We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
675 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-3107
2 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
US$206
View deal
Free cancellation until 16/02/23
Booking.com
US$206
View deal
Free cancellation until 16/02/23
Agoda.com
US$165
View deal
Free cancellation until 13/02/23
Hotels.comUS$206
TravelocityUS$206
Trip.comUS$227
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (190)
Room & Suite (101)
Dining (13)

About

#19 of 57 hotels in Monterey
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Silver level
We are a 51 unit family friendly hotel in one of the most central, city center locations in Monterey. We are a 12 minute walk to Fisherman's Wharf, the Ocean Front Rec Trail, marina and picturesque Monterey Bay. We are 100% non-smoking with air conditioners, desks with ergonomic chairs and lots of places to plug in and an outdoor, seasonally heated pool, hair dryers, free wi-fi, a 24 hr front desk and a very experienced front desk staff. Monterey Bay is one of the most outstanding vacation destinations in the United States. The Stevenson hotel is perfectly located in historic downtown Monterey, California. Our Monterey hotel is within a short distance to the well-known attractions like Cannery Row and the Monterey Bay Aquarium etc. And minutes from exciting whale watching cruises, diving, amazing parks, 17 Mile Drive, wineries and 50+ restaurants within 3 blocks. Our delightful hotel features two types of guestrooms, one Queen Bed room and two Queen Beds room, all rooms are spacious, stylish with a host of modern lifestyle amenities. Ideal for the family or romantic getaway and are equipped with the highest quality amenities, including air conditioning, wireless internet, HD TVs, Cable TV, iron, ironing board, lamp, safe, hypoallergenic pillows, hairdryers, and Eco-friendly bath amenities upon request. Our downtown Monterey hotel places you within walking distance from the most popular attractions, golf courses, beautiful beaches, and restaurants. Monterey is home to the world renowned Monterey Bay Aquarium, Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf, Monterey Conference Center, Carmel By-The-Sea, Pebble Beach, and 17-Mile Drive. The Stevenson hotel in Monterey is located very close to Fisherman's Wharf and Cannery Row where fine cuisine and boutique shops await your visit and offers exciting glimpses of fabulous seafood. Popular restaurants boast a full range of excellent dining options such as Rosine's, Monterey Cafe for breakfast, Abalonetti Seafood Trattoria, Also, experience delicious culinary excellence at Alvarado Street Bar & Grill, Old Fisherman's Grotto, Sandbar and Grill, Sushi Fly, Great Wall, China Garden, Ambrosia India Bistro and Wild Plum. Trader Joe's and Pharmaca are one block away.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Complimentary tea
Hiking
Children's television networks
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Car park
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
First aid kit
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Safe
Telephone
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
City view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
1040Reviews4Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 352
  • 390
  • 202
  • 57
  • 39
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Carrie Michelle W wrote a review Nov 2022
7 contributions
We felt this was really good value for money as a lot of the hotels were really expensive. The rooms are spacious, clean & the bed was very comfortable. It's a really good location too for lots of bars & restaurants which are just a couple of minutes away & a few minutes further on is the coast. Free parking included.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Satisfaction Team, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey
Responded 7 Nov 2022
Dear Carrie, We appreciate the time you took to leave such a wonderful review of your experience staying with us.  Our goal is to provide a memorable stay and the best value in town, so your review hits the nail on its head. Also, We are delighted to learn that our convenient location made it easy for you to get to everywhere you wanted to go while visiting Monterey.   We would love to have your company once again at The Stevenson Monterey. Thank you, The Stevenson Monterey Management P.S. Next time book directly at thestevensonmonterey.com and save!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SiimonAussieKiwi wrote a review Oct 2022
Victoria, Australia89 contributions46 helpful votes
Lovely hotel in the heart of Monterey . Really friendly service checking in . A little bit of noise from the street but this is expected . Really clean rooms and check out is 12pm which is great . Got excellent advice on where to go and we had a great night . Well worth staying
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Satisfaction Team, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey
Responded 1 Nov 2022
Dear Simmon, Thank you very much for giving your stay at the Stevenson Monterey a POSITIVE review.  Our staff takes pride in working hard to provide clean rooms, greet guests, and ensure a fantastic stay, and your review speaks for itself--we are honored.   We are glad you had a memorable stay with us at The Stevenson Monterey and hope you return soon. Thank you, The Stevenson Monterey Management P.S. Be sure to book directly at thestevensonmonterey.com to find the lowest available rates for our property.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Angie T wrote a review Sep 2022
United Kingdom194 contributions69 helpful votes
Lovely staff, arrived early but was given a car permit, room was ready when we came back, spacious room, had coffee machine, safe, ice machine outside, aircon, would recommend, short walk to fisherman's wharf, about 2 miles walk to monterey aquarium
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Parking available Ice machine Dennis right opposite 2 petrol stations Small shop 3 mins walk
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Satisfaction Team, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey
Responded 7 Oct 2022
Dear Angie, Thank you so much for the PERFECT SCORE REVIEW! We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and found your guest room clean and spacious. It is an honor for us when our guests are delighted with our hospitality. We can't wait to host you again at The Stevenson Monterey soon. Thank you, The Stevenson Monterey Management P.S. For amazing offers and the best rates on our accommodations, book directly on our website: thestevensonmonterey.com.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Martin Eggleston wrote a review Sep 2022
Tamworth, United Kingdom23 contributions22 helpful votes
We stayed here on nights 4 and 5 of our roadtrip. We were expecting a motel style hotel, and that is exactly what this hotel is. Car park out front, off a main road. That is not the whole story though, this hotel is super value for money. Great warm welcome on day one, free tea and coffee both in room and in reception - exceptional wifi, opposite a Dennys, and 2 fuel stations - then just a few minutes walk to downtown. The room itself is large, clean and airey - loads of storage and a real comfy bed. This hotel has everything you could want for a roadtrip stay. However, the reason I downturn the star allocation to 4? There were small groups of guys drinking alcohol outside our room both evenings, which was somewhat off putting - and the noise they made early morning, too much. I hasten to add, that at no point were they drunk, or in any way not well behaved - but I feel for the purposes of appearances, outside the reception and bedrooms is not the location to be having drinks... Overall the positives way way out weigh the negatives. Great town, great stay. Thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey
Responded 13 Sep 2022
Dear Martin, Thanks for the positive review regarding your stay at The Stevenson Monterey. We appreciate your feedback and are glad you found our accommodations to provide great value for your money. Comfort and convenience are our best attributes. Glad to see that your experience highlighted this. It was a pleasure to host you, and we look forward to having you back soon for another pleasant stay during your next trip to Monterey. Thank you, The Stevenson Monterey Management P.S. Be sure to book directly at thestevensonmonterey.com to find the lowest available rates for our property.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
gabiz55 wrote a review Aug 2022
Paris, France83 contributions67 helpful votes
This’ hotel is just above a gas station. You won’t sleep for sure, since every 2 minutes a car closes door . Rooms are not cleaned at all, bed mattress is just a joke, and you can smell humidity inside the room. This is the first time of my life that I changed the hotel at midnight, with my kids, since nobody could sleep. I am not spoiled at all, I slept in many cheap places in my life, but just a reminder that I pay above 230USD per night per room. Sorry to give you this comments but customers cannot be treated like this. Wait for a call from the manager Craig Smith, but the hostess told me he can just make call inside USA… Sorry to be a tourist…
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Gas station just in front . Forget the pool, many water inside is from last century?
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey
Responded 10 Aug 2022
Dear Gabiz55, Please accept my sincere apologies for the state of your guest room and overall experience. This is a very uncommon scenario, and we again apologize for any inconvenience it caused you. I will be sure to investigate the matter and make sure it does not happen again. We value your feedback, and we will make sure such a poor experience doesn't happen again. Regards, The Stevenson Monterey Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dave201253 wrote a review Jun 2022
Reading, United Kingdom121 contributions57 helpful votes
A proper motel with limited parking at street level but plenty more in the underground car park. We didn't use the small pool but it looked clean and inviting. Our room was comfortable and had coffee/tea making amenities. We had a slight problem with the safe but the excellent staff sorted that for us. Coffee/tea seemed to always be available in the office. There is no breakfast but there are some good spots nearby serving up tasty stuff. There's also a Dennys over the road if you fancy that sort of thing. Monterey brewpubs, restaurants, shops and so on are an easy stroll away so that makes the Stevenson an excellently well-located and affordable place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey
Responded 28 Jun 2022
Dear Dave, YOU MADE OUR DAY! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a PERFECT 5-STAR REVIEW of your recent stay at The Stevenson Monterey. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay at our affordable property. Our staff takes pride in working hard to provide clean rooms, greet guests, and ensure a fantastic stay, and your review speaks for itself--we are honored. We are glad that you chose us for your stay and loved our wonderful staff, pool, and convenient location. We look forward to hosting you again soon for another enriching stay on your next trip to Monterey. Thank you, The Stevenson Monterey Management P.S. Don't forget to book directly on thestevensonmonterey.com to get the best deals and discounts.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Valeri C wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
A clean and well-maintained hotel, very close to downtown. Everything in our room was working fine. The only inconvenience was a bright light across the street during night hours: (shades did not cover the whole window). Parking was free and available. We spent one night there.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: All rooms are on the same side of the hotel
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey
Responded 20 Jun 2022
Dear Valeri, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Our staff works hard to provide spotless guest rooms and well-maintained facilities. I am so glad that you had a comfortable stay in our clean rooms and loved our free parking facility. I apologize for the inconvenience caused due to the bright street lights. It definitely was a pleasure hosting you at our property, and we'd love to see you again! Thank You, The Stevenson Monterey Management P.S. For amazing offers and the best prices on our accommodations, book directly on our website: thestevensonmonterey.com.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
e26 wrote a review May 2022
New York City, New York491 contributions197 helpful votes
Stayed here for a couple of nights during a Big Sur road trip. Great central location, close to downtown and Trader Joe’s, Dennys and other stores are close by. Inside looks new and renovated, outside this place doesn’t look like much but was very comfortable and clean stay. Shower pressure was strong. Additional parking is under the building. Would recommend for an easy and comfortable stay.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey
Responded 26 May 2022
Dear Guest, Thank You For Staying With Us And For Taking The Time To Provide Us With Your Valuable Feedback. I'm Glad You Enjoyed Our Spotless And Comfortable Guest Rooms. Thanks For Appreciating Our Wonderful Front Desk Staff And Convenient Location. It Definitely Was A Pleasure Hosting You At Our Property, And We'd Love To See You Again! Thank You, The Stevenson Monterey P.S. For Amazing Offers And The Best Prices On Our Accommodations, Book Directly On Our Website: Thestevensonmonterey.com.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
HBarn wrote a review May 2022
Dorchester, United Kingdom93 contributions85 helpful votes
The rooms were lovely and clean, had a really good nights sleep. Everything you could want. Opposite was a Denny’s for breakfast. Easy to walk to shops and restaurants within minutes. Small pool with some chairs around, could do with a little clean.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey
Responded 23 May 2022
Dear HBarn, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad to see your stay was pleasant and you had a comfortable night's rest at our property. We are glad that you enjoyed our convenient location. Your concerns with regards to the pool area have been conveyed to the housekeeping team who will look into it immediately. Again, thank you for your stay and your valuable feedback. Thank You, The Stevenson Monterey P.S. Remember to book directly on thestevensonmonterey.com to get the LOWEST PRICES and save!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
trmendoza6 wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
My wife had knowingly and excitedly booked a night for this weekend to visit our daughter at school. Unfortunately she tested positive for Covid this morning. I contacted the hotel and the representative I spoke with to discuss a changed date or refund was absolutely rude! Yes I was a rightfully a bit emotional just finding out my wife came down with Covid and we were about to lose $300. This person had ZERO compassion or care for the well being of my wife. Working in a hospitality environment should require politeness. This person was just disrespectful. Not one time did he even say I am sorry to hear about your wife! We completely understand policy of no refunds, however Covid is a real thing and not something you want us to share with you or your other hotel guests. Money does not grow on trees for us and this should be one of those occurrences where a full refund is appropriate or a changed date of stay. We really do not want to feel obligated to come stay at the hotel knowing we have a positive Covid test. -- The would not make an exception to the policy therefore it is clear they only care about the money and not the customer. Sad thing is we didnt even want the money back, we just needed another date as we will be visiting several times a year for the next 4 years
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Craig Smith, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey
Responded 5 May 2022
First of all, if your concern is not really about the money, you would NOT have taken so much effort to put identical reviews/complaints across different review platforms. When you called and not gotten your way of a free cancellation, you were quick to use disparaging remarks and hung up. Now you're appealing to the general public for what? Promote your damage as best you can? You agreed to terms and conditions when you made your reservation through a third party company. You did NOT request a change of arrival date when you called, you were just demanding what you want, free cancellation. When you make reservations through a third party company, your only recourse is to request changes through that company. The property can NOT make changes without the third party company's involvement. We never received communication from the third party online company you used to make your reservation. You went the wrong way about your request and coupled with your terrible way of speaking with our personnel, you managed to lose the full value of your reservation. You could've accomplished better with a nicer attitude. We could've called the third party company and requested a change in your arrival date.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$114 - US$222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
monterey downtown travelodge hotel monterey, travelodge monterey, travel lodge monterey, monterey travelodge, monterey travel lodge
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Monterey Downtown Travelodge
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaMonterey CountyMonterey
NUMBER OF ROOMS
51
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE STEVENSON MONTEREY: UPDATED 2022 Motel Reviews, Price Comparison and 221 Photos (CA) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Stevenson Monterey
Which popular attractions are close to The Stevenson Monterey?
Nearby attractions include San Carlos Cathedral (0.2 km), Monterey Museum of Art (0.4 km), and Monterey County Youth Museum (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Stevenson Monterey?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at The Stevenson Monterey?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Stevenson Monterey?
Guests can enjoy complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at The Stevenson Monterey?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Stevenson Monterey?
Conveniently located restaurants include Paris Bakery Cafe, Estéban Restaurant, and Old Monterey Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Stevenson Monterey?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is The Stevenson Monterey located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Monterey.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Stevenson Monterey?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to The Stevenson Monterey?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Tor House (6.9 km), San Carlos Borromeo de Carmelo Mission (6.2 km), and Cannery Row (2.4 km).
Does The Stevenson Monterey have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.