We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
936 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-4512
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$144
View deal
Free cancellation until 16/02/23
Expedia.com
US$144
View deal
Free cancellation until 16/02/23
Agoda.com
US$126
View deal
Hotels.comUS$144
TravelocityUS$144
Vio.comUS$144
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (94)
Room & Suite (38)
Pool & Beach (1)

About

#38 of 57 hotels in Monterey
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Inn By The Bay is in walking distance to downtown Monterey bay where there are restaurants, shops, bars, and the Warf. All rooms have a mini kitchenette which includes a microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, hair dryer and iron. All guests have access to complimentary Wifi.Rooms with a view of the bay are available up early request. Pet friendly rooms are also available.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Street parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Telephone
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English
358Reviews2Q+A43Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 81
  • 164
  • 75
  • 19
  • 19
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
bubster0505 wrote a review Nov 2022
San Francisco, California2 contributions1 helpful vote
We needed a hotel room for just one night, to run the Monterey Bay half marathon. Finding a hotel that was close to the start, allowed dogs, and had no two-night minimum was not easy and we had very few options, and this was the best of those options. We got to town a little before 3 pm and tried to check in early, and we were told it would be $15 to check in early. We declined and decided to walk to the race expo since we had time. When it was finally time to check in, the gentleman at the front desk had a really hard time finding our reservation, which may not have been his fault - he said it was his first day on the job. There was a sign at the front desk saying checkout was 11 am, but you could have a late checkout for $15. We said we’d like the late checkout, and he clearly was not familiar with the policy so we showed him the sign. He said late checkout was not an option and mumbled something about housekeeping. Again, I’m not really faulting him for any of this frustration - but for a busy weekend like race weekend, the hotel should have known better than to have a brand new person working the front desk by themselves. And why offer late checkout if you can’t actually have it? So we finally get to our room, and the keycard didn’t open the door. Ok, no big deal. Back to the front desk to get a new card that does work. We open the door and a strong perfume smell nearly knocks me over. I don’t know if it was from cleaning products or what but it is intense. It is not a bad smell, just a strong one. I am super sensitive to smells but I know there are no other rooms available, and the smell is likely to be the same in all of them anyway. So we open the two windows to try to air out the room even though it’s in the low 50s outside. The room itself is ok, it’s small but clean, and the bathroom is fine. The furniture is all IKEA but I don’t have a problem with it, my only complaint is that the bottom of the bed is metal and I keep kicking it on accident. And there are only three small pillows on the bed so I imagine my husband and I will be trying to share one of them. The bed is clean and comfortable enough though. There are two levels of rooms. We are in a room on the bottom floor, since we have our dog with us, and i think bottom floor rooms are the only pet friendly ones. It is loud. Both from street traffic and our neighbors. Whoever is directly above us has been rearranging their furniture or something, at least that’s what it sounds like. I haven’t taken a shower yet but my husband said it was decent, but the bath towels are tiny. Maybe we are spoiled at home with our big towels. There’s a small fridge, microwave, and hot water/coffee thing. So that’s nice, at least. I probably would not choose to stay here again, just because I am on the verge of a migraine from the smell, and it may be too loud to get much sleep, but you can walk downtown from here, you can stay here with your dog, and they don’t have a 2-night minimum on race weekend. And they have free parking. I’m pretty picky about hotels and would give this one 2-3 stars out of 5. For more than $300/night (on race weekend, it’s much less expensive other times of the year), I honestly expected better.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Chris L wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
I can only assume that these somewhat better reviews are for different rooms than we had! DON’T play Russian Roulette with your stay because their bad rooms are the worst we’ve ever had to deal with. We left in the middle of the night because we couldn’t stand it and they would not refund our money because we didn’t tell them we were leaving first….. It was 2AM! No one was in the office! We called first thing! They hung up on the Hotels.com operator as well. Reprehensible customer service. If you are going to stay there, make sure your tetanus shot is up to date.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Elizabeth Herbert wrote a review May 2022
11 contributions12 helpful votes
We were celebrating a birthday. Our room had no carpet or rug, we stepped out of bed on to a cold grey tiled floor. The walls were grey. The headboard was black strips across the wall. There were no bedside lamps, just overhead can spotlights. No chest of drawers. No table and chairs. Peeling paint on the door outside. It felt like a prison. We left as soon as we could. Worst travel experience ever.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: I advise you not to choose a room. Some only have small windows overlooking the parking lot
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
M_S8484 wrote a review May 2022
Ulm, Germany31 contributions41 helpful votes
This Inn is is a hidden gem ! The location is great -you can walk to the Wharfs . It is very clean and the rooms are so so nice . Very modern and there is everything you need (hairdryer, coffeemaker , fridge…). We only stayed for one night but definitely would come back and stay longer .
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
TinaHH123 wrote a review Mar 2022
London, United Kingdom489 contributions302 helpful votes
this was just an overnight stay and the room was large and clean, bed comfy and bathroom spotless. However the cleaner hadn't checked the fridge and there was food in there that smelt like it had been there for some time. Like most hotels in the US there is very little sound proofing the neighbours were really super loud and had the TV blaring away. The location is good, short walk to everything and the free parking is a real bonus. There didn't appear to be aircon so imagine in the summer it would be hot and it was cold in the room in Feb
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Michael L wrote a review Nov 2021
2 contributions
The Inn was newly renovated with new furniture, flooring & a total re-done bathroom. Modern & comfortable. However, there was no room cleaning during our 4 day 3 night stay. The reason given was due to covid, the cleaning staff was at a minimum and it was difficult to find & hire new staff, so cleaning was only done after checkout. Considering the price of the rooms at the Inn, this seems cheap and not worth the price.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Paul B wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
My girlfriend and I booked a last minute Fourth of July weekend trip at Inn by the Bay with our dog and we had an awesome experience. The family that manages the Front desk was very friendly and accommodating. And we were very impressed by the room, it was clean and had everything we needed. This is a dog-friendly place and there is even a park right across the street for your dog to do it’s business. The Inn was a short walk from downtown Monterey and the Wharf with many restaurants, stores, and a gas station close by. I would definitely recommend
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Jen W wrote a review May 2021
Long Beach, California13 contributions13 helpful votes
I wanted to like this place....I really did. The staff was very nice and the bed was comfortable, but that's the only good thing I have to say about it. The room is very small. It felt very pieced together. It wants to be updated and maybe its on its way, but it just felt sad. The bathroom was small and dirty. There was hair in the shower (YUCK) when we arrived. The walls are SUPER THIN! At 4am in the morning, the room above us was having some sort of furniture moving party for over an hour and a half. It made our walls and windows shake. We barely slept. This wasn't worth the money we saved from staying at a nicer place. I have learned my lesson.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Gary wrote a review Feb 2020
Pawleys Island, South Carolina3 contributions2 helpful votes
Nice stay at the Inn By The Bay in Monterey. Great location as the inn is close to everything you need. Several restaurants and stores are close, and the attractions are within a short driving range. The owners are very friendly and accommodating. Great value hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Chris G wrote a review Oct 2019
Toronto, Canada208 contributions95 helpful votes
I'm not sure why this place gets so much love by Lonely Planet - my experience was completely average. Decent price, good location, but otherwise, its an average motel room. I would have no concerns booking this place again, but I also wouldn't single it out.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from GM_Front_Desk, General Manager at Inn By The Bay Monterey
Responded 31 Oct 2019
Dear Chris, We're glad to know you had a good experience during your recent visit, courtesy of our well-kept room, reasonable rates, and ideal location. Hopefully, you will have a more enjoyable stay in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$76 - US$242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
el adobe hotel monterey, el adobe motel
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
El Adobe Inn
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaMonterey CountyMonterey
NUMBER OF ROOMS
26
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

INN BY THE BAY MONTEREY: UPDATED 2022 Motel Reviews, Price Comparison and 107 Photos (CA) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Inn By The Bay Monterey
Which popular attractions are close to Inn By The Bay Monterey?
Nearby attractions include Colton Hall Museum (0.4 km), Cha-ya (0.4 km), and First Church of Christ Scientist (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Inn By The Bay Monterey?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and laundry service.
Which room amenities are available at Inn By The Bay Monterey?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Inn By The Bay Monterey?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Inn By The Bay Monterey?
Conveniently located restaurants include Estéban Restaurant, The Wild Plum Cafe, and Parker-Lusseau Pastries.
Is Inn By The Bay Monterey located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Monterey.
Are pets allowed at Inn By The Bay Monterey?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Inn By The Bay Monterey?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Tor House (6.5 km), San Carlos Borromeo de Carmelo Mission (5.9 km), and Cannery Row (2.6 km).