Monterey Peninsula Inn

Monterey Peninsula Inn

1101 Lighthouse Ave, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2312
2 große queenbetten im Schlafzimmer
Traveller (208)
Property Grounds
Room & Suite (87)
Pool & Beach (4)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#1 of 5 motels in Pacific Grove
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Monterey Peninsula Inn on the Monterey Bay features 40 Guest rooms on nearly 2 acres of land. Located just 2.5 blocks from the ocean / Pt. Pinos Lighthouse, 1 block from the Monarch Butterfly Sanctuary, 1 mile from the the entrance of 17-Mile Drive Pebble Beach and only 2 miles from the famous Cannery Row and Monterey Bay Aquarium. Our Guest Units are well appointed and boast a contemporary or boutique style of decor. We have a lodging option for everyone! Our Inns offer a wide variety of Guest units including: Standard 1 or 2 bedded rooms, family suites, pet friendly rooms, Private Cottages, fireplace rooms, kitchen rooms and ADA rooms (visual, hearing or physical impaired). After exploring the Monterey Peninsula, enjoy relaxing in our hotels’ outdoor hot tub or have a glass of wine during sunset on our patio next to the fire pit. Nestled in the Pine Forest and frequented by wildlife including deer & the famous Monarch Butterfly. Our quiet, serene location is the perfect get-away! Come enjoy a beautiful day and a memorable visit on the Monterey Bay!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Street parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Fence around pool
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Room features
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Coffee / tea maker
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English

Location

1101 Lighthouse Ave, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2312
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 49 out of 100
49
Monterey Peninsula Airport
805Reviews7Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 330
  • 285
  • 114
  • 32
  • 44
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Trish wrote a review Dec 2020
Lodi, California
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Did a quick little get away with my pup early Nov. The staff were very friendly and professional. The heater was broken in the room when I arrived, and the young lady at the front desk immediately brought me a space heater. The room was comfortable, but showing wear and is due for an update. It was very quiet and exactly what I needed. I will be back.

One suggestion would be to add more trash cans located around the property. I could only find one near the hot tub.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at Monterey Peninsula Inn
Responded 26 Mar 2021
Hi The-Pixiegiggles, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review and for staying with us. We really appreciate it. Thank you so much for acknowledging our friendly and professional staff. They work very hard to try and make each guests stay with us an enjoyable one. We will certainly pass on your additional comments to our staff as well so they can make any necessary improvements. We hope the rest of your travels were safe and we hope to see you again in the near future :)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pam S wrote a review Nov 2020
Fair Oaks, California
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have stayed here several times and during our latest trip we were pleased to see the newest renovations on the rooms. Fresh paint, remodeled bathroom, and carpet replaced with vinyl "wood" flooring! Due to covid, there is no continental breakfast served but we brought our own breakfast food and used the coffee maker in the room. The small refrigerator and microwave are appreciated! The inn is a short walk to the beach and in a quiet neighborhood. Front desk staff (Aaron and Andrea) are so friendly and helpful! We will be back again - thanks for a wonderful stay!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at Monterey Peninsula Inn
Responded 26 Mar 2021
Hi Pam S, Wow, thank you so much for taking the time to write us such a great review and for staying with us! It is very much appreciated! It is always great to have you come back and stay with us and we were excited to see that you noticed all of the recent renovations we have completed! I'm glad to hear you found your room clean, enjoyable, and we hope that after the government covid restrictions are ended we can continue with our complimentary continental breakfast. Thank you for recognizing our staff as well, as they really do work very hard to try and make every guests stay with us an enjoyable one. We will definitely pass your praise on to them (they will appreciate it)! We hope the rest of your travels were just as wonderful and we look forward to the next time you stay with us :)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
squirrelnibbler wrote a review Aug 2020
Belmont, California
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The furniture was fine. A little on the dated side, but nice overall. The kitchenette was functional. Our back window had the screen fallen out onto the yard behind. We had no A/C but four windows, and it doesn’t get too warm there typically. However, with the screen out, we could not use the window by the bed, and the blinds appeared to be broken there as well. The curtain rod was, an old cheap tension rod, and it fell on my 11yo daughter. My husband and I struggled to reinstall it without luck. We notified the front on checkout. They had no hair conditioner. While I highly approve of reusable dispensers for shampoo and such for environmental reasons, I feel conditioner should be provided, as we ran out, expecting it there. Also, both my kids complained the “shampoo” burned their eyes. It was neon orange, and I highly suspect the dispenser might be refilled with dial hand soap? Thunder and lightening made the room loud and humid. Overall, it was fine, the kitchenette was helpful. The pool and breakfast were shut, for Covid, which I wished we knew ahead of time. We would have packed better.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at Monterey Peninsula Inn
Responded 26 Mar 2021
Hi squirrelnibbler, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for staying with us. We appreciate it. We are glad to hear you were able to enjoy our wonderful kitchen units. They are great for families and multi-night stays! Please be assured that we passed your comments on to our staff for immediate attention and correction. I'm sure the weather will be better on your next trip to see us and that the government regulations allow us to open up our new spa for the family to enjoy. We hope the rest of your travels were wonderful and that we get to see you again soon :)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Brad G wrote a review Aug 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We loved our time on the Monterey Peninsula. Our stay at the Monterey Peninsula Inn was exceptional. We had an incredible room that was clean just the right size and very comfortable. The location in Pacific Grove is perfectly positioned for quick trips to Monterey, Carmel or for just a quick walk to the beach. The staff was extremely professional and made sure we had everything we needed. If you are looking for a reasonable price with an exceptional location and fantastic service, I would highly recommend the Monterey Peninsula Inn.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Faye W wrote a review Apr 2022
Alhambra, California
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The property is in a very good location if you plan to visit the Lovers Point and the 17-mile drive. The neighborhood is quite and Peaceful; the staff were welcoming, friendly, and went extra mile to make sure their guests had everything they needed.
Prices are reasonable, and rooms are very clean. The only suggestion I would make is to book a king size room if you are traveling with your partner or one more person. We booked a queen size and we felt we could use a bit more space. But it worked out for an overnight stay, not big deal at all.
Highly recommend this property if you are visiting the area!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Try to book a king size room if you are traveling with a partner. Although the queen size worked...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
janet353 wrote a review Aug 2020
Lincoln, California
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We paid $384 for a 2 night weekend stay. The room smelled of dirty animals. The clerk said “due to Covid” no complimentary breakfast will be served. Why not remove that from the hotel website amenities list? The maid service only removed our dirty towels. They did not give us replacement towels or make the bed. I had to hunt her down and request it. Coffee maker in the room but if you want cream and sugar you have to get it at the hotel lobby. Checkout is 11am. At 11:03 as my husband is loading up our car with luggage, the clerk approached him (and everyone else) and stated “checkout is at 11”. We’ll never stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at Monterey Peninsula Inn
Responded 17 Aug 2020
Hi Janet353, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. We value both positive and constructive reviews as it helps us to continually improve. We were disappointed to hear your stay with us did not meet with your expectations. Although it is our goal to make every guests stay a great one, we know that we may not meet the individual preferences each person may have. Unfortunately we are unable to provide the breakfast service at this time due to the current Covid-19 restrictions/guidelines we are required to follow to ensure the safety of all of our guests and staff. This is indicated on our website, our confirmation paperwork, check in registration, and on all of our travel partner websites. We are sorry you missed them and will review the notices to ensure they are in a location that can be clearly viewed. We will certainly pass on your comments to our staff to ensure any issues that may need additional attention can be improved. We hope the rest of your travels were great and that you will give us another try on your next visit to the area. I know your next stay with us will be a great one :)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Audra B wrote a review Nov 2021
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I spent a lovely weekend here. Quaint place. We enjoyed the hot tub after a day wandering the area taking in the ocean, light house, nearby shops and restaurants. Walked to the butterfly sanctuary and even decided to extend our stay. The manager was so friendly. He really cares about his guests. Room was just what we needed and for a great price. Housekeeping were so nice and accommodating when we needed more towels, etc. Several guests were also using the fire pit. We opted for a glass of wine in our room instead. Would stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Bring your favorite beverage & unbreakable containers you can take with you to the hot tub & fire...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
softballqueen wrote a review Aug 2023
Sonora, California
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The inn was clean and located close to the ocean however it was expensive compared to other places. We booked for 5 nights and asked if we could check out one day early due to a call from the surgical vet having a cancellation for our dog on our last day there. We had been on a cancellation list due to his broken leg that needed surgery. Apparently, there was no empathy for our dog in pain because I was told I still had to pay for that night. Seems quite greedy to me. The room was adequate however it was an extremely small room. Only room for one person to walk between the bed and the cabinet that held the microwave. Also, at the time we booked this 6 months ago it said breakfast included and that had apparently changed because there was no breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Read the fine print and know that there are no exceptions!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lauren T wrote a review Jul 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Came to the Monterey Bay Area for a long weekend trip with some friends and had the most amazing time. I am so glad we decided to stay at this inn - the staff was so friendly, our rooms were so clean, and the property is in a perfect spot. We were able to walk along the water each morning and also down the road into town, everything was easily accessible. In the evenings we hung out by the fire pit at the inn which provided the perfect close to many great days. The man that helped check us in was also so accommodating. Made sure we were all in rooms close to each other and even helped make us dinner reservations at the places he recommended (all of which were delicious!). We all had such a great trip after such a long year without travel, and we already cannot wait to come back!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LizaH wrote a review Jan 2022
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I am giving this hotel a low rating for three reasons: 1) they did not follow COVID protocol; 2) they never picked up the phone when I tried to call them and 3) they did not return neither phone messages nor emails.

Background: My husband and I have a compromised immunity and informed the hotel of our concern for COVID cleaning protocols when we booked. This was our first vacation in 18 months. They confirmed following cleaning protocols when we booked, the last day we could cancel, the day before arrival, upon arrival before our room was ready. While waiting in the parking lot for our room to be ready, we noticed a housekeeping going in and out of rooms without a mask or gloves. We took a picture. We hoped that our rooms were in a separate section of the hotel. However, when we finally checked in (as again asked about cleaning and confirmed), we were given a key to one of the rooms that housekeeper was in.

Predicament: We could risk it, go home or try to locate another hotel. We attempted to cancel the reservation stating why, but we could not get a refund. We were told we had to call back and speak with a manager. As noted above, we called numerous times and either no answer, manager was out, or messages were not returned. In other words, no resolution.

We attempted to resolve the situation with our credit card.

The one star is for the front desk who tried to be helpful - at least sounded like they wanted to be
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cara H asked a question Mar 2018
Woodstock, Georgia8 contributions
How far is this in from cannery row?
Answer from Connie G
15 contributions31 helpful votes
about 2 mi I beleive.
feedie asked a question Dec 2017
Sacramento, California113 contributions31 helpful votes
are there rooms where no dogs have stayed in?
Answer from Nancy S
Belmont, California, United States46 contributions8 helpful votes
There are designated rooms where no dogs are allowed.
Answer from mcm749
Nashville, Tennessee4 contributions
We stayed in a two bed room there..... but I do not remember any cottages on the place. It is a very nice hotel. Not too many amenities, but your close to the Ocean so we never spent much time there. Very quiet . Great staff.
Stacy985 asked a question Oct 2016
Mandeville, Louisiana
Is there a limit on the size of the dog?
Answer from Victoria A
Pacific Grove, California1 contribution
Dear Stacey, Thank you for your interest in our Inn. In response, we do not set limitations on our furry Guests. Sincerely, Victoria
Avid9er asked a question May 2016
Lincoln, California13 contributions10 helpful votes
How can I be sure that I will get a room that has a king bed ?
Answer from getawaygary33
lincoln, ca3 contributions9 helpful votes
Request one when making reservation. They are very accommodating.
Robert S wrote a tip Apr 2024
Paso Robles, California59 contributions54 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid room 421"
Read full review
Andy Sanchez wrote a tip Dec 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The Spa and fire-pit were very relaxing at night before settling down for the evening. Would definitely check them out before you leave."
Read full review
momtraveler123469 wrote a tip Oct 2023
Stockton, California20 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Great staff and location"
Read full review
softballqueen wrote a tip Aug 2023
Sonora, California15 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Read the fine print and know that there are no exceptions!"
Read full review
Sovereign L wrote a tip May 2023
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"The staff was very rude & disrespectful to me,even went so far as to make personal insults. Completely inappropriate! FYI,there's no pool. "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Pacific Grove area.
PRICE RANGE
S$150 - S$328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sea breeze hotel pacific grove, sea breeze motel
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Sea Breeze Lodge
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaMonterey CountyPacific Grove
NUMBER OF ROOMS
40
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MONTEREY PENINSULA INN (S̶$̶2̶5̶6̶) S$232: UPDATED 2024 Motel Reviews, Price Comparison and 234 Photos (Pacific Grove, CA) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Monterey Peninsula Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Monterey Peninsula Inn?
Nearby attractions include 17-Mile Drive (3.7 km), Monterey Bay Aquarium (2.8 km), and Pacific Grove Oceanview Boulevard (0.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Monterey Peninsula Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, a hot tub, and internet access.
Is parking available at Monterey Peninsula Inn?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Monterey Peninsula Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pavel's Backerei, Compagno's Market & Deli, and Fish Hopper.
Are pets allowed at Monterey Peninsula Inn?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Monterey Peninsula Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Cannery Row (3.0 km), Doc Rickett's Pacific Biological Laboratories (2.9 km), and Cooper-Molera Adobe (4.7 km).
Is Monterey Peninsula Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Pacific Grove HotelsPacific Grove Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Pacific GroveHotels near Monterey Peninsula Inn
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire