We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Monterey Peninsula Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Monterey Peninsula Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

503 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Monterey Peninsula Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 490: English reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

wotif.com listed property as 4 stars. We booked for 3 people in a king bed room thinking a pull out couch or stretcher would be provided (as previously encountered over previous 3 wks of holiday). Instead the 3rd person had to sleep on the floor on top of blankets. The staff member didn't seem at all concerned about it but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Victoria A, Front Office Manager at Monterey Peninsula Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you ever so much for taking your valuable time to comment on your recent stay with us. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you had encountered as we unfortunately do not offer cots or roll-away beds and it is specified on all third-party booking agencies as well. Our policy is that we assign guests to rooms that...

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 9 September 2016

Nice hotel close to what we had planned to do. Price was very reasonable for the area. Room we had was very nice with the little kitchenette that we were upgraded to. Room was comfortable and clean. Breakfast could be improved a little.Funny to see raccoons sleeping on our 2nd floor balcony at each end.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darrell R
Victoria A, Front Office Manager at Monterey Peninsula Inn, responded to this review

Dear Darrell R, Thank you ever so much for taking your time to comment on your recent stay with us. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your upgraded room as well as our location. We hope that we may be able to welcome you back again very soon!

Los Angeles
Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed at Monterey Peninsula Inn over the Labor Day weekend. By using a discount hotel booking site we paid less than $400 for a 2 night stay over the holiday weekend... which is significantly cheaper than most every other hotel in the area. The rooms are small and basic, but they are clean & comfortable. Mini fridge, microwave, flat...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Biscotti0928
Victoria A, Front Office Manager at Monterey Peninsula Inn, responded to this review

Dear Biscotti0928, Thank you ever so much for taking your valuable time to comment on your recent stay with us. We appreciate your honest review and hope that we may be able to welcome you back again soon! Always make sure to call direct for the best rates and availability!

San Jose, California
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

I really wanted to like this place. It's a cute motel that's been nicely remodeled. The rooms are brand new and very clean. The have kitchenettes and a gas fireplace. So far, so good. The problem though is that how a place looks is only half of the equation. The other half is the experience and here they went the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank baffler
Victoria A, Front Office Manager at Monterey Peninsula Inn, responded to this review

Dear baffler, Thank you ever so much for taking your valuable time to comment on your recent stay with us. Unfortunately, beds are obviously going to vary by hotel as well as each guests bed preference so we try our very best to accommodate everyone's bed preference by getting beds that are not too soft but not too firm. As...

Santa Rosa
Reviewed 25 August 2016

Finding reasonably priced accomodations on the Monterey peninsula can be a challenge. So, I was sort-of happy to find a place that would accommodate our family of four with a dog for under $250 per night. The inn looks like an old-fashioned motor inn. We had a nice second floor room with a kitchen. The beds were comfortable. We didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wildwoodatheart
Victoria A, Front Office Manager at Monterey Peninsula Inn, responded to this review

Dear Wildwoodatheart, Thank you ever so much for taking your time to comment on your recent stay with us! We are so glad that we were able to accommodate your family and your fur-family for a stay at our hotel. We hope to welcome you back again soon for a more pleasant stay. Please call us direct for the best...

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

This is a nice, clean, basic motel. Staff are professional and friendly. Visit happened to coincide with car week and I ended up paying $450 for a night. For a basic motel, muffins and granola bars for breakfast, a noisy fridge that I had to unplug and raccoons running over the roof left me feeling stiffed. Still it was car...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bernard_6012
Victoria A, Front Office Manager at Monterey Peninsula Inn, responded to this review

Dear jhgggiljgsxe8d, Thank you ever so much for taking your time to comment on your recent stay with us. We thank you for acknowledging our very hardworking staff! Unfortunately, due to Pacific Grove being surrounded by trees and lots of wildlife, sometimes one will experience an encounter with squirrels, deer, and raccoons. We do apologize if the noise of the...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed here to get a cabin style experience with more comfort. Close proximity to downtown and Monterey. Bonus was the close proximity to the Point Pinos Lighthouse, an underrated gem in the area. Dog friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jason P
Victoria A, Front Office Manager at Monterey Peninsula Inn, responded to this review

Dear Jason P, Thank you ever so much for taking your valuable time to comment on your recent stay with us. We are so glad that you were able to enjoy one of our rooms as well as the Pacific Grove area. We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon!

Milton, Massachusetts
Reviewed 20 August 2016

Upon check in we were upgraded to a two bedroom cottage with 3 double beds. Needless to say our room was good sized, clean, comfortable great for our one night stay. Location was great as well close to food, shopping and perfect to start our day with the 17 mile drive and then on to Big Sur. Complimentary coffee, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bpetey65
Victoria A, Front Office Manager at Monterey Peninsula Inn, responded to this review

Dear bpetey65, Thank you ever so much for taking your valuable time to comment on your recent stay with us! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in one of our cottages. We hope that we may be able to welcome you back again for an enjoyable stay.

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 16 August 2016

Monterey has some of the most expensive hotels in California. Even Motel 6's and similar level motels charge $150+/night. This motel is pretty standard but it seems to have been recently updated and seems that management puts a lot of effort into keeping it up. With that said, it is still a motel with similar layout as most road-side 70-80's...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank VB_TA_13
Victoria A, Front Office Manager at Monterey Peninsula Inn, responded to this review

Dear VB_TA_13, Thank you ever so much for taking your time to comment on your most recent stay with us at Monterey Peninsula Inn. As you mentioned in your review, the distance from our property to the coast is actually about a 5 minute walk depending on which direction you choose to go. We definitely agree that Passionfish is a...

Reviewed 16 August 2016

The room was nice, a little small. It would have been nice to have some sort of table in the room. We brought breakfast back to the room and didn't have a good place to set out coffee and muffins. Everyone was friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gaia W
Victoria A, Front Office Manager at Monterey Peninsula Inn, responded to this review

Dear Gaia W, Thank you ever so much for taking your valuable time to comment on your recent stay with us! We will definitely forward your request to see if we would be able to fit a table in the rooms without one. We hope that we may be able to welcome you back again soon!

136 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (106)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (24)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
0.2 km away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#3 of 17 in Pacific Grove
696 reviews
3.0 km away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
6.7 km away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
1,543 reviews
1.1 km away
Deer Haven Inn
Deer Haven Inn
#5 of 17 in Pacific Grove
258 reviews
3.3 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Monterey Peninsula Inn

Address: 1101 Lighthouse Ave, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2312 (Formerly Sea Breeze Lodge)
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Price Range: $112 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Monterey Peninsula Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Monterey Peninsula Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Breeze Hotel Pacific Grove
Sea Breeze Motel
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Pacific Grove
#5 Business Hotel in Pacific Grove
#5 Family Hotel in Pacific Grove
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Monterey Peninsula Inn staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Lincoln CA
Mandeville, Louisiana
3 months ago
San Francisco, California

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Monterey Peninsula Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“great homie feel with tv fireplace and kitchen”
 of 5 bubbles jennifervV7888ZS, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Call the Inn directly so they can help you to get the best room for your needs.”
 of 5 bubbles H6983DQkimberlyp, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“A room at the end, which doesn't have neighbors on both sides is much quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles PamelaG950, 28 Jan 2017 | Read review
“tell them in advance if you are bringing your pet”
 of 5 bubbles wailingc2014, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“room 437 full kitchen”
 of 5 bubbles , 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5