We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

BEST WESTERN Salinas Monterey Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Salinas Monterey Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

227 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN Salinas Monterey Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 202: English reviews
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2015

Stayed here for just one night on the way to the Central Coast of CA. Excellent location just off the 101 corridor (makes it perfect for road trips coming through here). For a Best Western property, rooms looked dated and breakfast offerings were disappointing. Wifi worked well, room was clean, etc. Staff was cheerful. Felt safe, etc

Helpful?
Thank Travel_Greener
Peter P, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Salinas Monterey Hotel, responded to this review

thank you for taking the time to review our property. It is always good to hear from our guests both positive things and areas that we can improve on. I am glad you stayed with us and would love the opportuity to provide you with excellent customer service in the future. Once again thank. Melinda More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 November 2015

Too shorten the distance from Los Angeles to San Francisco we had planned to stay one night in the Monteray area, but all hotels along the coast were filled up. This hotel was a positive experience and also the town of Salinas. Although close to highway and Mc Donald we were not disturbed by any noise.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Martin M
Peter P, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Salinas Monterey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Martin M Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I do remember you and it was a pleasure to meet you and we hope to see you again one day. thank you Melinda More 

Logan, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2015

The hotel was nice. The room was acceptable and the beds were very comfortable. That is what I expect from this chain. The cost was much more than I expected and did not like the cost that we paid. This hotel should not have cost anymore than $150 per night. The staff was very professional.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Stefaine C
Peter P, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Salinas Monterey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear stefaine, thank you for the review. it is nice to hear you like the accommodations. I am sorry that the price was not to your liking. I would like to research why it was that expensive. Was it a special event weekend? please feel free to call me directly so we can discuss this further. thank you once again.... More 

Roseville, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2015

Our family had two rooms and all felt this hotel was perfect. Rooms were spacious, very clean, and comfortable. Staff were helpful and definitely cared about the comfort of the guests. I would highly recommend this room to others and will be staying there again when visiting the area.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank pal0810a
Peter P, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Salinas Monterey Hotel, responded to this review

I want to thank you for the awesome review. Yes we do care about our guests and their comfort and go out of our way to provide each guest with exceptional service. It will be a pleasure to have you come and stay with us again one day. thank you melinda More 

La Quinta, United States
1 review
Reviewed 16 October 2015

Truthfully, we picked this hotel because of the price of the hotels in Monterey were nearly twice as much. Our time was spent in Monterey. We just started the program Best Western has so this was the reason we picked this particular hotel. We needed to stay two nights & the location was perfect for the freeway & Highway 68.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Gail K
Peter P, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Salinas Monterey Hotel, responded to this review

dear gail, thank you for the review. I am happy to hear you joined the best western rewards program. I think you will like it. The points never expire and we offer great promotions. we hope to see you again one day. melinda More 

York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2015 via mobile

Nice BW! Great, helpful staff. Nice size room with comfortable beds. Room negative - terrible shower. Toiletries were just okay. Breakfast was adequate. We like oranges and English muffins, which they did not have. They did have hard boiled eggs. Can't please everyone with breakfast. Also had USA today which we always enjoy when traveling. Hotel had a large swimming... More 

Helpful?
Thank Trawlergirl
Peter P, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Salinas Monterey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear travelergirl, wow that was an great review. We do thank you for taking the time to write it. I am happy to hear that you had a good stay and we do hope you will come back one day. Thank you Melinda More 

Twain Harte, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2015

Nice, clean, up-to-date hotel with comfortable beds and nice linens. No noise from other rooms. Only "issue" during 3-night stay was freeway noise. Not much the hotel can do about that. Continental breakfast was good - average for this level hotel.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank KnowsWhatSheLikes
Peter P, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Salinas Monterey Hotel, responded to this review

Valencia, thank you for the review, and thank you for allowing us to serve you. We hope you will come back and stay with us again in the future, Melinda More 

Paso Robles, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2015

Room face McDonalds drive through was noisy. Room itself was nice and clean. Front Desk Manager was rude and almost turned me away when I did not have a credit card even though I had cash to leave for a deposit and am a Diamond with Best Western. So this kind of left me with a bad impression. The price... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer W
Peter P, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Salinas Monterey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jennifer thank you for the review. Per hotel policy we do not accept cash at check in and we require a credit card present. this protects the hotel and more importantly our guests. If You would like to discuss this further please do not hesitate to contact us. We thank you for staying with us and hope to see... More 

Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2015

Beautiful room, very large, staff not over friendly , seemed like a chore to serve us, they said that we had $$ still too pay until i showed them my receipt of what i printed off at home and they agreed that there was no more payment. They give you a card to put in your car to show that... More 

Helpful?
Thank james f
Peter P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Salinas Monterey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear James first i want to apologize for the misunderstanding on your payment. I thank you for taking the time to review our property. If you would like to discuss your stay further please contact me directly at (831)784-0176 and ask for Peter. We hope you will consider giving us another try to provide you with excellent customer service. More 

Orinda, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2015

Happy to find fridge and microwave. Very comfortable bed. Near freeway but quiet. Efficient air conditioning. Two luggage carts available. Good lighting for reading. Safety bars in tub. Clean and spotless.

Helpful?
Thank ankplasma
Peter P, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Salinas Monterey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear plasma_9 Wow !! Thank you for the great review, i do thank you for it. We do work hard to provide our guest with a clean and comfortable room. It is nice to be appreciated. I do hope that you will come back and visit us again one day. Thank You Melinda More 

27 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salinas hotels
1.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salinas
0.1 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Salinas Valley Inn & Suites
0.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salinas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Super 8 Salinas
Super 8 Salinas
#3 of 26 in Salinas
157 reviews
1.4 km away
Howard Johnson Inn Salinas
3.2 km away
Residence Inn Salinas Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Salinas Monterey Hotel

Address: 175 Kern Street, Salinas, CA 93905-2016
Region: United States > California > Salinas
Price Range: $146 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Salinas Monterey Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Salinas Monterey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Salinas
Salinas Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Salinas Monterey Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try obtaining rooms away from the front of the highway noise due to early morning traffic that starts at 5:00am”
 of 5 bubbles Z4342UAjoem, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“My room was facing the street and I wasn't bothered by noise at all.”
 of 5 bubbles jredcon, 21 Apr 2016 | Read review
“This Hotel is next to a freeway and has 3 levels so reserve a room up high and facing the street.”
 of 5 bubbles rgNjg60, 8 Apr 2016 | Read review
“ask for the room with microwave and fridge ....massive”
 of 5 bubbles 69jamesf69, 4 Oct 2015 | Read review
“I am not sure there are any”
 of 5 bubbles Z_Yosibash, 26 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay