes
The Stage Coach Lodge is a gem in Monterey. It's off the beaten path in a quiet residential neighborhood and the rooms are spotless. What I appreciated most was how flexible and compassionate the management is. Ron helped me deal with a booking issue, which was easier to do because I booked direct. So do book direct if you can: you get a better rate than the consolidators, it's better for the owners, and you have much more flexibility in case anything goes awry. Thanks Ron!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Owner at Stage Coach Lodge
Responded 8 Sep 2022
Dear Loritake, Thank you so much for leaving a Perfect Score Review for your stay at Stage Coach Lodge.  It's great to hear that you found our place quiet and peaceful during your stay. I'm glad you enjoyed our spotless and comfortable guest rooms. Thank you so much for appreciating our hardworking staff.  We can't wait to have you back for another pleasant stay with us on your next visit to Monterey.   Best Regards, Stage Coach Lodge Management   P.S. Always remember to book your stay directly at montereystagecoachlodge.com where you will find the lowest rates anywhere online.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$97 - US$196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
americas best value stage coach hotel monterey, americas best value inns monterey
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Americas Best Value Stage Coach Lodge
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaMonterey CountyMonterey
NUMBER OF ROOMS
25
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

STAGE COACH LODGE: UPDATED 2023 Motel Reviews, Price Comparison and 716 Photos (Monterey, CA) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Stage Coach Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Stage Coach Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Dennis the Menace Park (0.8 km), San Carlos Cathedral (0.9 km), and Del Monte Beach (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Stage Coach Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Stage Coach Lodge?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Stage Coach Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Stage Coach Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Estéban Restaurant, The Wild Plum Cafe, and Ambrosia India Bistro.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Stage Coach Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Stage Coach Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Hindi.
Are there any historical sites close to Stage Coach Lodge?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Tor House (7.3 km), San Carlos Borromeo de Carmelo Mission (6.6 km), and Cannery Row (3.0 km).
Is Stage Coach Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.