We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mariposa Inn and Suites

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mariposa Inn and Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

760 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mariposa Inn and Suites
See the most recent reviews
Showing 629: English reviews
Honolulu
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

My family reserved the town house suite so that my father-in-law can stay in the downstairs part of the unit with the Murphy bed, and my family of 3 stayed in the upstairs bedroom. The upstairs room was clean and spacious, and the bathroom was very roomy. The bathroom sink was pretty, however, I prefer more counter space to lay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lei42no
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Mariposa Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your extremely comprehensive review of your recent stay with us. We are happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay in our townhouse in the main, but it's a shame that your overall impression was spoiled by a few moments at the front desk. We will address your comments with the department, to ensure...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 23 December 2016 via mobile

I stayed at the Mariposa Inn for 3 nights. I had the King room with the Jacuzzi. The room is super comfy and cozy it has a cute fireplace big screen TV and you can sit in the jacuzzi and watch TV and relax. The Jacuzzi is huge and would be great for a couples romantic weekend away. I went...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DebMermaidKoala
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Mariposa Inn and Suites, responded to this review

We are really thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us so much! It's great to hear such great feedback, and that you enjoyed all of our facilities and amenities, especially since you're a regular guest in hotels. Thank you for choosing, and for taking the time to provide us with such a stellar review. We hope that you will...

San Diego, California
Reviewed 7 December 2016

We stayed here for a night on 12/2. The property is in the same street and many other small inns and hotels. The rooms are clean but can use some updating (heater can be updated, is noisy and takes a while to heat up the room on cold chilly nights)., They do have an electric fireplace, but that hardly seemed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pooja S
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Mariposa Inn and Suites, responded to this review

We are glad that you had a wonderful stay with us, and that you took the time to leave your review. Thank you for your feedback about the heaters, we do get them serviced regularly, and we will ensure that we check the one in your room. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Best wishes, Hotel Management

Reviewed 5 December 2016 via mobile

First time I stayed at this motel and probably my last. I had high expectations after seeing it rated a 3 star inn but was totally disappointed. Tiny room size, smelled of cigarette smoke, toilet exhaust fan had dead flies accumulating inside, mold, strong draft on front door, heating lamp kept shutting on and off, low shower head, Spa out...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Manny L
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Mariposa Inn and Suites, responded to this review

We are so sorry that you had such a bad experience during your recent stay with us. Your comments are totally in contrast with those that we normally get, and we are very disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. It sounds like we dropped the ball on checking your room before you checked in - we are reviewing...

Reviewed 1 December 2016 via mobile

My wife, our 2 year old twins, and I were in California for Thanksgiving and I decided that since we're in California, I wanted to introduce my kids and wife to an amazing aquarium and a city that has been very dear to my heart. I found the Mariposa on TripAdvisor and saw the great reviews, and when I read...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Greeklikeme
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Mariposa Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Hi, and thank you for choosing to stay with us over Thanksgiving! We just loved having you and your family, and we're delighted that we met your needs so well. It's great that you'll make staying with us part of your Thanksgiving tradition - we really do aspire to be a proper "home from home" for families. Thanks a million...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 23 November 2016

Mariposa Inn & Suites is very close to the shopping mall for those who are interested in that stuff. For me, it was a good base to visit nearby sightseeing, such as Point Lobos reserve and the Monterey Aquarium. The rooms were decent, great shower and it had a fireplace. The complimentary breakfast was a time and money saver as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wayne C
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Mariposa Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, Wayne. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay at our home away from home. From location to breakfast it sounds like we were the perfect fit for you. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Best Wishes, Hotel Management

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 21 November 2016

The staff here are very nice and the location is good but noisy. The room stinks however... it reeked of bleach when I checked in so I suspected something was trying to be covered up. When I checked out the next day the smell was unbearable.. I do not know what it is but it was disgusting. Also-- vinyl plank...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jeshkat
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Mariposa Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us and for kind words about our staff. We are sorry that your room did not smell fresh. We aim to provide a comfortable, pleasant, clean stay for our guests. We wish you had brought this to our attention during your stay we would have loved to shift you to another room to...

Reviewed 15 November 2016 via mobile

I'd call this a 3 star quality Inn, but it's better than your average place. The rooms are nice with gas fireplace, air conditioning, mini fridge and microwave. They have a nice patio by the pool and an outdoor hot tub. It's about a 20 minute walk into town or Uber for about $7, which I'd recommend because parking is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank VA-beer
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Mariposa Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Hi there, we're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks very much for your review, in particular your comments about how comfortable and clean your room was, and we really hope that you'll visit us again. Until next time, Hotel Management

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 15 November 2016

Stopped in for the night after a long day of driving up the PCH. Overall room was big and nice. Good breakfast included, friendly staff. Ample parking. There is a pool and hot tub on site as well, which I didn't get a chance to use since we got there late and it closes at 10. Only issues we had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter T
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Mariposa Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Dear Peter, thank you for your kind words. We believe a hotel should feel like home away from home, so I'm glad we were able to provide you with a pleasant and comfortable stay during your recent trip. Thank you for choosing us. We are looking forward to your next stay with us,

Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

This is our third year. We all love it. Love Danielle at the front desk. Always so sweet, kind & thoughtful. Thank you! And the gal that takes care of the breakfast area is beyond helpful. Thank you. Hopefully we'll come back for many years.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Raysuzan
MariposaInn, Guest Relations Manager at Mariposa Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your continued support! We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay at our home away from home. Thank you for mentioning Danielle , I will surely pass your compliments to them. Our staff are always going the extra mile for our guests and I am so glad to hear that our staff lived up to...

241 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (240)
Viewed
Bathroom (27)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (73)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Other (92)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.5 km away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
4.9 km away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.5 km away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
2,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
2.1 km away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
3.0 km away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
1,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge

Additional Information about Mariposa Inn and Suites

Address: 1386 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-6139
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Price Range: $152 - $379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mariposa Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mariposa Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariposa Hotel Monterey
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mariposa Inn and Suites staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Mariposa Inn and Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I would ask for a second floor room as you don't have anybody above you.”
 of 5 bubbles sandrasH2248EX, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Street side rooms don't have elevator access.”
 of 5 bubbles dianea28, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Fireplace in rooms for the cooler season”
 of 5 bubbles Fisher_From_Oz, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Parking can be tight. Try to check-in earlier. We reached close to midnight so there was only 1 spot left.”
 of 5 bubbles poojas546, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“I can't add a tip. Only stayed there one night.”
  • Dirt or mold over door.
  • Dirt on tub.
  • Dirt on baseboard.
  • Wallpaper peeling behind sink.
 of 5 bubbles RayA230, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5