We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Masterpiece Hotel

Expedia.comUS$120*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$140*
US$120*
US$140*
US$140*
US$120*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Masterpiece Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

322 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Masterpiece Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 294: English reviews
Manteca, California
Reviewed 15 January 2015

We got our room on a Groupon, checked in and went to check it out.. Terrible!!! Back of the hotel, small dreary room.. I went to the front desk and asked for an upgrade. They gave me an upgrade for a reasonable price. Our second room was great. The wine and cheese and crackers was nice in the evening and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sally J
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this review

We are happy to know we helped to make your anniversary special. Always call us direct for the best rate and exact room type you'll want. Regards, Masterpiece Hotel

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 13 January 2015

After a long drive down the coast highway we were met with a very warm welcome at the Masterpiece. We received an upgraded room upstairs looking toward the ocean, which was large and comfy and quiet. We thoroughly enjoyed the happy hour wine and cheese, and the included breakfast next morning was also welcome. Plenty of carparks, and the location...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Cadbury64
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback and were happy to read of your enjoyable stay with us. We look forward to providing you with another memorable stay on your next visit. Masterpiece Hotel

Saratoga, United States
Reviewed 3 January 2015

My husband and I stayed here for two nights and were very pleased with the experience. Without even asking we were upgraded free of charge to the Honeymoon Suite, which was really large. It's on the second floor at the end of the hall, overlooking a side street instead of the main parking lot and street, so was very quiet....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachel P
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this review

We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us. Always call us direct for the best rate and exact room type. Happy travels, Masterpiece Hotel

Reviewed 29 November 2014

I booked a couple nights at this hotel on 11/24/14 and 11/25/14 because I got a good deal on Living Social. Pros: Our room was spacious and clean. The hotel staff were helpful and friendly; nice large hot tub and quaint fitness center. Wine and cheese is offered in the lobby each evening, which was a nice little treat. Good...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank R B
mamamorro, G. M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback. We purchase towels in a Dauby Beige color, hence that's why they appeared dingy. Maintenance has been notified regarding the balconies on the back side of the building. Regards, Masterpiece Hotel

Palmetto, Florida
Reviewed 11 November 2014

This could be a really cool place needs updating would like to see upgraded bathroom. I liked the unique layout of the rooms had nice workout room. Location is close to the waterfront. Staff was ok they did have wine cheese and crackers in evening. We had our own wine so didn't partake in the wine looked like whites and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank crittergirl
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. We always recommend calling us direct to ensure you get the best rate and exact room type your looking for. We hope to hear from you in the future. Regards, Masterpiece Hotel

Fresno, California
Reviewed 2 November 2014 via mobile

I stayed here on July 4th, after deciding I really didn't feel like driving back home to Fresno. Every single place I tried in the Morro Bay area was booked and I was about to give up when I spotted this charming place. The person that checked me in was very kind and actually went down $10 on the price...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tberger_12
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this review

We are so happy to read of your pleasant stay with us. We have many repeat guests from your area. Please call us direct for the best rate and the exact room type you'd like. Happy travels, Masterpiece Hotel

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 31 October 2014

Convenient location. Friendly staff who accomodated my request for a quiet room. Nice to have a hot tub and rec room available though I did not use them. Linens adequate. Bed was comfortable. The problem is that there is no AC in the room. we tried to leave the sliding door open at night for cooler air. This plan failed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paulita S
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback regarding your stay. As in much of California it has been exceptionally hot this year. Our apologies for not having air conditioning. We wish you pleasant journeys. Masterpiece Hotel

Mission Viejo
Reviewed 23 October 2014

We only did an overnight. The room was nice, the wine and cheese took the edge off our hnger before dinner and breakfast was good. The only problem we had was that it was too warm; theceiling fan could not cool the room down enough to ake sleep comfortable and the road noise made it tough to sleep.... The traffic...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PatandLeePHRFUN
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback. We recommend always calling us direct for the best rate and exact room type you'd like. Regards, Masterpiece Hotel

Grand Coulee, Washington
Reviewed 16 October 2014 via mobile

We stayed here one night for a friend's wedding. The rooms and building are beautiful. Staff was very friendly. Only issues were that the room was so hot we had a really hard time sleeping. Bed was very comfortable though. Also the vanity area wasn't real clean.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Badjer21
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this review

Thank for your feedback. We have notified housekeeping regarding the vanity. We wish you pleasant journeys. Masterpiece Hotel

Yuba City, California
Reviewed 9 October 2014

Stayed at Masterpiece Hotel and really enjoyed it. Staff was very friendly, room was clean and large, beds comfortable, complimentary continental breakfast, and wine and crackers and cheese in the afternoon. There was a spa and even washer and dryer in the building. Room was a little noisey in the mornings from traffic in the back of the building, only...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank caflynn
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this review

We are so happy to know of your enjoyable stay with us. We look forward to once again providing you with another wonderful stay. Be sure to call us direct for the best rate and exact room type you'll want. Regards, Masterpiece Hotel

86 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (67)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
2:16
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
2.0 km away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#19 of 29 in Morro Bay
290 reviews
0.7 km away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
670 reviews
0.2 km away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Best Western Tradewinds
Best Western Tradewinds
#8 of 29 in Morro Bay
593 reviews
0.9 km away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#4 of 29 in Morro Bay
362 reviews
0.4 km away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#16 of 29 in Morro Bay
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Masterpiece Hotel

Address: 1206 Main St, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2008 (Formerly El Morro Masterpiece Motel)
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Price Range: $140 - $383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Masterpiece Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Masterpiece Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Morro Masterpiece Hotel Morro Bay
El Morro Masterpiece Bay
Masterpiece Hotel Morro Bay, California
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Morro Bay
#12 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Masterpiece Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Garden Grove, California, United States
over a year ago
Fallbrook, California
2 months ago
Pismo Beach, California
7 months ago
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Masterpiece Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Upstairs, facing Morro Rock. Room 222 was great!”
lovesf48, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The master suite (3rd floor) is extremely private and offers great views.”
, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Avoid room 224.”
  • I converted the night stand into my dresser
  • heater
  • Stains on seat cushion of other chair
  • Where the dresser should have been
  • Stains on seat cusion of chair
  • Where the dresser should have been
  • Hole on bottom of sofa cushion
LukeM102, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“First floor if you can.”
970marke, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“top floor may have views facing the harbor & rock”
241krystak, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$120* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$140
Hotels.comUS$120
TravelocityUS$120
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates