We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Fairmont San Jose

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
The Fairmont San Jose
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,994 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,913: English reviews
Louisiana
Reviewed yesterday NEW

This hotel is first class and lovely. We stayed in a suite and it was roomy and luxurious with walk in closet, living/dining area and large bath with tub and shower. The property is gorgeous with rooftop pool, shopping and restaurant. Would definitely stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jcgtune
Highlands Ranch
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here over the weekend for the PAC-12 Championship game. Hospitable staff, clean rooms, and large bathrooms. The rooms and general public areas are outdated and in need of refreshing but it's not a deal breaker. Great location as there are many shops and restaurants around.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tboz1976
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Ok, so I read another review here on TA stating that there was no hot water, but I really couldn't believe that was possible at a 4 star hotel......well, it's possible! I'm ok with the rooms being dated (which they are), but not having hot water for a shower is where I have to draw the line (I mean do...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Geoff F
FairmontSanJose, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review

Dear Geoff, Thank you for your post. Clearly we missed the mark for you this stay and I am very sorry about that. We strive to create an exceptional experience in every area and I regret that we did not succeed for you. Please rest assured that we do read all posts and have shared your feedback with our engineering...

Santa Fe, New Mexico
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Great location: close to airport (only $8 Uber ride!) and walking distance to restaurants, museums, etc. Friendly accommodating staff. Beautiful hotel, especially beautiful, spacious suite. We were at a conference and had a very good deal on our room. We enjoyed excellent room service. Didn't like the sushi at the lobby sushi bar. Restrooms in the public areas could use...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank janet m
FairmontSanJose, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review

Dear Janet, Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Fairmont San Jose during the conference you attended. We are thrilled you enjoyed such wonderful service and the hotel’s convenient location. We are surprised and apologize that you did not enjoy your sushi meal but thank you for your feedback. We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming...

Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

I made a reservation through Priceline that says check in Right now after midnight Saturday 12/3 and checkout Sunday 12/4. I arrive at the hotel at about 12:30am. The lady helping me at the front desk tells me that although my reservation says check in right now that I actually cannot check in right now. She tells me I either...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniel E
FairmontSanJose, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review

Dear Daniel, We are terribly sorry to read of your experience at check-in and for the wait time. We will be sure to address this with our front office team, as we take great pride in delivering extraordinary, timely service to our guests and are very sorry that we missed the mark. Thank you again for bringing this to our...

Atlanta, GA
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Generally the hotel and staff were great. Location was wonderful with tons of good local places nearby to eat and shop. I had traveled from the east coast so i was an early riser the first morning - no hot water. Maybe I was just up too early and the really hot water was not available. Waited until a normal...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wandere1963
FairmontSanJose, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review

Dear Wandere1963, Thank you for taking the time to share your post. We are terribly sorry to read of your experience with your in room shower and the water temperature. Thank you for working with our management team and we apologize for any inconvenience you experienced. We will be sure to follow up with our engineering team to ensure the...

Atlanta
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Fairmont is a charming hotel. Was in 1919 which had an excellent view of the mountains. Was able to watch the super moon rise up from them from my room. The bed was comfortable with soft sheets and a variety of pillows which made sleeping easy. The room was quiet and laid out well. Wireless access was fast and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jdrankos
FairmontSanJose, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review

Dear jdrankos, Thank you for choosing Fairmont San Jose. We are pleased to read that your business travel and stay experience were exceptional and your conference was a success. We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again. Warmest Regards, Marketing & PR Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago

Common areas are sufficiently chain-hotel opulent, but the room itself was in need of refurbishment; no frills; no airport shuttle; vintage tankless toilet with pull handle; the shower needed regrouting; no kleenex in the room; power strip is an add-on on the floor rather than built-in, etc; guests are auto charged for even moving things in the fully stocked minibar:...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kris S
FairmontSanJose, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review

Dear Kris, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are glad to read that our staff was able to provide the accommodating service that we strive to deliver, however apologize that your disappointments overshadowed this. We sincerely apologize that you were not made aware of our restocking fee as this is a hotel policy. Thank you...

Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely hotel. Stayed in the Campbell Suite. Large room overlooking the pool but a bit outdated. Faucet in bar sink was loose as well as the shower. Furnishings are worn as well as carpet and draperies. One fabulous amenity was the flat screen television imbedded in the bathroom mirror. Room service was poor as well as the quality of food....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shirley F
FairmontSanJose, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review

Dear Shirley, Thank you for your post. While we are pleased that you found the television amenity to be of great value, we are sorry that you did not find such success with other aspects of your stay. We do appreciate you bringing these concerns to our attention however, and will ensure that this is discussed with our team so...

Anaheim, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

As a premier member of the Fairmont Hotel's loyalty club I thought there might be some benefits. I was wrong. Checking in I asked what amenities were available. The reception clerk looked at me and said will we have a restaurant and a spa. I asked do we qualify for a room upgrade. She said let me look. Then she...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Burnie D
FairmontSanJose, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review

Dear Burnie, Thank you for bringing your experience to our attention. We offer our sincerest apologies as we value your patronage and sincerely appreciate you being a premier member of our Fairmont President’s Club. We have made sure to place your preference for two bottles of water, q-tips and newspaper in your profile and reservation so we may be sure...

414 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (406)
Viewed
Room/Suite (95)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Viewed
View from Room (39)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Other (155)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.3 km away
San Jose Marriott
San Jose Marriott
#5 of 75 in San Jose
885 reviews
0.1 km away
Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown
0.5 km away
Hotel De Anza
Hotel De Anza
#7 of 75 in San Jose
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hilton San Jose
Hilton San Jose
#10 of 75 in San Jose
1,023 reviews
0.3 km away
The Westin San Jose
The Westin San Jose
#22 of 75 in San Jose
106 reviews
10.0 km away
Dolce Hayes Mansion
Dolce Hayes Mansion
#3 of 75 in San Jose
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Refined elegance and sophistication flow into each of the 808 well-appointed non-smoking deluxe guest rooms and suites at The Fairmont San Jose. Located near Silicon Valley in Northern California, this 20-story two tower masterpiece caters to discerning and well-traveled business professionals who expect impeccable quality from their accommodations. Meeting and conference rooms in our San Jose hotel are equipped to handle functions from exquisite receptions to multimedia presentations. Pamper yourself in the luxurious Tova Day Spa where you can relieve the stresses of the 21st century or simply enjoy a quick mani-pedi. A short drive will take you to more than 60 wineries in the Santa Cruz Mountain Appellation, as well as the famous Monterey Peninsula golf courses. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Fairmont San Jose

Address: 170 S Market St, San Jose, CA 95113-2360
Region: United States > California > San Jose
Price Range: $231 - $695 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Fairmont San Jose 4.5*
Number of rooms: 808
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Fairmont San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont San Jose Hotel San Jose
Fairmont San Jose
San Jose Fairmont
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Jose
#2 Family Hotel in San Jose
#3 Business Hotel in San Jose
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Fairmont San Jose staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from The Fairmont San Jose staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Well, don't choose room 823- no hot water!”
 of 5 bubbles geofff658, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“ask for one that has hot water.”
 of 5 bubbles Wandere1963, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The South Tower rooms are nice and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles 674julietg, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Best hotel in San Jose”
 of 5 bubbles KarenandScott, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get an upper flow. Lower levels very busy. Bring your own Internet access.”
 of 5 bubbles TonyD_80202, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay