We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1386 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-6139
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$139
View deal
US$125
View deal
Hotels.com
Expedia.comUS$125
TravelocityUS$125
PricelineUS$139
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (295)
Room & Suite (123)
Pool & Beach (19)

About

#29 of 57 hotels in Monterey
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Welcome to Mariposa Inn and Suites, your Monterey “home away from home.” Mariposa Inn and Suites aims to make your visit as relaxing and enjoyable as possible, which is why so many guests continue to come back year after year. Nearby landmarks such as Larkin House (1.0 mi), Stevenson House (1.1 mi), Carmel (1.2 mi), Fisherman's Wharf (1.5 mi), and Cannery Row/Monterey Bay Aquarium (2.4 mi) make Mariposa Hotel a great place to stay when visiting Monterey. Rooms at Mariposa Hotel offer a flat screen TV and air conditioning providing exceptional comfort and convenience, and guests can go online with free wifi. If you are driving to Mariposa Inn and Suites, free parking is available. If you’re looking for a wine bar, consider a visit to The Wine Experience, Sovino Wine Bar & Merchant, or A Taste Of Monterey-Wine Market & Bistro, which are all conveniently located a short distance from Mariposa Inn and Suites. If you’re looking for things to do, you can check out Dennis the Menace Park (1.2 mi), San Carlos Cathedral (1.0 mi), or Colton Hall Museum (1.0 mi), which are popular attractions amongst tourists, and they are all within walking distance. Mariposa Inn and Suites puts the best of Monterey at your fingertips, making your stay both relaxing and enjoyable.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Kids stay free
Children's television networks
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Newspaper
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Vending machine
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Fireplace
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Radio
iPod docking station
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Green
Languages Spoken
English
892Reviews11Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 324
  • 331
  • 141
  • 48
  • 48
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
RathboneFamily wrote a review Nov 2022
Halifax47 contributions11 helpful votes
+1
A budget friendly option for Monterey or Carmel. We stayed 2 nights while on route down the pacific coast. Easy to access from the Pacific Highway and centrally located between the two destinations. The main gate for 17 mile drive starts just round the corner. The Del Monte shopping centre is across the street which offers a variety of dining / shopping opportunities. The buffet breakfast was limited but plentiful. Toast, bagels, cereals, muffins etc. a good start to the day. We had a minor issue with a room and the hotel were great, moving us to another room straight away. The wheeled chair in the room was very warn and tatty but otherwise, no complaints.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
lawgal1127 wrote a review Oct 2022
California3 contributions1 helpful vote
This place calls itself a luxury boutique hotel - it is not that. It was far enough off from its advertising that I felt I should write a review letting people know that the information about the place is misleading. The place has a motel-ish vibe. It's worn in many places - the chair in our room was worn through, dirty on the cushion, and had holes in the upholstery. The floor in the elevator was pitted and discolored. The doors to the rooms needed fresh paint. The curtains in the rooms were worn. Staff was polite but unfriendly and unwelcoming (we dealt with two different people and neither were at all friendly). One glared at us when we requested a printed copy of the receipt, telling us several times that she had emailed it to us instead. There were no USB or USB-C outlets near the bed, as most hotels have these days - just regular sockets. There is apparently no soundproofing, so the family staying in the next room, who really weren't being very noisy, bothered us a fair amount just by talking and closing doors late at night. The only climate control was an old air conditioner unit in the lower wall that did not work very well. The shim curtains that usually allow you to let in daylight in a hotel room while not being visible from outside were instead some almost completely transparent very thin and worn curtains so we could have been easily seen by the cars driving by outside. Some positive things - the beds were comfortable with nice linens. The towels were good quality for hotel towels and were not worn. There was a private sitting area with chairs and a table just outside our room. There is a pool and hottub (we did not check those out). They serve a breakfast but we had no time to check that out - sounded like a pretty good selection. Lighting was good next to the beds. If you want what is basically a motel near downtown Monterey, you could do worse than this place, but we had been led to expect something completely different.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperience Team, Agency / Consultant at Mariposa Inn and Suites
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest, I earnestly apologize from the bottom of my heart for the inconvenience you faced at our hotel. We realize that our property and facilities did not meet your expectations. We apologize for the worn-out furniture, floors, doors, and curtains. Thank you for bringing this matter to light, as this helps us understand that we need to drastically update our room conditions and amenities. It is surprising for us to hear about the unfriendly and inconsiderate behavior exhibited by our staff members, and we shall do what's necessary to ensure that such a situation does not occur again. Your comments indicate that the absence of USB sockets, noises from the neighboring room, poor air conditioning system, and outdated curtains further hindered your visit. Please allow us some time to communicate these shortcomings with our administration and discuss about the possible upgrades needed to resolve the issues faced by our beloved guests. While we are glad that a few aspects of your visit impressed you, the remaining issues and the distress caused will indeed be investigated. We sincerely regret not being able to provide you with a good time, but we can assure you that this is not typical of our hotel's quality of service. Ultimately, we wish to have you back at the hotel as our guest so that we can make up for what you missed out on and make it worth your time and money. Kind regards, Customer Care Team Mariposa Inn and Suites
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sarah G wrote a review Oct 2022
1 helpful vote
Found a bedbug while sleeping. Brought it to the front desk, the girl said she would let maintenance know. Called for a supervisor when I got home and was told no one was there. Hours later and still waiting for a call back.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperience Team, Agency / Consultant at Mariposa Inn and Suites
Responded 9 Oct 2022
Dear Sarah, we are sorry that you had a substandard experience at our hotel. We must let you know that such a complaint is very rare at our hotel, and it pains us that you did not have a good time staying with us. We have alerted our pest control services team to immediately take care of the bedbug matter with due seriousness so that no other guests have to pass through such an unfortunate ordeal. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, although it has been at the price of a good night's sleep. We regret that your visit to our hotel was not fruitful as we wished it would be, with our front desk staff's behavior being unhelpful at the time of your complaint. We apologize for the disturbance from the bottom of our hearts, hoping you would kindly accept it. We assure you that we will tick all boxes to do right by you because we hope to have you join us back for your next holiday to Monterey to compensate for our shortcomings and deliver a decent guest experience. Kind regards, Customer Care Team Mariposa Inn and Suites
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jennifer D wrote a review Aug 2022
Darien, Connecticut, United States36 contributions32 helpful votes
This is a renovated motel on a busy street next to budget motels. But they did a great job with their renovations - the decorations are stylish and the furnishings are high-quality. The 2-level family suite that we stayed in was very spacious and felt like an apartment (without a kitchen). There was a king bed, a Murphy bed and 2 bathrooms! And despite the fact that there were not enough beds for the 5 of us (the sofa is not a sofa bed so one child had to sleep on the floor with blankets), the kids loved it. The pool area was also lovely and there was a seating area with a fire pit as well. The only real disappointment (except the bed situation) was the low-quality breakfast which was NOT as pictured. But it's still nice to get breakfast (esp when included in the price!). I would probably stay here again. And the location is still much better than staying in Pacific Grove etc. - if you are visiting Monterey. Just my opinion, of course.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperience Team, Agency / Consultant at Mariposa Inn and Suites
Responded 28 Aug 2022
Dear guest, we are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Our primary aim is to provide our guests with the best possible experience and we feel glad to be able to provide you with one. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in the area. Thank you so much for your review! Kind regards, Customer Care Team Mariposa Inn and Suites
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MS1 wrote a review Jul 2022
4 contributions4 helpful votes
This describes itself as a boutique hotel, but it is simply a motel- perfectly adequate but nothing special so in my view , very overpriced. It is on a street with lots of other motels so I would suggest shop around. Also we had the least welcoming greeting I have ever had anywhere in the US. And, for those of us who care about these things, there was a massive amount of single use plastics, which I imagine is to save time and money but doesn’t help any of us in the long term
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperience Team, Agency / Consultant at Mariposa Inn and Suites
Responded 14 Jul 2022
Dear Guest, Thanks for sharing your concerns with us. We're extremely gutted to learn that you didn't have the special experience that we strive to provide to each of our guests. We have taken note of these concerns and we will surely work hard to improve upon these aspects to make our hospitality more welcoming and highly appreciated in the future. We hope this will not dissuade you from undertaking future visits! Kind regards, Customer Care Team Mariposa Inn and Suites
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ella A wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
Biggest downfall: We stayed in a townhome suite. I wish it was clear that the upstairs part was basically not air conditioned. The AC unit is downstairs and even if you have it on the coolest setting it doesn't reach upstairs, so during the day it is not useful because it's so hot. It was only 78 degrees outside. This was a huge bummer. Was hoping to be able to open the windows at night, but there were no screens on the windows. Another thing that was hard to deal with: when you go out and come back in, you have to use your key to get in. While this is great for security, it took about 25 tries to get it to work on the third floor. This was not ideal with a toddler. Also, don't hope to be checked in earlier than 4pm. I had called two days before and they said i could check in around 12-1. Arrived at 1:45p and our room wasn't ready yet and she would call me when it is. She called qt 3:45p and let me know it was ready. Not to mention that she was so rude at the front desk. The feeling of hospitality was nonexistent. Breakfast was just a brown paper bag of fruit, yogurt, and a bar. When i pay over $200 a night, i hope to get a little more than that. Very loud hotel. We could deal with it because we have a small child but if you're coming to have some quiet time this is not it. We loved the pool, dog friendliness, convenience of location, cleanliness, and the fact that our toddler had his own sleep space, but we would probably not stay again. There are some major problems that you don't expect when paying $200+ a night.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperience Team, Agency / Consultant at Mariposa Inn and Suites
Responded 27 Jun 2022
Dear Guest, we are disappointed to hear that you did not have a good time at our hotel. We deeply regret that our hotel and services could not deliver the value you expected for the price you paid. We will review your comments in detail and make changes wherever possible in improving our facilities and training our staff, thereby ensuring a better experience for our future guests. We understand that it was too hot in the upstairs part of the townhome suite with no air conditioning facility and no screens on the windows. Please give us time to discuss this matter with our management and see what changes can be made in order to make the stay comfortable for our guests. We are sorry that our keycard made it difficult for you to enter your suite room a few times. We shall inform our maintenance team to look into the state of the card and the lock system on the doors to figure out the problem and resolve it immediately. We sincerely apologize to you on behalf of the hotel management for the late check-in incident and wish to inform you that we have already alerted senior authorities in the administration about this episode. We guarantee that our front desk staff member's unprofessional behaviour does not represent the value of customer service we give to our esteemed guests. We reassure you that such an incident is not considered normal, and we intend to take it very seriously. We realize that a two hours wait in the lobby with a toddler can be exasperating, especially when you were assured that you would be able to have an early check-in, so we shall take strict action accordingly for your troubles. Thank you very much for sharing your detailed review - honest reviews like yours help us improve our quality of service for all of our guests. At Mariposa Inn and Suites, we take all proper measures to ensure that our guests feel satisfied with our hospitality through quality resources and top-notch services, so it is truly disheartening to hear that we could not do the same for you. Once again, we extend our apologies for the packaged breakfast you did not favour and the noise disturbance you faced during your visit. It is a matter of relief that you appreciated the convenient location of our property, dog-friendly nature, hygiene and pool facility, as well as the sleep space for kids in your suite. We understand that a few of these instances have prompted you not to revisit our hotel, but we kindly request you to give us another chance for redemption. Ultimately, we wish to have you back at the hotel as our guest so that we can make up for our missteps and deliver a guest experience worth your time and money. Kind regards, Customer Care Team Mariposa Inn and Suites
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Teresa D wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
Pros: Room inside was tastefully renovated, including vinyl flooring instead of yucky carpet. Complimentary fluffys were a very nice touch. Close to freeway Cons: Rooms do NOT get serviced during stay (still using the "for your safety" excuse). YET not one employee wears face cover. Breakfast is a joke. Expext a paper bag with a granola and a juice, and maybe an apple unless they run out. Bed was extremely firm, could not get a good night sleep for the life of me. Balcony was shared with room next door, not allowing us to keep curtains open for lack of privacy. And for that reason we didn't even get to use it. I really wish their description was not so deceiving, when searching for a room I specifically searched for breakfast and free parking (pretty basic stuff) and this place popped up. I would hardly call what they offer here breakfast and while they renovated recently, they clearly skipped on replacing the mattresses because the one we slept on was very uncomfortable. Front desk staff was nice but I would never stay here or recommend this hotel to anyone.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperience Team, Agency / Consultant at Mariposa Inn and Suites
Responded 27 Jun 2022
Dear Guest, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts about your stay. We are grateful to you for your kind words about our recent renovations, flooring, amenities and convenient location. We are very sorry for the room's conditions which disturbed your visit. Let us inform our management team about the issues of the uncomfortable bedding and shared balcony in order to see what can be done to resolve those matters. As an established motel, we take the proper steps to ensure that our guests feel satisfied with our resources and services, so it is truly disheartening to hear that we could not do the same for you. We sincerely reciprocate your emotions as we acknowledge the changes in our establishment following the pandemic. The cancellation of mid-stay cleaning services and the minimally packaged breakfasts are the results of adapting to a post-Covid scenario, in which the health and wellbeing of our customers are our greatest concerns. We hope you understand our predicament. However, we do not intend this to be our new normal, as we will soon be bouncing back to provide our guests with the ultimate hotel experience. Thank you for voicing your concerns and for letting us know your appreciation for our front desk staff. We understand that all these circumstances have caused you a terrible experience at our motel, but we request that you kindly not let that be your lasting impression of us. While it is disappointing that the overall hotel experience could not match your expectations, we hope to host you again with all our services working in your favour. Kind regards, Customer Care Team Mariposa Inn and Suites
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
George818 wrote a review May 2022
Los Angeles, California431 contributions179 helpful votes
Noisy!!! Hotel is nice. Front desk staff was nice and helpful. Room is quite big with sitting area and tv. Had a fireplace and shared patio. However I would say don’t stay in any room except on the 3rd floor. Any padding or insulation is non existent as we stayed in the 2nd level and all you hear bright and early is the room above stomping back and forth for hours!! If you intend to sleep in late on vacation forget about it.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid staying on 1st and 2nd floor rooms!!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperience Team, Agency / Consultant at Mariposa Inn and Suites
Responded 2 Jun 2022
Dear Guest, we are glad to receive your feedback on your stay but disappointed to know that we did not meet your standards. Thank you for taking the time to review us and highlighting your thoughts about your visit to Mariposa Inn and Suites. Our rooms are designed to capture the comfort of our guests with beautiful facilities and practical amenities. While we are delighted that we could make your day better with our resources, we are sorry about the noise issue from the above floor that you mentioned. We have informed the management about your comment on the padding between floors and how the sound disturbances from poor insulation hinder an otherwise flawless guest experience. We shall take all measures to rectify the situation and ensure that our customers feel satisfied throughout their stay, so give us one more chance to deliver you an uncompromising guest experience at our hotel! Kind regards, Customer Care Team Mariposa Inn and Suites
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Danny P wrote a review May 2022
San Francisco, California63 contributions39 helpful votes
My family usually stays at another hotel closer to the aquarium and gave this one a shot. It is further away from it and past the downtown area. The hotel photos are a little deceiving. The rooms, bathroom and grounds are so so. We didn't use the pool. If you plan on continuing down south towards Carmel or Big Sur, I would consider staying here. It is convenient to hop on the freeway and head south. There is a mall across the street which is a plus. The downtown area is about a 5-10 minute drive. For the cost, I would take another gamble and stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperience Team, Agency / Consultant at Mariposa Inn and Suites
Responded 30 May 2022
Dear Guest, thank you for sharing a detailed review of your stay. We are ecstatic to know that we were able to satisfy you with our services, and it is even more joyous to hear that you would prefer to stay here again. Detailed reviews with appreciation and criticism help us understand our strong and weak points and thereby develop the quality of our guest experience. We shall try to upgrade the quality of our room conditions and other facilities. As you mentioned, our hotel is aptly located in a space where our customers can easily access the downtown area as well as quickly make way to the freeway. We look forward to hosting you again for an even more fulfilling experience! Kind regards, Customer Care Team Mariposa Inn and Suites
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BaconSF wrote a review May 2022
San Francisco, California125 contributions110 helpful votes
Hotel was recently renovated and looks pretty modern. The room had a natural gas fireplace that warmed up the room fairly quickly, it also has an AC/Heater that makes a lot of noise. The room was clean with plenty of towels etc. Breakfast was grab and go, we grabbed some fruits and muffins. Coffee in the room is Wolfgang puck (nice choice). Room has a fridge and microwave. We used the fire pit by the pool and lounged there at night. A great value for this hotel compared to other options nearby, would highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperience Team, Agency / Consultant at Mariposa Inn and Suites
Responded 30 May 2022
Dear Guest, thank you for sharing a positive review of your stay. It's always a pleasure hearing from our guests about how much they loved their time at our hotel. Our reviews have always praised the comfort of our rooms and premises, so hearing your feedback about the ambience of our hotel is something special to the whole staff. We are happy to know that you recognized and appreciated our hotel's hygienic conditions, breakfast options, and room amenities available at the most affordable prices. We hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can extend you a marvellous experience on your vacation. Kind regards, Customer Care Team Mariposa Inn and Suites
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$131 - US$239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
mariposa hotel monterey
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaMonterey CountyMonterey
NUMBER OF ROOMS
50
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MARIPOSA INN AND SUITES: UPDATED 2022 Hotel Reviews, Price Comparison and 309 Photos (Monterey, CA) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Mariposa Inn and Suites
Which popular attractions are close to Mariposa Inn and Suites?
Nearby attractions include Colton Hall Museum (1.2 km), Del Monte Shopping Center (0.4 km), and See's Candies (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Mariposa Inn and Suites?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Mariposa Inn and Suites?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Mariposa Inn and Suites?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Mariposa Inn and Suites?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mariposa Inn and Suites?
Conveniently located restaurants include Lalla Grill, Pizza My Heart, and Chopstix.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Mariposa Inn and Suites?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Mariposa Inn and Suites?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Mariposa Inn and Suites?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Tor House (5.4 km), San Carlos Borromeo de Carmelo Mission (4.8 km), and Cannery Row (3.5 km).
Is Mariposa Inn and Suites accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.