We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
100 Stimson Avenue, Pismo Beach, CA 93449
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$239
View deal
Free cancellation until 19/08/22
Expedia.com
US$239
View deal
Free cancellation until 19/08/22
Hotels.com
US$239
View deal
Free cancellation until 19/08/22
TravelocityUS$239
TripadvisorUS$239
eDreams
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (625)
Room & Suite (272)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 07/02/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Sandcastle Hotel on the Beach
Updated 07/02/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#13 of 31 hotels in Pismo Beach
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Why stay near the beach when you can stay on the beach? One of the best features of our Pismo Beach hotel is the oceanfront address, as well as our central location just steps from the Pismo Beach Pier, downtown restaurants, and Oceano Dunes - the only place in California where you can drive on the beach! Enjoy bold, beach vibes during your stay at our oceanfront hotel in Pismo Beach, where you can slip into relaxation mode from the moment you arrive, flip flops optional.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Kids stay free
Children's television networks
Taxi service
Parking
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Bicycles available
Hiking
Bowling offsite
Canoeing offsite
Fishing
Raquetball offsite
Tennis court offsite
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Highchairs available
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
iPod docking station
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Bay View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
1645Reviews26Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 958
  • 431
  • 173
  • 51
  • 32
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Lidia M wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
Great place to stay easy access to beach. Bathroom was tight especially bathing my grandbabies. Got there early and our room was ready so we were able to check in and start our day on the beach. Staff is very friendly and willing to help.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Viv1theWanderer wrote a review Jul 2022
Fremont, California49 contributions20 helpful votes
We visited here for 4 days, and the location is amazing! Walking distance to everything, you rarely have to get your car for anything (which you do have to pay extra to park). They also provide chairs and towels for the beach. On the flip side though, the stay was rather average. The rooms are not too bad but doors are not soundproof and we were woken up by housekeeping or other people talking outside the door. They also skipped room service in the name of covid even though not a single person was wearing a mask.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Anne S wrote a review Jul 2022
5 contributions
+1
My husband and I stayed for a few days at the end of June and had a great time. We were able to upgrade to room 301 before we checked in, and so glad we did. Not sure about some of the other reviews of paying over $500 for a room, but that is definitely not what we paid. The room was large, with fantastic views of the beach and pier. We were next to the outside fire pit area and never heard anything in our room which was great. Staff was super nice and the little food area downstairs was good. Not a ton of options, but was convenient to get a drink/food and sit outside. Everything was clean when we got to our room. The only con we would have is that if you are there for multiple days, you have to ask to get more coffee, etc. for the room and it would be nice if they had a couple water bottles in the room. All and all a good stay for the price and we will be back.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: If you want the best experience, get a room with an ocean or partial ocean view. You will love...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
JC wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
Check in was a breeze and the location is optimal. Just steps away from the pier. We stayed in the building off from the main building. The elevator seemed to be down about a third of the time. The room was definitely showing lots of wear. I texted the front desk that we needed toothbrushes, and they wouldn’t bring them to our room, sec we had to head down to the front desk. Now, the GOOD. Prime location just steps from the pier and beach. The food was terrific from the cafe. The deck with the fire pits was comfy with a great view. Overall good stay, but pricey for what you get.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tricia Eden, Guest Services / Front Office at Sandcastle Hotel on the Beach
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you so much for your positive review! -Tricia Eden, Front Office Manager
Read more
tracywelsh325 wrote a review Jun 2022
Narvon, Pennsylvania33 contributions15 helpful votes
Unfortunately, we were only able to stay at the Sandcastle for one night. It was an amazing hotel, with beautiful oceanfront views, and wonderful front desk staff! Taj greeted us upon arrival with a smile, answered all of our questions, made recommendations for breakfast the next morning, and took time to help us get set up on their complimentary bikes! The beds were so comfy and the rooms were a great size. The kids had smores on the deck while we enjoyed beverages in the evening. If you're in Pismo, stop at The Sandcastle!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tricia Eden, Guest Services / Front Office at Sandcastle Hotel on the Beach
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you so much for your positive review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon. -Tricia Eden, Front Office Manager
Read more
MaryGlendoraCa wrote a review Jun 2022
glendora ca19 contributions25 helpful votes
Average hotel with a way above average price. It was beach front which is really the only thing it has going for it. It was clean, but no comfortable sitting in the room, just a lounge chair that looked like it should be at a pool. Would not go back.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tricia Eden, Guest Services / Front Office at Sandcastle Hotel on the Beach
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you so much for your review! -Tricia Eden, Front Office Manager
Read more
Mayra J wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
My trip to Sandcastle was a dream! We got a ocean front view room and it was absolutely stunning to wake up to. The service was amazing and the room service was great! Definitely satisfied. Definitely staying here another night.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tricia Eden, Guest Services / Front Office at Sandcastle Hotel on the Beach
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you so much for your positive review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon. -Tricia Eden, Front Office Manager
Read more
Sue R wrote a review Jun 2022
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States19 contributions15 helpful votes
We had an amazing stay at the Sandcastle Hotel. The rooms were well appointed, the bed was super comfortable, and the view was just beautiful. Their restaurant called The Deck has very good breakfasts and Bloody Marys. I would like to mention manager James Davison was very professional, well spoken, and super helpful. We wil be back!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Go for the ocean view !
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tricia Eden, Guest Services / Front Office at Sandcastle Hotel on the Beach
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you so much for your positive review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon. -Tricia Eden, Front Office Manager
Read more
Susan C wrote a review May 2022
2 contributions
The room at first glance was great - large, clean, airy, room to move around, etc. Bed was comfortable, windows gave a cross-breeze, air conditioner worked. On second glance, I had some questions: 1) why does the toilet feel like it's from an elementary school? Very low to the ground, nothing to grab onto. 2) shower floor tile is an accident waiting to happen. If you don't use the rubber mat, which is stored under the wash basin, or put down a hand towel, you are going to slip and find yourself unable to get back up with no safety rails nearby. 3) great little coffee maker. Why is the only wastebasket located in the bathroom, 20 feet away? I think some designer got the vibe correct, but the practicalities were overlooked.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: If I wanted to spend a lot, I would have gotten an ocean view room. The prices were kind of high...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tricia Eden, Guest Services / Front Office at Sandcastle Hotel on the Beach
Responded 6 Jun 2022
Thank you for your positive review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon. -Tricia Eden, Front Office Manager
Read more
Fritak wrote a review Apr 2022
Los Angeles, California200 contributions92 helpful votes
This is a nice motel that is located exactly where you'd want to be in Pismo! During our stay, the elevator was broken and my parents had to be moved to a different room. The staff made sure everything was seamless and they actually got a better room! The patio on the sand is where we spent a lot of our time.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: South facing room have a great partial ocean view!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Analeza Cronin, Guest Services / Front Office at Sandcastle Hotel on the Beach
Responded 29 Apr 2022
Thank you for your positive review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon. -Tricia Eden, Front Office Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$263 - US$461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sandcastle hotel pismo beach, sandcastle inn pismo beach, sandcastle pismo beach
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSan Luis Obispo CountyPismo Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
75
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sandcastle Hotel on the Beach
Which popular attractions are close to Sandcastle Hotel on the Beach?
Nearby attractions include Pismo Pier (0.2 km), Harry's Night Club & Beach Bar (0.3 km), and Pismo promenade (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sandcastle Hotel on the Beach?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Sandcastle Hotel on the Beach?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Sandcastle Hotel on the Beach?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Sandcastle Hotel on the Beach?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sandcastle Hotel on the Beach?
Conveniently located restaurants include Old West Cinnamon Rolls, The Oyster Loft, and Splash Café.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sandcastle Hotel on the Beach?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Sandcastle Hotel on the Beach?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Price Anniversary House - Price Historical Park (1.5 km).
Does Sandcastle Hotel on the Beach have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
Is Sandcastle Hotel on the Beach accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.