We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Gold Country Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Gold Country Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

17 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 16: English reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2016

Half the stations on the t.v. Didn't work the room was shabby.It definetly needs some upgrading For the price it was not a good stay .The other hotels in town are less so save yourself some money and go elsewhere

 Report
Helpful?
Thank john m
Garden Grove, California
Reviewed 11 October 2016 via mobile

The Gold Country Inn's brochure states their rooms are "impeccably clean." This is NOT true. My friend and I checked in a bit after 10:00 pm, we settled in, in spite of the few ants in the bathroom, the crushed beer can in the trash bin, the few stray sesame seeds on the end table, and the mold in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CaliMAE2015
Flagstaff, United States
Reviewed 19 September 2016

Great staff and good, safe, basic rooms. This part of town is quiet with a few eateries near for breakfast and the evening meal. The rate was a bit high for the quality but it was a weekend with special events in town.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
Reviewed 8 August 2016

very clean and inviting under new management give this place a chance you will not be disappointed.i will highly recommend this place .you can walk to hangtown from here lots of restaurants around gas station next door perfect location.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mita D
Garden Grove, California
Reviewed 4 July 2016 via mobile

The Gold Country Inn's brochure states their rooms are "impeccably clean." This is NOT true. My friend and I checked in a bit after 10:00 pm, we settled in, in spite of the few ants in the bathroom, the crushed beer can in the trash bin, the few stray sesame seeds on the end table, and the mold in the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank CaliMAE2015
GCI13321340, Owner at Gold Country Inn, responded to this review

respected mam/sir this is the mew owner of GOLD COUNTRY INN I am sorry to see you had a bad experience at this place we would like to change your stay experience with us if given a chance please consider trying us out we are looking forward to have you with us please ask for me when you decide to...

Wailea, Hawaii
Reviewed 8 June 2016 via mobile

This place is,a little rough around the edges but overall for the price the staff was very nice and helpful.adequte accomidations for the price.there,was,some construction that began at 6 am out our window but it was,a,fair deal for the,area,

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hamchr
GCI13321340, Manager at Gold Country Inn, responded to this review

Thank you. Manager.

Kettering, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 January 2016

Disclaimer: I have very simple expectations of a budget hotel. They are the following: -each surface that the guest is likely to touch should be clean -hot and cold water -good water pressure -a/c and heater working -relative quiet -clean bed This motel passes on almost all of the above expectations. Here is where it did not: -one stray hair...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Natasha_Southtown
GCI1332, Manager at Gold Country Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. we share this with our housekeeping staff. Thanks for staying here and glad you had a great stay. Manager...

San Jose, California
Reviewed 26 July 2015

A motel to avoid! The owner has no business running any business. I cannot tell you the quality of the rooms...didn't even make it that far before the police were called. I had reserved a room with two queen beds so my wife, two children and I could stay nearby for a whitewater rafting trip the next day. I searched...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Matt C
GCI1332, Front Office Manager at Gold Country Inn, responded to this review

Dear, Mark You need to disclosed how many people when you book a room . Our web rate is based on people. we keep low rates based on number of persons. You not willing to pay extra for additional person and not disclosing for few dollars that is not a ethical to do. Not telling the truth and you try...

League City, Texas
Reviewed 18 June 2015

Even though a tour bus pulled in for the night as we checked in, the motel was quiet and calm. In the office they even had juice and wrapped Danish the next morning. We found that to be a rare thing during on our visit around California. It was easy in/easy out. It was near a Starbucks, a few restaurants,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
Oakland, California
Reviewed 28 March 2015

Checked in on a Sat. Around 10pm as we were getting ready to go to sleep we heard an ongoing awful racket outside our door. Called the manager (owner?) who said it was probably the air conditioner next door & he wouldn't ask the people to turn it off. About 1:30 AM my partner couldn't sleep & contacted the manager...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Ann S
GCI1332, General Manager at Gold Country Inn, responded to this review

We try to changed there room and they refuse to change room Instead they want desk clerk to call the guest and tell them to turn off there air conditioner in next room. we can not call and ask anyone to turn there A/C or Heater in there room. That is unheard of someone asking to do that. lol So,...

17 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Placerville
5.4 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Placerville Inn
1.8 km away
Historic Cary House Hotel
Historic Cary House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Placerville
201 reviews
2.0 km away
Mother Lode Motel
Mother Lode Motel
#5 of 5 in Placerville
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 2 in Cameron Park
72 reviews
30.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Folsom
20.1 km away
The Historic American River Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Gold Country Inn is located in the heart of Placerville. We offer 45 rooms ranging from singles to small family sized. Ideal for travelers or long term stay. Further up Highway 50 from The Gold Country Inn, you'll find Apple Hill, known for its fine fruit crops, homemade apple cider and fritters. Nestled among the apple orchards are some of California's best wineries. Under new management we look forward to making your stay pleasant. it is under new management now better then before ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gold Country Inn

Address: 1332 Broadway, Placerville, CA 95667-5902
Region: United States > California > Placerville
Price Range: $112 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Gold Country Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Gold Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gold Country Hotel
Placerville Country Inn
Country Inn Placerville
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Gold Country Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Out of old twon and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles michaelsT7791KQ, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“all rooms are clean”
 of 5 bubbles 380mitad, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
“If you have been here before and it wasnt a good experience dont give up. I saw new housekeepers and the owner actually caring about his business. I saw the change for myself. I liked being close to resturaunts and gas stations that was convenient. It wasnt so loud at night either. Everyone diserves a second chance and I am glad I gave them a second chance of me staying there.”
 of 5 bubbles williamD484, 21 Apr 2013 | Read review
3 of 3
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay