We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mariposa Inn and Suites

PricelineUS$128*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$149*
US$128*
Great Deal
US$136*
US$136*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Mariposa Inn and Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

772 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 640: English reviews
Start your review of Mariposa Inn and Suites
 Click to rate
Berkshire
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We found the Mariposa to be comfortable and convenient for visiting downtown. We welcomed the gas/log fire in the room as it got a little cool at night (even though it was the middle of May). Minor negative points were the noise from traffic in the main street at the front and also the small breakfast room which got crowded...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrWomby
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Mariposa Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Hi, and thank you for your review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the comfortable and friendly atmosphere in our hotel, and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay so much. We are very sorry that the local noise disturbed you so much, this really is a shame, but we are glad that it posed only...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Hubby and 2 kids visited for my birthday wknd. Upon entry all looked well until I started moving about. The photos speak for themselves. Usually we stay by the water when it's just us but opted for more room since we had the kids. I am glad I threw in extra pairs of socks for my kids because after running...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mizzdee02
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Mariposa Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Belated happy birthday to you! Thank you for choosing to stay with us for your celebration, we can only apologize that your stay was not as good as you had hoped. It does not sound as though your room was made up to our usual high standard, and we are truly sorry. It really is a shame that you didn't...

stockton ca
Reviewed 1 week ago

Everything was nice and clean except refrigerator wasn't working. Nice faux fire in the fireplace. Plenty of room for three with two king beds. Nice T.V. and a continental breakfast. They have a tip jar, oh well, nobody's perfect. Great pool and hot tub. Good parking. Like it very much, would come back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tippitendren
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Mariposa Inn and Suites, responded to this review

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you would choose to stay with us again - this is exactly the feedback that we want to hear from our guests! We are sorry that your refrigerator was not working, but we are glad that this will not deter you from staying again. On your...

Modesto, California
Reviewed 18 April 2017

Before you book this hotel, go to other one...hotel.... looks are deceiving. If you give them your credit card, expect them to charge three times the amount, and when you call to inquire, the manager is rude and not very professional. Daniel told me each hotel varies on charges on your card. The Mariposa put a hold on my credit...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Santana57
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Mariposa Inn and Suites, responded to this review

We are very sorry if there was an error made in processing your payment. We have very strict controls and procedures, however, which ensure that any mistakes or overcharges are noticed and rectified. We are sorry for any inconvenience that you were caused, but we trust that this issue has now been rectified. Thank you for staying with us. Best...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 11 April 2017

The hotel was full when we checked in and lucky us, we got bumped up to the townhouse. Although the corridors look slightly dated, rooms were nice and comfortable. The townhouse was 2 floors, 2 bathrooms with 2 bedrooms and a nice fireplace. Breakfast was simple with the likes of pastries, a waffle maker, fruits and yogurt.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Li Lin C
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Mariposa Inn and Suites, responded to this review

We are very happy to hear that you appreciated the upgrade to the townhouse that we gave you! Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, we are happy that you enjoyed both your room and your breakfast. We hope that you'll stay with us again the next time you're in the area. We would love to welcome...

MARIETTA
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

Great place and town. Very friendly and clean. There are a lot of fun things to do in the town and transportation is very accessible. The town is also a short drive from Yosemite which is a fantastic day trip.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly K
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Mariposa Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Hi Kimberly, Thank you for your five star review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so much, and that you found our location to be so accessible and so fun! We really hope that you will take a trip here and stay with us again. Best wishes, Hotel Management

Rosneath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed here after visiting Yosemite- clean room - shower and bath - comfortable bed - this was far better value than staying in lodges at Yosemite- walkable distance to cafe and restaurant . Lovely area near river - queen bedded room - couldn't ask for better value

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jaycamcollies
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Mariposa Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your review of your stay! I'm so happy to hear that you had an enjoyable and wonderful stay with us. It's great to hear that you found us to provide such great value, as well, of course, as providing a clean, comfortable room. We would be excited to welcome you back and we look forward to...

Modesto, California
Reviewed 27 March 2017 via mobile

We were very disappointed in this hotel. The front desk reception was rude, the room was dated and dirty, starting from the inside entry door, mold in shower ceiling, carpet was dirty, black out drapes were barely hanging on rods, and the heat/air conditioning unit was large and sooo loud. I didn't even think of checking the bed, since we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Terry P
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Mariposa Inn and Suites, responded to this review

We are sorry that the room that you received was not of the standard that we usually provide for our guests, and that you did not receive the hospitable welcome that we aim to offer. We apologize for these failings on our part, and we hope that you might consider offering us an opportunity to redeem ourselves, by providing you...

Reviewed 26 March 2017 via mobile

So disappointed in this hotel. Not sure how they can be a 4 on TripAdvisor. All the pictures on there are the nicest the hotel has probably ever looked. The outdoor areas are nothing like what they show online. Both fire pits were not working. The heater lamps didn't have any propane tanks. Spider webs everywhere. Outside lights were broken....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elena C
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Mariposa Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Elena, We are most dismayed to read your review, it is not at all the type of review that we generally get. We apologize for the shortcomings that you mention, and we will review your comments in detail with our housekeeping team to ensure that such issues do not arise again. Thank yo for choosing to stay with us, it...

St. Augustine, Florida
Reviewed 24 March 2017

First, Monterey is lovely, the flowers blooming everywhere are gorgeous. This hotel is covered with flowers. We stayed in a townhouse, the maid service was excellent, the place was clean, new toiletries everyday, fresh towels, nicely made up. It's fairly close to everything and Del Monte Center right across the street. I would stay there again, which is my best...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank WantToSeeItAll
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Mariposa Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you very much for providing us with such a detailed review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much, and that you liked the room and the amenities that we provided. It's always great to hear guests say that they would stay with us again, we hope to have the opportunity to...

250 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (249)
Viewed
Bathroom (27)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (73)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Other (101)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.5 km away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
1.5 km away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
2,236 reviews
4.9 km away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
2.1 km away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.3 km away
Colton Inn
Colton Inn
#35 of 55 in Monterey
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge

Additional Information about Mariposa Inn and Suites

Address: 1386 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-6139
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Price Range: $200 - $460 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mariposa Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Mariposa Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariposa Hotel Monterey
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mariposa Inn and Suites staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Mariposa Inn and Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room at the back for a quiet stay.”
MrWomby, 21 May 2017 | Read review
“stairs and an elevator”
tippitendren, 15 May 2017 | Read review
“find another hotel”
Santana57, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Townhouse is my choice.”
WantToSeeItAll, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I would ask for a second floor room as you don't have anybody above you.”
sandrasH2248EX, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$128* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$136
TravelocityUS$136
Booking.comUS$149
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates