We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Motel 6 Oakland Airport

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Motel 6 Oakland Airport
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

74 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Motel 6 Oakland Airport
See the most recent reviews
Showing 58: English reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2015 via mobile

I planned to stay here for 3 days but i only stayed 1 day and i got my money back. The area isn't nice at all, people are loud, and are staring at you + smoking weed in front of their doors all the time, i didn't feel comfortable. Plus the cleaning staff stole my perfumes so be careful people!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ashley D
6Team, brand expericened team member at Motel 6 Oakland Airport, responded to this review

Ashley, Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable visit and apologize for any failure in following through on that commitment during your recent stay. We strive to provide a clean, comfortable stay and are disappointed your visit was unsatisfactory due to the odor concern you describe. Safety and security are high priorities within...

Oakland, California
Reviewed 18 August 2015

I came here after I got a job in San Francisco as an iOS programmer. My company put me up here for two weeks while I went apartment hunting. The room was clean, everything inside worked fine, the TV had a hookup panel installed right on the front of the cabinet, which was very nice. The facilities outside were adequate,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jmready
6Team, brand expericened team member at Motel 6 Oakland Airport, responded to this review

Dear JM, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. Please know that the conditions you describe are atypical to Motel 6 standards for quality, and we apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. We are glad to be able to provide Wi-Fi to our guests, but apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with our policy and the connection...

San Francisco
Reviewed 15 August 2015

Waited 20 mins to check in. Dirty and damp room. Sheets were dirty. No free wifi. Strange dirty cat paw print on the sheets. Dirty parking lot. Shower was clogged. The maintenance guy came to fix it and pulled out massive amount of hair.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank myl4
6Team, brand expericened team member at Motel 6 Oakland Airport, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your review. We strive to provide a comfortable night's rest and are disappointed your stay was unsatisfactory due to the odor concern you describe. Please know that the conditions you describe are atypical to Motel 6 standards for quality and we apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. Our standards for quality rest on the...

South Pasadena
Reviewed 6 August 2015

Stayed for 9 hours on a road trip from WA to Los Angeles. This place is near enough to the Oakland Coliseum that we enjoyed the fireworks from our 2nd story room. With doors and windows closed it was quiet enough, but people were up partying all night. Non smoking room smelled a bit like smoke. Taking the dog out...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Annika B
6Team, brand expericened team member at Motel 6 Oakland Airport, responded to this review

Dear Annika, Thank you for posting your review. We strive to deliver a great guest experience, but it sounds as though we did not perform to our usual standards in this case. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable room and apologize for any failure in following through on that commitment during your recent stay. We do accommodate our...

Sarasota, Florida
Reviewed 31 July 2015 via mobile

I stay in hotels 300 + nights yearly. I only stayed here because nothing else was available. The checkin was a mass of confusion and there were alot of people (6-8) who had confirmed reservations, but the motel had no record of them. I stayed here on 07/28 and was given room 2522. The room smelled like smoke and there...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ChuckMosher
6Team, brand expericened team member at Motel 6 Oakland Airport, responded to this review

Chuck, Thank you for posting your review. We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced with the availability of a non-smoking room. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable room and apologize for any failure in delivering on the commitment during your recent stay. We invite you to contact our Guest Relations department at 1-855-787-9864 to record the details of...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 28 July 2015

We found out on arrival that this place is quite a bad part of town although they did have a security guard on duty. On check in they tried to charge me extra for 2 adults even though we already had a confirmation of the cost. After 10 minutes arguing they eventually agreed to honor the price on my confirmation....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Olly13538
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Oakland Airport, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. Please know that the conditions you describe are atypical to Motel 6 standards for quality, and we apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. We are glad to be able to provide Wi-Fi to our guests, but apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with our policy and the connection...

San Diego, California
Reviewed 17 July 2015

I stay in Oakland for business about once a week. Short notice had me stay here because of some big convention in San Francisco filled up the other hotels in the area. NEVER again. This place is terrible - People were smoking weed three times during the night in the stairwell next to my room, and when I emerged in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Biggybrewpi
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Oakland Airport, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We strive to provide a comfortable night's rest, and are disappointed your stay was unsatisfactory due to the noise concerns you describe. Safety and security are high priorities within Motel 6 standards for quality and we regret you felt differently during your visit. Motel 6 standards for quality...

Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 2 July 2015

Stayed here for one night, would not recommend this property unless you really have to, got a room with a bed just big enough for 2 adults, but we were 3 ? Was told everything was sold out, comon we booked a large room big enough for 3, so one of us had to sleep upright on a corner couch...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johnson W
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Oakland Airport, responded to this review

Dear Johnson, Thank you for sharing your feedback. We apologize for any misunderstanding that may have occurred during your recent stay with regard to our rates, check-in policy and the inconveniences you experienced. The service experiences you describe are atypical to Motel 6 standards for quality our colleagues strive to provide, and we apologize for the service issues you describe....

Kailua, Hawaii
Reviewed 23 April 2015

The rooms were dirty and smelled of smoke. Was told non smoking yet ash trays were in rooms. Mildew around window sills.AC smelled of smoke. Horrible experience will never stay at Motel 6 again! I'm okay with Cheaper properties provided they are clean. I don't need the fancy but this was awful! Rooms were not ready at 4pm!!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nichol M
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Oakland Airport, responded to this review

Nichol, Thank you for sharing your review. We apologize for any misunderstanding that may have occurred during your recent stay with regard to your reservations and the inconveniences you experienced. Our staff aims to provide the highest level of hospitality to our guests through our customer service, but with your experience we have fallen short and would like to apologize...

Chicago
Reviewed 22 February 2015

hotel in bad neighborhood...very overpriced!!! very basic accommodations no coffee machine not even soap or shampoo provided. I highly doubt freshness of the bed sheets....wasn't able to watch any TV - cable tv was damaged producing huge moire and grainy picture. It was impossible to watch at all. Very basic accommodations in shady neighborhood. Think twice doe that price there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SmartTraveler2020

39 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Other (29)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oakland hotels
3.3 km away
Bay Breeze Inn Oakland
Bay Breeze Inn Oakland
#14 of 49 in Oakland
335 reviews
0.2 km away
La Quinta Inn Oakland Airport Coliseum
0.1 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oakland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Quality Inn Oakland
Quality Inn Oakland
#29 of 49 in Oakland
207 reviews
1.6 km away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Oakland Airport
1.3 km away
Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Motel 6 Oakland Airport is located 3 miles from Oakland Intl Airport and walking distance to area dining. Visit the Port of Oakland Marinas, within 6 miles. Relax in our modern rooms and outdoor pool. Wi-Fi is available in all guest rooms for a fee. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Motel 6 Oakland Airport

Address: 8480 Edes Ave, Oakland, CA 94621-1306
Region: United States > California > Oakland
Price Range: $122 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Oakland Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 286
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Motel-6 so you can book your Motel 6 Oakland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Oakland Airport Hotel Oakland
Oakland Motel Six
Oakland Motel 6
Motel Six Oakland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Motel 6 Oakland Airport staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Motel 6 Oakland Airport staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Are there good rooms?”
 of 5 bubbles RuddyL_13, 11 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Stay out stay alive!”
 of 5 bubbles Lord_Rick_Rowe, 18 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Your room has TV, wifi. There is an outdoor pool which can be relaxing on a warm day.”
 of 5 bubbles sandiw683, 7 Oct 2015 | Read review
“go some place else”
 of 5 bubbles Biggybrewpi, 16 Jul 2015 | Read review
“wifi costs money - and it was done. learn to use your smart phone as a hot spot and you will not need other peoples wifi. otherwise all ok”
 of 5 bubbles eliinbalt, 17 Aug 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay