We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Bull Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Bull Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

458 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 458: English reviews
Start your review of The Bull Inn
 Click to rate
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed overnight here. Booked a specialty room and were given the lazy cow, great room with lots of space and quirky furniture, and a large bed.Fantastic double shower. We booked evening meal and as it was fairly quiet we ate in the bar area. I had the seabass which was lovely, hubby had the vegi stroganoff which he really enjoyed....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elaine d
Sonia H, Owner at The Bull Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to rate your visit to us. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time at The Bull. We hope to welcome you back soon. Best wishes Sonia and the team at The Bull.

Viera, Florida
Reviewed 1 week ago

Enjoyed an amazing breakfast in the adorable Inn. Our daughter instead that we make the drive from Cambridge for breakfast. Sure glad that we did! Huge portions of traditional English breakfast items. Service was great. It was nice to explore the Inn's common areas.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle F
Sonia H, Owner at The Bull Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to rate your visit to us. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time at The Bull. We hope to welcome you back soon. Best wishes Sonia and the team at The Bull.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

What a lovely little find tucked away on the A11. We had dinner, which was fantastic and a few glasses of wine. Shame we didn't know you did accommodation , as would have loved to stay. Great service and atmosphere. Thanks

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Toby12345678910
Sonia H, Owner at The Bull Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to rate your visit to us. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time at The Bull and look forwards to having you stay with us next time. We hope to welcome you back soon. Best wishes Sonia and the team at The Bull.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I am doing a sponsored walk, St Davids in Wales to Lowestoft and living in a tent and was about to join the A11 my driver popped in to see if he could get us a couple of coffees. He was met with stares and talked down to because of the way he was dressed and when he asked if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rayjden
Sonia H, Owner at The Bull Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for taking your time to score us and write your review. I'm sorry to hear that you were unable to get take away coffee - its simply not a service we provide now or plan to in the future. We are located right by a service station with a take away costa coffee in for delicious take away coffee....

Leyland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

If you like hotels with interesting and unique design then this is for you, my room had a very large and comfortable bed, two large windows with great curtains and a clean and well presented bathroom. The welcome at the reception was warm and friendly, and the whole place has bags of character and charm.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PeterLorrieWillnIzzy
Sonia H, Owner at The Bull Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to rate your visit to us. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time at The Bull. We hope to welcome you back soon. Best wishes Sonia and the team at The Bull.

Beyton
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Mouth wateringly good food beautifully presented, the service was excellent with very attentive, happy staff. The whole place has a lovely atmosphere. It was a beautiful sunny day so spent the afternoon outside on the stylish Patel which is a real sun trap....can't wait to go back again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BeytonBabe
Sonia H, Owner at The Bull Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to rate your visit to us. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time at The Bull. We hope to welcome you back soon. Best wishes Sonia and the team at The Bull.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

First visit was for evening drinks and the food looked so good we went back for a meal one lunchtime. Food lovely, good service, friendly staff and wonderful deserts (see photo!) Outside seating, 5 stars

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
Sonia H, Owner at The Bull Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to rate your visit to us. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time at The Bull. We hope to welcome you back soon. Best wishes Sonia and the team at The Bull.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Staff always polite, friendly and helpful. Haven't had a meal yet, but dishes I have seen, look very appetizing, large portions. Have had coffee and sandwiches which are delicious. Very well located beside A11. Expansive car parking and have seen car park and pub full to capacity. Looking forward to my next visit. 😀

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karatekid18
Sonia H, Owner at The Bull Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to rate your visit to us. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time at The Bull. We hope to welcome you back soon. Best wishes Sonia and the team at The Bull.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I always love going to this place! I went with my two children, 5&9 yr old, and my husband. They only ask that your children do not disturb the atmosphere(say it kindly on bottom of menu). I always get the pan seared sea bass on mashed potatoes in coconut sauce which never disappoints. My husband got the beef stroganoff which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mindy S
Sonia H, Owner at The Bull Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your dinner at The Bull and thank you so much for saying you enjoyed the visit with your obviously well behaved little ones. Its always hard as a business to strike that balance with children policy :-) I have shared your words with...

Suffolk
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If I wanted to play musical chairs with my 86 year old Mother I would have been in luck ...Saturday went into the busy bar for a snack ...saw an empty table so went to sit down - a very brusque lady told us that this was a table for four so if people came we would have to leave...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Odette-Jeremy
Sonia H, Owner at The Bull Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for taking your time to score us and write your review. I'm sorry to hear that you were unhappy - unfortunately you chose to sit on tables that have signs on them saying "reserved for parties of 5 or more". We have lots of smaller tables available to guests but not so many large ones which is why we...

88 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (60)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barton Mills
1.7 km away
Riverside House Hotel
Riverside House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Mildenhall
287 reviews
2.2 km away
Tuddenham Mill
Tuddenham Mill
#1 of 1 in Tuddenham
670 reviews
2.8 km away
Worlington Hall
Worlington Hall
#4 of 5 in Mildenhall
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 km away
Bedford Lodge Hotel
Bedford Lodge Hotel
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
852 reviews
31.1 km away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
16.1 km away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Bull Inn is not a B&B, it’s not hotel, but it is an award-winning boutique and quirky modern day coaching Inn, located near Mildenhall, Bury St Edmunds and Newmarket in the picturesque county of Suffolk. The Inn and its dedicated owners simply radiate character, style and an eccentric passion, which is simply infectious to all those who visit. Think funky and fresh within an amazing 500 year old coaching inn. The owners have created 15 individually designed boutique bedrooms, a 1 AA Rosette Restaurant, cosy pub with great wines, real ales and an open log fire for those cold winter evenings. There is also a fantastic courtyard to while away many a summer's day with family and friends. Improvement and refurbishment never ends at The Bull, with the passionate owners always seeking and trying new, exciting and sometimes crazy ideas! The Bull has a whole wall of accolades to boast including "Best Small Hotel in Suffolk," "Best Freehouse in East Anglia" and "Best Sunday Lunch" to mention a few and the whole business simply oozes character and a unique charm created by the hands-on owners. The team work hard to host events throughout the year, from live music nights, murder mystery dinners, charity evenings, themed Christmas parties and lunches with Santa. This unique destination inn is located in the picturesque village of Barton Mills, just 2 miles from Mildenhall. Barton Mills is just on the edge of Thetford Forest with the towns of Bury St Edmunds, Ely, Cambridge and Newmarket all within a short drive. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Bull Inn

Address: The Street, Barton Mills, Mildenhall IP28 6AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Mildenhall > Barton Mills
Price Range: $153 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bull Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, LateRooms, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bull Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Olde Bull Hotel Barton Mills
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Bull Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Bull Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“go for a feature room - they are extra-quirky!”
debz007, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“steep stairs, small room with an outward sloping floor, heat was difficult to control the heat temperature in the room.”
151brucev, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Close to the bar or the AA van, I love staying in my 'loom' in Thailand, it's so simply wunderbar too.”
  • Before the yellow A.A. bus picked us up.
B5785KTalexb, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Superior rooms slightly larger with quirky themed decor”
lizjc499, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the Gold room.”
722philipb, 24 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5