We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

El Castell Motel

Expedia.comUS$74*
View Deal
#23 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersSilver level
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$85*
US$74*
Great Deal
US$79*
US$79*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
El Castell Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

772 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 599: English reviews
Start your review of El Castell Motel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Me and my wife took a vacation to California to drive up the coast and see the wonderful places on the way. On our way through Monterey we needed a place to spend the night. This Motel hit the spot. It has an indoor pool, that we sadly did not get to enjoy. Our room was just renovated, and its...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Notch08
Cambria, California
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Guest service at check-in was...meh....not rude, but not very welcoming, either. Our room was small but clean. This is an older motel, so the rooms are less spacious than most modern hotel rooms we've stayed in; we had a nice meal from Caruso's Corner which we ate from our laps because there was no table in the room. We did...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1_Sweet_Daddy_P
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at El Castell Motel, responded to this review

We are very sorry that you were not welcomed with the level of hospitality that we aim to provide to all of our guests, but we are pleased to note that this did not impact on your stay too much, and that you enjoyed your room so much. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again on...

Longmont, Colorado
Reviewed 1 week ago

Clean well maintained, could use some work in the bathroom. Put new quartz slabs in shower but fail to sand or paint the mastic used to install. Breakfast was good, if average. Beds were good, bedding very good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank danm77057
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at El Castell Motel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your constructive feedback Dan, we appreciate it, and we will see if we can take some of the actions that you have suggested. We are pleased that you had a good stay with us, and hope that you will choose to stay with us again when visiting this area. Best wishes, Hotel Management

Plano, TX
Reviewed 1 week ago

Clean, quiet room with minimalist decor but very comfortable mattresses. Convenient location at the end of Fremont for getting on to Hwy. 101. Decent continental breakfast. Staff seemed somewhat pre-occupied with other business and wasn't immediately responsive to questions, etc. Pool was tepid with a lot of chlorine. Limited parking close to rooms in the evening. Overall a nice place

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Snidely6
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at El Castell Motel, responded to this review

We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you benefited so much from our great location. Thanks very much for your review, in particular your comments about how comfortable and clean your room was, and how friendly our staff are. We really hope that you'll visit this Monterey again, and that you will allow us to be...

Fairfield
Reviewed 1 week ago

Room was neat and clean. Good water pressure in shower. Quality shampooo, conditioner, soap, etc in room. Microwave and fridge in room worked well. Breakfast was good for a free hotel breakfast, with hard boiled eggs, Eggo waffles, toast, fruit, cereal, muffins, and danishes available as well as coffee and juice. Pool was nice. Room was overall quiet but could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank drkid73
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at El Castell Motel, responded to this review

We are very pleased to have provided you with suitable accommodation for your needs in such a convenient location, and we are happy that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. Thank you for providing so much detail in your review for future guests! We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the very near future! Best wishes,...

Chelmsford
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was an excellent motel considering the price. The room had just been modernised with plenty of power sockets. The room was very comfortable as were the beds and was clean and well prepared. The staff who looked after the rooms were very helpful with the washing machine which we used and was a good price. The breakfast was very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank robertwise2017
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at El Castell Motel, responded to this review

Hi Robert, Thank you for your detailed review of your stay with us. We are very pleased that you felt that we provided you with great accommodation for the very reasonable rate that we charge, and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay. We apologize sincerely for any perceived rudeness from any of our staff. The feedback that we...

Madera, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Loved staying here rooms where comfortable the room was clean and the bed was amazing. Would definitely recommend this place to friends and family. Would love to stay here next time. Service was very good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank geraldineJ1988
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at El Castell Motel, responded to this review

Hi Geraldine, Thank you so much for your wonderful review. Your kind words mean so much to us and we are so happy to hear we were able to accommodate all of your needs during your stay. Thank you so much for your glowing recommendation, we hope to see you again in the future! Best wishes, Hotel Management

Cannock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A great little motel in amongst lots of others. Our room was a new one added to the usual ones. It was huge you could see where they had taken out a full kitchen. The beds I think were new. Really comfy . We had loads of room for the three adults staying there. Bathroom was really good, nice styling...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lezpaz
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at El Castell Motel, responded to this review

We are very happy to hear that you had such a comfortable stay with us, and we want to thank you for your review. It's great that you found your room to be appropriately spacious for three adults. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again next time you're in the area. Best wishes, Hotel Management

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I booked the junior suite via agency. In the process of reservation the agent told me and later confirmed that I'll get 1 bedroom and living room hotel room. In the real-life, I've got a small size room. We didn't have any other choice and we decided to leave. The guys on reception were very customer oriented and moved us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alexey Y
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at El Castell Motel, responded to this review

Hi Alexey, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. Whilst we are sorry that there was an issue with your agency reservation, we are very sorry that our staff gave you the care and attention that we are known for, and we are pleased that you were happy with the outcome. If you are in this area...

Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

It's a hotel for a overnight only. But all worked well: bathroom, beds , service. If you are budget traveler, and you want only one place to sleep, definitely here is the solution. Worth the price. Just be aware that the hotel is 3km away from downtown.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RenatoCarneiro
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at El Castell Motel, responded to this review

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we want to thank you for your kind review. We are delighted that we managed to exceed your expectations, and that you found our hotel to be reasonably priced and comfortable. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again next time you're in the area. Best...

128 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (105)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
3.5 km away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.2 km away
Ramada Monterey
Ramada Monterey
#25 of 55 in Monterey
145 reviews
0.4 km away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 55 in Monterey
989 reviews
2.8 km away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
0.7 km away
Pacific Inn Monterey
Pacific Inn Monterey
#28 of 55 in Monterey
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our hotel is conveniently located minutes from all the major attractions of Monterey such as the Aquarium, Fisherman's Wharf, 17 mile drive, Cannery Row and Carmel. We have several room types that range from 1 Queen/King bed to 1 bedroom suites with 3 beds. ... more   less 

Additional Information about El Castell Motel

Address: 2102 Fremont St, Monterey, CA 93940-5294
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Price Range: $106 - $1,015 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — El Castell Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your El Castell Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Castell Hotel Monterey
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Monterey
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from El Castell Motel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
San Francisco, California
1 month ago
New York City, New York
14 days ago
dekalb
3 months ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from El Castell Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try to get one of the updated rooms”
robertwise2017, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Bathroom door needs hinges repaired or replaced.”
michaelcW5347NF, 1 May 2017 | Read review
“The rooms in the back building were larger. Avoid the side of the property near the dance club (to the east I believe)”
Lovetobehomeagain, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The amenities in the bathroom :)”
maruberru2906, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If staying on a weekend request a room away from the nightclub”
rosoygirl1, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$74* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$79
PricelineUS$79
CancelonUS$85
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates