We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Monterey Peninsula Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Monterey Peninsula Inn
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

484 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 472: English reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Upon arriving at the front desk, we were greeted by a friendly lady who made check in fast and easy. We stayed in room 437. It's downstairs, so we were glad we didn't have to climb the stairs to set up for our stay. First impressions are everything, and this room went beyond our expectations. Nice clean queen beds(we checked)....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elaine B
Modesto, California
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Good location. The staff was helpful and friendly. Room was clean. Had a problem with the pocket door to the bathroom, maintainance came to check it. Hopefully will be repaired. Other than that, would definantly stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank grayson1965
Santa Barbara, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed there for one night. The wall heater didn't work (It looked like someone had been getting rough with it - probably because it didn’t work). After a very busy day, and moving in all my stuff, I just wanted to grab a shower and crash. What I didn't want to have to do was change rooms, or wait to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank profile2017
Victoria A, General Manager at Monterey Peninsula Inn, responded to this review

Dear Profile2017, Thank you for making me aware of the myriad of issues you encountered at our Inn. I was appalled to read this and obviously compelled to research this extremely bizarre untypical experience. Please allow me to start off with my most humble apology to you. As I mentioned, I was compelled to research this situation. Unfortunately, in regards...

Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a problem with our online booking, but the staff was very helpful, especially the general manager Victoria Arroyo. Thanks to her we had a very pleasant experience. When I first saw the layout of the establishment it looked like an old motel from the outside, but the rooms were remodeled and equipped with a refrigerator/freezer, microwave, and coffee...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
Victoria A, Front Office Manager at Monterey Peninsula Inn, responded to this review

Dear Mark L, Thank you ever so much for taking your time to rate and comment on your recent stay with us! We appreciate you acknowledging our very hardworking staff and we are so glad that we were able to rectify any issues you had with your online booking! We hope that we may be able to welcome you back...

fremont, United States
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great service from the reception desk. Bed was very comfortable. Had a room with a gas fireplace, made for a warm and cozy evening. Kitchen was well equipped. Place was very clean. Definitely plan to come back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane C
Victoria A, Front Office Manager at Monterey Peninsula Inn, responded to this review

Dear Jane C., Thank you ever so much for taking your time to rate and comment on your recent stay with us! We are so glad that you enjoyed the amenities provided in your deluxe studio. We hope that we may be able to welcome you back again soon!

Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice place to stay in Monterey for a decent price. We had a 2 queen room with a kitchenette which is always nice when you are on a vacation. When we walked in we were VERY impressed with the fireplace! It was lovely to have a fire going on a cool night in Monterey. We returned from dinner and noticed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank utahsmashley
Victoria A, Front Office Manager at Monterey Peninsula Inn, responded to this review

Dear utahsmashley, Thank you ever so much for taking your time to rate and comment on your recent stay with us! We are so glad that we were able to accommodate you during your time in Pacific Grove! We apologize for the inconveniences you had experienced and we hope that our management team has gotten back to you regarding the...

San Jose, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited on our 36th anniversary. We had a king standard room. Very clean, 2nd easy chair or a small table with two chairs would better then only the one. USB charger on the nightstand is very handy. Bathroom tastefully redone, nice size walk in shower. Efficient staff. Office coffee not till 8am 🙁. Note to management: room 406 front step...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AandNcook
Victoria A, Front Office Manager at Monterey Peninsula Inn, responded to this review

Dear AandNcook, Thank you ever so much for taking your valuable time to rate and comment on your recent stay with us! We are so glad that we were able to accommodate you and your loved one for your 36th Anniversary! We hope that we may be able to welcome you back again soon!

Benicia, California
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

nice room good quiet location, hot tub is very warm, mirror is too low above head board , overall a nice Motel , continental breakfast is good , . I look forward to staying here again, I had a weekday coupon , which is limited , thankyou

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Z5907MDdavidf
Victoria A, Front Office Manager at Monterey Peninsula Inn, responded to this review

Dear Z5907MDdavidf, Thank you ever so much for taking your valuable time to rate and comment on your recent stay with us! We are so glad that you enjoyed your time at our property and hope to welcome you back again soon!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have traveled extensively, in and out of the country, so we have stayed in many different types of hotel rooms. We really love the rooms at the MPI. We were there for a softball camp. It was definitely more than we expected and we plan on staying there again if we are ever in the area. The kitchenette and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank adrian w
Victoria A, Front Office Manager at Monterey Peninsula Inn, responded to this review

Dear Adrian W, Thank you for taking your valuable time to rate and comment on your most recent stay with us. We value your patronage and opinion and hope that we may welcome you back again soon!

Vacaville Ca, United States
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We really enjoyed our 2nd stay here. Customer service was excellent and the staff is very friendly. The rooms are clean and are freshly remodeled, beds are also comfortable. We love the nice quiet location and the close proximity to antique shops. Would definitely recommend this place!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rich W
Victoria A, Front Office Manager at Monterey Peninsula Inn, responded to this review

Dear Rich W, Thank you ever so much for taking your valuable time to rate and comment on your recent stay with us! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope that we may be able to welcome you back again very soon!

132 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (102)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (24)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
0.2 km away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#2 of 17 in Pacific Grove
691 reviews
3.0 km away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.1 km away
Deer Haven Inn
Deer Haven Inn
#5 of 17 in Pacific Grove
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 km away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.1 km away
Rosedale Inn
Rosedale Inn
#9 of 17 in Pacific Grove
348 reviews
1.2 km away
Lovers Point Inn
Lovers Point Inn
#6 of 17 in Pacific Grove
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Monterey Peninsula Inn

Address: 1101 Lighthouse Ave, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2312 (Formerly Sea Breeze Lodge)
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Price Range: $111 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Monterey Peninsula Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Monterey Peninsula Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Breeze Hotel Pacific Grove
Sea Breeze Motel
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Pacific Grove
#5 Family Hotel in Pacific Grove
#5 Business Hotel in Pacific Grove
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Monterey Peninsula Inn staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Lincoln CA
Mandeville, Louisiana
2 months ago
San Francisco, California

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Monterey Peninsula Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“room 437 full kitchen”
 of 5 bubbles , 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Call directly to book your reservation.”
 of 5 bubbles , 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The stand alone suites are the best.”
 of 5 bubbles , 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“'Love the rooms that do no have someone on top. Feels like a little cottage.”
 of 5 bubbles deborahpanelli, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“For the double suite with a fireplace and kitchen, pick the 2nd floor as it has a vaulted ceiling.”
 of 5 bubbles 656francesc, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay