We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel

Show Prices
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel
BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel
Panoramas (51)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

669 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 634: English reviews
Reno, Nevada
Reviewed 22 December 2016

We took the Amtrak to Sacramento for a girl's weekend and chose Best Western for it's reliability and the nearness to Old Town. We were happy with our room, very clean and lots of amenities. Especially loved the Eucalyptus & Mint soap, shampoo & lotion. You can walk to Old Town via the river walk behind the hotel. The hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank maraeta
General M, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel, responded to this review

Dear maraeta, Thank you so much for this review you have of our hotel. We are so glad to know that you had a great time with us and thank you so much for appreciating our efforts of providing you with clean and comfortable accommodations. Your comments on how we can further improve upon the guest experience are also very...

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 4 December 2016

The staff are nice, check in/out, but it took awhile as only one person behind counter with three people in line. It took 25 minutest to check in. The room I was in was on the back side of the building with a view of a 15 foot dike to stare at right outside the window. I'm glad I came...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank berghuis3
General M, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel, responded to this review

Dear berghuis3, Thank you for your kind comments and review regarding our high standards of cleanliness and hospitality. We are glad that you found the majority of your experience to be satisfactory. Your comments regarding the ways we can still improve are just as important, and we can't wait to show you how we have taken them to heart.

Vista, California
Reviewed 15 November 2016

The location of this property is great, centrally located and adjacent to the river with easy access to downtown. As others have noted, there are a lot of homeless but we found that they keep to themselves. We checked-in on a Thursday afternoon and were give a second floor room facing the parking lot; there was a large tree trimming...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jim B
General M, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel, responded to this review

Dear Jim B, Thank you for submitting your review of our hotel. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best hotel around. Your concerns regarding the level of outdated condition of the facility will be addressed accordingly. Allow me to apologize for any inconvenience these issues may have caused...

Willits, California
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

Needed a place fairly last minute. This was too scary. Breakfast was good if you like to eat in a sauna hot room. Housekeeping and landscapers very noisy. Front desk staff nice and friendly. I intend to never return here.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank joniota
General M, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that you did not have a completely comfortable stay at our hotel we are now informed the management about your concerns. I do thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and I assure you that we are correcting these issues for improved convenience in future visits.

Newberg, Oregon
Reviewed 9 October 2016

We selected this because it's within walking distance of Old Town Sacramento, the place we stopped to see. It's in the old L-shape with outside entrance rooms. While modernized, the rooms of this era suffer from less sound proofing. Lighting is poor. Breakfast is very minimal by today's standards.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scott P
General M, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel, responded to this review

Dear Scott P, Thank you for taking the time to write this review and share your experience and We are happy to hear that you found the location to be so convenient for your needs. We also appreciate your feedback regarding the sound proofing, Lighting is poor, breakfast as this will help us to continue to improve upon the guest...

Tacoma, Washington
Reviewed 30 September 2016

Dunno what so many are whining about. This is a fine hotel. When we rolled in, check-in took all of 5 minutes. Had my key, and off we went. As we were passing through the parking lot, I was wondering how loud it was gonna be at night. The lot was half-full of industrial trucks, so I expected some rowdiness...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank shop99er
General M, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel, responded to this review

Dear shop99er, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We want to apologize for the issues that you experienced, though we are very pleased to hear that our staff was able to make sure that it was promptly addressed and that you were still able to enjoy your stay. We appreciate how you have let us know what areas...

Reviewed 29 September 2016

It took twenty minutes or more to check into the motel.The girl at the front desk was new and she was getting overwhelmed with phone calls and people waiting to be helped.Finally the manager casually came out from the back room and answered the phone.Then another girl came out to help. At 1:30am a crew of fire fighters came in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank john l
General M, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel, responded to this review

Dear john l, Thank you for your review. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced due to the noise level of the hotel. We strive hard to maintain a quiet and family friendly environment, but we can not control the actions of our guests. In the future, please speak with our front desk staff if there is too much noise,...

Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 26 September 2016

The room smelled terribly -- perhaps of insecticide or harsh cleaning products. There were bugs and spiders present in room. Hotel is located in a bad part of town. The designated pet area was not adequate, just a little brick square in the parking lot, with shrubs. Pets were afraid to go near it. I absolutely would not stay there...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank cpender4
General M, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel, responded to this review

Dear cpender4, Thank you for bringing to our attention your experience and comments regarding your stay in our hotel. The room was thoroughly inspected the next morning and no bugs were found and also the room was rented out, with no further bug complaints. I want to assure you that we are thoroughly investigating this claim and that although we...

Lumby, Canada
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed here on the way down to Ontario, California. We stayed our first night on September 19th, the room was nice and clean, the beds where comfortable and the room smelled good, we had 2 dogs with us. The second night we stayed here on the way back from Ontario,California on September 24th and we had a different room,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MountainValleyGirl
General M, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel, responded to this review

Dear MountainValleyGirl, Thank you so much for your kind words regarding the cleanliness and fresh smell of your lodgings. It is very rewarding to hear from you on this matter and we appreciate that you have acknowledged our efforts to provide a clean and comfortable experience. I am glad that we were able to meet your expectations of service and...

Providence, Rhode Island
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

I was quite impressed by the quality for the price. The room was very clean and the quality much better than most budget motels. It was slightly noisy outside in the evening because of some families but not too bad. I only too off one star because I had booked a king size room through a travel agent but was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andy O
General M, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel, responded to this review

Dear Andy O, Thank you for your kind comments and review regarding our high standards of cleanliness and you enjoyed the of our hotel! I do apologize for the inconvenience and misunderstanding that you encountered, though I'm very glad that this did not detract too much from your overall experience. We look forward to showing you how we have learned...

290 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (83)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (32)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (182)
Viewed
Amenities (3)
Viewed
Family Room (24)
Viewed
Handicap One King with Sofa (24)
Viewed
One King with Sofa and Patio (21)
Viewed
Pool (14)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Single Queen (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (14)
Viewed
Two Queens (21)
Viewed
Two Queens with Patio (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
1.3 km away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
0.5 km away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sacramento
0.4 km away
Governors Inn Hotel
Governors Inn Hotel
#16 of 80 in Sacramento
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
7.9 km away
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
#12 of 80 in Sacramento
428 reviews
2.2 km away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 80 in Sacramento
1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel

Address: 236 Jibboom Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Price Range: $129 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Booking.com, Best Western, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sandman Hotel Sacramento
Best Western Sacramento
Sacramento Best Western
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Sacramento
#7 Green Hotel in Sacramento
#13 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#17 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Just don't come here.”
 of 5 bubbles omahaken, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Get a room on the first floor in the back. They are much quieter!”
  • Breakfast Room
 of 5 bubbles teacherkh, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Second floor if on river side or parking lot side.”
 of 5 bubbles berghuis3, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room on the river side.”
 of 5 bubbles 997JimB, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room on the river side.”
 of 5 bubbles Q2749LAscottp, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5