We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
Panoramas (11)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

947 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Days Inn Monterey Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 814: English reviews
Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2016

Newly remodeled and refurnished large room with water view. Only problem is that they were working on another room next door each day and it was loud. Staff was very accommodating when I became ill and had to stay an extra night.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank R Douglas R
MontereyDaysInn, Manager at Days Inn Monterey Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your review about your stay at the Monterey Days Inn. We were happy judging from your 4 star ratings that you enjoyed your stay with us in our newly remodelled room with ocean view and the service provided by our staffs. In regard to the noise from the next room during your... More 

Tappan, New York
1 review
Reviewed 31 December 2015

Stayed for only one nite, no problem. The price is very good considering the location. The place looks old, but not bad.

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank josephinet286
MontereyDaysInn, Manager at Days Inn Monterey Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip advisor. We appreciate the positive comments as well as your suggestions. Our staffs continuously strive to create an atmosphere of comfort and relaxation for all of our guests. I was happy to hear that you found great value in your stay and we hope you return... More 

Tulare, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2015

The room was very clean, and the bed was very comfortable. It had a nice fireplace and a huge jacuzzi in the room. It was very close to restaurants. The only thing I didn't like was the small bathroom. There was no room to put your toiletries on. Also, the jacuzzi was a little dangerous to climb into, and kind... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sandy M
MontereyDaysInn, Manager at Days Inn Monterey Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip advisor. We appreciate the positive comments as well as your suggestions. Our staffs continuously strive to create an atmosphere of comfort and relaxation for all of our guests. I was happy to hear that you found great value in your stay and we hope you return... More 

Detroit, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 28 December 2015

Great value for the location. Parking is somewhat limited but lot across the street is close. Breakfast was OK. Room was very clean and had been updated recently.

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank 791larryh
MontereyDaysInn, Manager at Days Inn Monterey Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We as a staff are always happy to hear that a guest had a nice experience during their stay. I will pass along your compliments of our ultra clean rooms to our housekeeping staff as they take great pride in providing the guests with a home away from home. We look forward to your return to DaysInn monterey More 

Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2015

A well-situated motel, very clean, totally normal, with spacious parking and good breakfast as compared to other motels. For unknown reasons our online booking was cancelled by booking.com, but the staff decided to keep our room until late in the evening when we arrived. It made a great first impression that lasted.

Helpful?
Thank SEszter1969
MontereyDaysInn, Manager at Days Inn Monterey Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It is always nice to hear that a guest found there stay comfortable and that they were well taken care of by our friendly staff. We were happy to hear that you appreciated our central location, very clean room with free parking and good breakfast. thanks for your 5 star rating.We appreciate your review and hope you return... More 

Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 December 2015

My husband and I booked this hotel because our son worked for Wyndham Resorts. We were given a voucher from Wyndham that would take 40% off of the bill at the time of payment. We presented the voucher at the time of check in and the clerk obviously did not know what to with it but kept in none the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Teresa L
MontereyDaysInn, Manager at Days Inn Monterey Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to comment about your stay at the Monterey Days Inn and glad to know you found the hotel decent,well located and clean and you were satisfied with the breakfast we offer. We apolozise in regards to the 40% discount which you have mentioned which wasnt given at the check out as the... More 

San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 23 December 2015

this is a nice hotel, with a good location, rooms are clean and big. breakfast is disappointing though.

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank alices499
MontereyDaysInn, Manager at Days Inn Monterey Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience during your stay at the Monterey Days Inn. We appreciate your many positive comments about our location, clean , big rooms and nice hotel.We were sorry to hear that our breakfast did not meet your satisfaction. It is the reasonable continental breakfast, similar to what you would find at most chain hotels.... More 

Fresno, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 December 2015

The hotel and the staff were all fine except the guy who should have checked me into my room. He was the most rude unhelpful person I have ever dealt with at A Hotel. Too bad one person can ruin a trip.

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Timothy J
MontereyDaysInn, Manager at Days Inn Monterey Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip advisor. We appreciate the positive comments as well as your suggestions. Our staffs continuously strive to create an atmosphere of comfort and relaxation for all of our guests unfortunately you showed your disappointment at the time of check-in and tagged the clerk rude because he did... More 

342 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (124)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (39)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (210)
Viewed
Amenities (5)
Viewed
Double Queen Room (16)
Viewed
Double Queen Room (Ocean View) (29)
Viewed
Double Queen Suite with Jacuzzi (25)
Viewed
King Room (18)
Viewed
King Room (Ocean View) (25)
Viewed
King Suite (32)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Standard King Room (21)
Viewed
The Hotel (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.9 km away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
2.6 km away
Ramada Limited Monterey
Ramada Limited Monterey
#23 of 55 in Monterey
671 reviews
0.2 km away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Days Inn Monterey-Fisherman's Wharf Aquarium
0.1 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn
3.1 km away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#4 of 55 in Monterey
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Launch your California getaway from Days Inn Monterey hotel, where value and friendly service come included. You are going to love being just four blocks from historic downtown Monterey, five blocks from Fisherman’s Wharf and only one mile from celebrated Cannery Row when you stay at our Monterey, CA, hotel. Our Monterey, CA, hotel near Monterey Bay Aquarium offers air-conditioned rooms equipped with modern conveniences like a refrigerator and free Wi-Fi Internet access. Start each day with free and delicious Daybreak breakfast then take a dip in our outdoor hot tub. We offer a variety of rooms to suit your needs, including king rooms with an ocean view or fireplace, non-smoking rooms and Jacuzzi suites. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Address: 850 Abrego St, Monterey, CA 93940-3104
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Price Range: $97 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Monterey Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Days Inn Monterey Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Monterey Downtown Hotel Monterey
Monterey Days Inn
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Monterey
#12 Business Hotel in Monterey
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Days Inn Monterey Downtown staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Sacramento, California
Sacramento, California
over a year ago
Sacramento, California
Sacramento, California

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Days Inn Monterey Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Trash pickup at the back of the motel is early and can be a little noisy. Upstairs rooms near the front might be quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles highermath, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Location, clean, good price.”
 of 5 bubbles lbeckman2014, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I think the building adjacent to the check-in area is more modern and might have the better rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles fcan, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“convenient walking distance. unhelpful staff”
 of 5 bubbles EJB125, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Sea Views are just Sea Glimpses so not worth paying extra for”
 of 5 bubbles maryannew502, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay