We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hyatt Place San Jose\/Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

750 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 727: English reviews
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Located quite accessibly for San Jose airport and the surrounding area, the hotel was nice enough. The room was perfectly functional. I stayed for three nights and although the lifts had crumbs all over the floor, I did happen to stay when there was a big group of kids so the noise, rubbish in the hallway and dirty lifts may...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Corinne F
Michael L, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Corinne F, thank you so much for staying with us during your recent visit to Downtown San Jose. While 'average' is a good baseline, we are disappointed your experience was not 'exceptional'. Even though the hotel was busy during your stay it is no excuse for excess disturbance and we will look at our staffing levels over periods like...

Raleigh NC, United States
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Q4572EEmichaelf
Michael L, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown, responded to this review

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed at the Hyatt Place San Jose for three nights. It's a nice hotel situated in downtown San Jose. Staff are friendly and helpful. Restaurants and bus / tram stops are within walking minutes. + clean and modern rooms + I highly appreciated the separation of the "living room" area and sleeping area, it gives the room a spacious...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jan R
Michael L, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown, responded to this review

Thanks for the detailed review, Jan R, and for staying with us for your recent visit to Downtown. These large and very comfortable rooms are one of the best reasons to stay with us, along with the delicious complimentary breakfast and friendly team you also mentioned. While hotel prices for our enjoyable Downtown area have grown with the level of...

Manassas, United States
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
Michael L, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown, responded to this review

Santa Rosa, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Receptionist was responsive and friendly, service as expected. We were first put in an awful tiny room with a handicapped shower stall overlooking the lobby roof, called the desk and were put in a slightly better small room. The bathroom door was broken and did not open or close properly at all, the shower was terrible it sprayed everywhere and...

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Twitterpated3535
Michael L, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Twitterpated3535, thank you for staying with us recently and for using your first Tripadvisor review to share your feedback. We are sorry to see you did not receive the room type of your preference for such an important weekend and that there were issues with your room; this is inexcusable. We can understand the irritation with this and are...

Anaheim, California
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Okay, I get it -- you're downtown!! Yaaaay You! But $26 bucks PER NIGHT for parking?? You're kidding, right? I expect to pay that much for downtown LA, but San-freaking-Jose?? ...and then there's the 'tude from the front desk... Our flight was cancelled, so we naturally headed back to that hotel...except the front desk was waaaaay too cool to do...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arlene744
Michael L, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Arlene744, thank you for staying with us while your travels brought you through San-freaking-Jose. We are so disappointed to see that a cost for parking had this kind of impact on your perception of our hotel. We can share confidently that we are the lowest price for Downtown hotel parking. We wish we did not have to charge and...

Reno, Nevada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The location for access to the Convention Center is great. The other bonus for this property is that a full large breakfast bar is available, especially great for the kids. On the down side, we booked a king/sofa bed room but it was unavailable when we checked in because the recent storms flooded the rooms. That was fine, I get...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wayne M
Michael L, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Wayne M, thank you and your family for staying with us during the record setting storms. We appreciate your patience and flexbility in finding you an alternative room and I am pleased to see the team took care of your parking charges for the inconvenience. Hopefully our king bedded rooms having a queen size pull-out sofa sufficed for your...

Hollister, California
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Everything was great. Minus the 26 Dollar parking Killer breakfast Clean room Clean shower and toilet Our view was really nice from the 6th floor. Bar stops serving alcohol 12:30 so that's a plus. Bar food was delicious too.

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank FeoMalcriado
Hollister, United States
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My stay was great! I love the free breakfast at the hotel. It saves you the hassle to have to find a restaurant. The food options were perfect choices for me and my family. It was walking distance to the SAP center, which is why we stayed there in the first place.

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank patriciabD2175MI
sacramento, United States
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank karenjH4592LY
Michael L, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown, responded to this review

139 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (128)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (56)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.4 km away
Fairmont San Jose
Fairmont San Jose
#6 of 76 in San Jose
2,068 reviews
0.4 km away
Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown
0.1 km away
Hilton San Jose
Hilton San Jose
#8 of 76 in San Jose
1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hotel De Anza
Hotel De Anza
#7 of 76 in San Jose
579 reviews
0.2 km away
San Jose Marriott
San Jose Marriott
#4 of 76 in San Jose
915 reviews
0.3 km away
The Westin San Jose
The Westin San Jose
#18 of 76 in San Jose
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In the heart of Downtown San Jose, Hyatt Place is your choice for uncomplicated travel. A short walk to craft beer and hip dining destinations with our own food options available 24/7. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown

Address: 282 Almaden Blvd, San Jose, CA 95113-2003 (Formerly Convention Plaza Hotel)
Region: United States > California > San Jose
Price Range: $208 - $633 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 234
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza San Jose
San Jose Crowne Plaza
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in San Jose
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Cairo, Egypt
over a year ago
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“High floor facing the conference center.”
 of 5 bubbles 687peters687, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Stay out of the City Center altogether!”
 of 5 bubbles Arlene744, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a North facing room to reduce the street noise.”
 of 5 bubbles 335waynem, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Upper floor for great downtown skyline view”
 of 5 bubbles DiRider, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“For a quieter stay, choose a higher room on the back side away from the light rail.”
 of 5 bubbles Emley, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5