We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Spyglass Inn

Visit hotel website
Traveller (451)
360
Panoramas (14)
Video
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Set on Highway 1, this oceanfront inn on Shell Beach is 1 mile from the Palasades Bluff Walkway and 3.3 miles from Pismo Beach. The bright, breezy rooms have flat-screen TVs, coffeemakers and free Wi-Fi, plus minifridges. Renovated just two years ago. Some have balconies or patios and fireplaces. Many rooms with breathtaking ocean views. Amenities consist of an outdoor heated pool, free parking, a restaurant, a 24-hour business center and event facilities.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast Available
Heated pool
Meeting Rooms
Non-Smoking Hotel
Outdoor pool
Wheelchair Access
Show more
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Bay View
Harbour View
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Offers & Announcements:SPRING FEVER CURE 20% OFF
Hotel deals

Location

Full view
55Somewhat walkable
Grade: 55 out of 100
235Restaurantswithin 10 km
58Attractionswithin 10 km
1,308Reviews
934Photos
13Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 654
  • 405
  • 164
  • 51
  • 34
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Very pleasantly surprised by this hotel. For the price, we weren't sure how comfortable it would be but we loved our room. The bed was awesome - very big and really comfortable. The bathroom looked brand new and the furniture was in great shape. They upgraded us at check in so
Read more
Hotel's Favourite
We have been coming here every year the past few years in November and have never been disappointed. Spyglass is right on the ocean in a great area with easy access to the entire SLO, 5 Cities area. Rooms are large, clean, comfortable beds with a great view of the ocean.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from Debbie K, Manager at Spyglass Inn
Responded 29 Dec 2018
Thank you for your repeat visits. We really appreciate it and look forward to your next visit. Your cozy bed is here for you! Debbie Kregar Interim General Manager Spyglass Inn
Read more
The room was especially clean, the location perfect, and the staff at both hotel and restaurant could not have been any nicer or professional! I will stay here on my next California adventure. This place has wonderful waterfront views.
Read more
Response from Debbie K, Manager at Spyglass Inn
Responded 6 days ago
Thank you so much for your feedback and taking the time to share your experience at the Spyglass Inn. We will look forward to your next visit to California! Debbie Assistant General Manager Spyglass Inn
Read more
I had booked the Spyglass Inn as part of a California Coast trip. Unfortunately a power outage in another town and multiple road closures forced us to change plans at the last minute. I had booked Spyglass and understood they had a 48 hr, cancellation policy. I called about
Read more
Response from SpyglassInnGM, General Manager at Spyglass Inn
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi We were so sorry to hear but your unfortunate situation. Thank you for the positive review and we hope you will get the change to visit in the future. Allison Costelow Spyglass Inn in Pismo Beach General Manager
Read more
This was just a wonderful place to stay. It was a spontaneous stop at dusk after traveling through Big Sur. We were exhausted and got lucky there was a vacancy. The front desk personnel were so professional and accommodating.The room was magnificent, clean, big and the beds were
Read more
Response from Debbie K, Manager at Spyglass Inn
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are so happy we were able to have you as our guest at the time you really needed to rest. We hope to see you again in the future. Debbie Kregar Assistant General Manager
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuitePool & BeachDining Family and Play Areas
Photo provided by managementSpyglass Inn
Guest room
Photo provided by managementSpyglass Inn
Guest room
Photo provided by managementSpyglass Inn
Guest room
Photo provided by managementSpyglass Inn
Guest room
Photo provided by managementSpyglass Inn
Guest room
PreviousNext
123456110
We were there in March and were not able to access the beach because of a landslide at the access point. It may be fixed now.
1 vote
Show all answers
We are just 5 miles away from downtown.
0 votes
Show all answers
Hi there, it takes approximately 20 minutes to get to Morro Bay from Shell Beach. If you are looking to spend "pool time" it is far wiser to spend your hotel stay in Shell Beach, where it is less inclined to be foggy. Have a great trip!! *side note... the Inn at Morro Bay is lovely and they do have a bay side pool.
0 votes
Show all answers
no parking fees.
0 votes
Show all answers
Very hard to answer as weather can change daily, bring shorts & a jacket !
1 vote
Show all answers
PreviousNext
123
"they have ocean front. we opted for a room without but had a great little patio to relax on and it was just fine."
"Second floor you have to carry bag"
"You definitively want to get an ocean view room."
"Rooms with the ocean view are worth the extra dollars!"
"Ocean front rooms are worth it!"
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$140 - US$323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
spyglass hotel pismo beach
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaPismo Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
82
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing