We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Vision Quest Safari Bed & Breakfast

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Vision Quest Safari Bed & Breakfast
Vision Quest Safari Bed & Breakfast
Panoramas (2)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

438 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Vision Quest Safari Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Showing 438: English reviews
San Luis Obispo, California, United States
Reviewed 13 July 2016

This was such a fun place to stay. The "rooms" are actually two room canvass but very comfortable. When the wind blows the canvass does move, but when we were there the winds didn't last very long. The brochure says to turn the heaters on early to warm up the room, but it was not that cold when we stayed....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bob N
Reviewed 1 July 2016 via mobile

Okay, this is an unusually long review for me but I have lots to say... Let me start by saying this was truly a unique experience that is unmatched anywhere in the surrounding areas. We found the B&B on Groupon, but booked over the phone due to lack of availability through Groupon. Unfortunately we were given little information about the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cristina B
Cypress, California
Reviewed 23 June 2016

In passing I saw this place come up on a Groupon site. I thought...what the heck?! I took a screen shot and held on to this little pearl. You see, my daughter is a HUGE fan of elephants. They are her "spirit animal" she claims. So it was only natural for me to surprise her with a "birthday adventure" for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 714CaliGirl
Escondido, California
Reviewed 21 June 2016

We stayed for two days and loved every minute. The bungalows are authentic canvas tents made in Botswana and make you feel like you are on a safari....classy and comfortable! Having the elephants come in the morning to bring breakfast is special enough. We also did the VIP tour and washed Butch and had some really special photos taken. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MMorganCMP
Placentia, California
Reviewed 16 June 2016 via mobile

Very nice weekend getaway! Check in and enjoy the animal tour. Then grab some snacks before heading back to your bungalow for the animal walk. Grab some dinner and enjoy the beautiful sunset on the porch or sitting area. The animals are heard through out the night peaceful way to end the day. Tips: bring slippers, rooms do not have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patricia H
San Francisco, California
Reviewed 15 June 2016

I have so much to say, so bear (intentional pun) with me...... This was a long weekend we will never forget! Headline: You have to stay here if you're an animal lover! Our package included two nights in the Zebra Zone bungalow, Crunch Time, Butch's Bedtime and a VIP Tour. We enjoyed them all! Make sure to check in by...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Caitlyn C
LaCrescenta
Reviewed 11 June 2016 via mobile

We are a family of four and stayed one night in tent 5 and 8. Both were clean on arrival and beds were comfortable. The night was chilly but the heaters in the tent worked well and we slept great. Lions could be heard throughout the night and that was neat. The elephant delivery was fun but rushed,I felt. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Daysie2300
California
Reviewed 6 June 2016

If you look at this place as a zoo with a B&B, you'll conclude the zoo is a little weak. But if you look at this place as a B&B with lots of exotic animals, it's truly awesome, and the experience will blow your mind! I can't recommend coming here just to do the zoo, but I can STRONGLY recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jim_and_Barbie
Santa Barbara, California
Reviewed 10 May 2016

We had a reservation, but, had to cancel due a sudden illness with my wife. I understand the "strict cancellation policy"; exceptions are always made, depending on circumstances. We were not seeking a refund, just a different date. Staff was less - far less than accommodating and empathetic. We applaud their vision; we turn our noses at being so "firm"...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank O4257LWdave
FromOurManagement, Owner at Vision Quest Safari Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

As this individual clearly states that they “understood our strict cancelation policy”, asking us to ignore it seems a bit unfair. Unfortunately for those who are truthfully suffering from such circumstances, we have found that over 80% of those asking us to waive our cancelation policy state the same reason while 10% are dealing with a death in the family...

Reviewed 2 May 2016

This is my first ever trip advisor review although I use it to do research all of the time. I just had to for this B&B. This place is amazing! Touching an elephant was on my boyfriend's bucket list and feeding tigers was on mine so we just had to experience this place. The grounds are well kept, clean and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Queen E

576 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (428)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (55)
Viewed
Dining (34)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (243)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (129)
Viewed
Amenities (17)
Viewed
Dining (44)
Viewed
The Hotel (24)
Viewed
The Little Big Cat House (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salinas
15.5 km away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
278 reviews
8.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salinas
26.5 km away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.4 km away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
802 reviews
26.1 km away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
1,604 reviews
24.0 km away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Listen to the lions and tigers roaring only yards away from your authentic African style bungalow...go on an African Safari in Monterey! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Vision Quest Safari Bed & Breakfast

Address: 400 River Rd, Salinas, CA 93908-9627
Region: United States > California > Salinas
Price Range: $302 - $386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Vision Quest Safari Bed And Breakfast
Vision Quest Safari Hotel Salinas
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Vision Quest Safari Bed & Breakfast staff and other travellers.
17 questions
Ask a question
Sacramento, California, Usa
over a year ago
over a year ago
28 days ago

See all questions (17)

Questions? Get answers from Vision Quest Safari Bed & Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“bungalows 3 and 4 have great views of the play yard”
 of 5 bubbles chrissi1822, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask staff or check the map to see which area you want to be near. The online map is very accurate as far as bungalow placements go”
 of 5 bubbles heidif403, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Our cabin/tent had a view of the elephant, water buffalo, zebra, and ostrich area.”
 of 5 bubbles Judybu, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All tent cabins have an excellent view of the elephant area.”
 of 5 bubbles 716jar, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in the bear's den, which had 2 double beds and was very roomy for 2 people”
 of 5 bubbles 986jennd, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5