We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Governors Inn Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Governors Inn Hotel
Governors Inn Hotel
Panoramas (43)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

476 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Governors Inn Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 461: English reviews
Eureka, California
Reviewed 4 June 2015

I would give the Governors Inn a 5 but they have one of the worst free "breakfasts" offered and they are letting the outside go. This is our go to stay in Sacramento. And the location is fantastic. A short drive to Old Town, The Capital and fun along the Garden Highway. We usually have a room facing the 5,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank norcalhummingbirds
Governors Inn H, General Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Dear norcalhummingbirds, Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. I am so sorry we did not exceed your expectations on your most recent visit. As a repeat guest, you know we work hard to make sure we provide top notch guest service and keeping our facilities super clean. In terms of the breakfast, we are always reviewing our menu...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 27 May 2015

There are quite a few comparable hotels in the area, but when it comes to the comfort of accommodations v price, this always comes out the ultimate winner. Larger rooms, comfortable beds and very quick check in process make it a winner for me in its class. Although this hotel is not located downtown per se, it's only 10 min...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arkady I
Governors Inn H, General Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Arkady I, Thank you for staying with us at the Governors Inn Hotel. Glad you enjoyed your stay and consider us to be a great value with spacious rooms. We work hard to provide our guests with excellent service and helpful guest services. Thank you!

Medford, Oregon
Reviewed 27 May 2015

The Governors Inn has nearly completed it's total remodel project which has come a long way since our stay here last fall. The new staff is very helpful and quite friendly. The attitude of "good service" is very prevalent with the front desk, but even with the security and maintence personnel also. Traditional continental breakfast complete with waffle maker is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kingfish5050
Governors Inn H, General Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kingfish5050, Thank you so much for your review on Trip Advisor. We are so glad to have met your expectations and glad you like the remodel. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

SLO
Reviewed 21 May 2015 via mobile

I haves stayed here a half dozen times. Very nice facility. Nice, quiet, comfortable rooms. Front desk very friendly. Good value. Staying for business, but why pay the higher prices?? Easy access off I5. Close to downtown, old town, and Arden area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deb L
BelAbri, General Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Deb L, Thank you for staying with us. We are very glad you like our clean comfortable rooms, facility and our staff. We work hard to provide our guests with a wonderful experience and glad we met your expectations!

Tucson, Arizona
Reviewed 20 May 2015

Stayed here twice now. Nothing wrong with this hotel. Hotel is located close to the American Bike Path. Once on bike path you can cycle all over the place. Sacramento is a good bicycle town. I used City Bike Works for my cycling needs when I stayed a week. I did look around for things to gig but they seem...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mark S
BelAbri, General Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mark S, Thank you so much for staying with us during the Amgen bike race. It was a great event here in Sacramento and we are so happy your stay with us was just as grand. Look forward to seeing you again and happy cycling!

Placentia, California
Reviewed 18 May 2015

This was a great deal for the price. The room was clean and the King size bed was comfortable. It was in a nice area, close enough for us to ride our bikes along the American River Bike Way. The con was no protein with breakfast (eggs, bacon, sausage, etc.). For breakfast there was a waffle maker, pastries, cereal, yogurt...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank J P
BelAbri, General Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Dear J.P. Thank you very much for staying with us and glad you enjoyed your stay. We love the bike trial too and with our closeness to the trail many of our guests take advantage of it. In regards to breakfast, it is a basic continental breakfast. At the request of our guests, we did add the waffles a few...

Reviewed 13 May 2015 via mobile

I had a 3rd floor double queen room on the east side of the building.... bed was comfortable, and I liked there was real glassware and coffee cups, as well as a refrigerator, in the room. Breakfast wasn't great but it was adequate, and they served Seattle's Best Coffee, which is my favorite. The pool area is small nice, albeit...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Cindy A
BelAbri, General Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cindy A, Thank you for your kind review on Trip Advisor. Our staff works very hard to make sure our hotel is clean, comfortable and welcoming for our guests. Using the glassware and coffee cups helps us do our part in reducing waste and many of our guests have complimented us for doing so. Glad you enjoyed the Seattle's...

Reviewed 13 May 2015

Stayed a week. Had an issue with the bathroom and needed to ask twice to have it addressed. The attention to detail wasn't as evident this year. The beds were still very comfortable with plenty of pillows. The staff were just as friendly and helpful. Microwave was available to heat up food--outside of breakfast hours. The tea that was available...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tucson_AZAdventurer
BelAbri, General Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tucson_AZAdventurer, Thank you for your return visit. We are very sorry we did not quite meet your expectations on the bathroom issue. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention and have addressed the issue with our staff. It seems we did slip up and are sorry about it. Hopefully all the other good interactions you had with our...

midsouth USA
Reviewed 1 May 2015

I am familiar w/the Sacramento area. I received this room through a discount website & learned its location after purchase. My first reaction was: "Oh no--I'm at Richards Boulevard!" " I reacted that way because of a preference to be mid-town The truth of the matter is I could not have been any happier with my 5 night stay. I...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank SunlovermidsouthUSA
BelAbri, General Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Dear SunlovermidsouthUSA, We are glad you stayed with and appreciated all the staff kudos. We take great pride in serving our guests and am glad you singled them out in your review. Richards Blvd. has been undergoing a huge renovation and change. We have a light rail station, California Lottery Headquarters, the CHP headquarters and North Area Sacramento Police Station...

Eagle, Idaho
Reviewed 28 April 2015

This was a nice find in Sacramento. Beds very comfortable with nice décor. Central location with business amenities. Breakfast is a little thin, but the staff if one of the best I have ever encountered. Tony the manager was very helpful. Shuttle to the airport I a good touch. I will stay here every time I am in Sacramento.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pam D
BelAbri, General Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pam D, Thank you for your review and your HUGE compliment of our staff. We are glad that your stay with us was perfect. See you again.

294 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (94)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (51)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (170)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
King (22)
Viewed
King Studio (23)
Viewed
King Studio with Microwave (25)
Viewed
Pool (11)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Suite (32)
Viewed
The Hotel (23)
Viewed
Two Queens Room (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (7)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Come see our new guest suites, beautiful new lobby decor and spacious breakfast area! The Governors Inn Hotel, a Sacramento Hotel, has just completed phase one and two of a million dollar property renovation. We are thrilled with the beauty and comfort of our complete make over of our guest rooms. You will completely be relaxed and ready for your day after spending a night with us. The beautiful and sparkling lobby area is comfortable for meetings or just relaxing after a busy day. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Governors Inn Hotel

Address: 210 Richards Boulevard, Sacramento, CA 95811-0236
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Price Range: $159 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Governors Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Governors Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governors Hotel Sacramento
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sacramento
#14 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#22 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Governors Inn Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Medford, Oregon
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Governors Inn Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't back on to the Mcdonalds drive thru!”
Jeanwalkwal, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All room doors are inside, thus safe from the many homeless who hang around outside.”
bichonlver, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The hotel is on a busy street just off the freeway, so getting a room in the back is best”
yummyrib, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All are good, McDonalds is next door, so you might want a room away from that, but not too noisy!”
DonnaWolf7, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Get a room on the top floor.”
Sierra_Gray_Wolf, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5