We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort & Spa

Save
Share
1215 Avila Beach Dr, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405
Book now! This hotel is likely to sell out soon.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
eDreams
Booking.com
Lol.travel
View all 5 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (456)
Room & Suite (127)
Pool & Beach (19)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Contactless check-out
Updated 15/07/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 15/07/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#12 of 33 hotels in San Luis Obispo
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Our Avila Beach spa resort provides a variety of rejuvenating amenities and services that allow you to leave stresses and distractions behind while opening the mind and body to pure engagement with our healing atmosphere. The entire resort is inspired by the on-site mineral spring water. These waters provide an authentic mineral spring experience with the power to transform your body and awaken your soul.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Highchairs available
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Hot spring bath
Massage
Neck massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shops
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Bottled water
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mountain View
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
3842Reviews15Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,674
  • 1,091
  • 592
  • 306
  • 179
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Tib666 wrote a review 5 Sep
Sebastopol7 contributions11 helpful votes
The Sycamore is great. It is super well maintained and the staff is extraordinarily friendly and helpful. We were in a queen suite that was very spacious, very clean and had been recently redone with new floors and bathroom tiles. It is so convenient having a private hot mineral tub right on your deck. You can adjust the temp yourself, do so carefully because the hot is very hot and should be mixed with the cold. The resort also has a large warm pool open that's a nice place to relax. Another big plus is the restaurant, it is the best in town that we found. It has two outdoor sections one in front and another in back so take your pick. There are some vegan options on the menu too. The bar has a good selection of beer and wine and makes good cocktails. Some people come just to eat at the restaurant. There is other stuff to do. Some nights there is free live music in the Secret Garden over the bridge, don't miss it. It's a very nice spot, beer and wine are available. The trail into Avila beach is by the Secret Garden and the hotel rents bikes. They are cruiser type bikes but perfectly fine for the short flat ride into town although serious cyclists planning longer trips should bring their own. There are some excellent hiking trails up the hill toward the ocean - not too long but very steep and well worth the effort.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: 2nd floor may be quieter. There is a wide range of rooms available in several buildings.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sycamore Management, Guest Services / Front Office at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort & Spa
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for sharing your review. We appreciate all the wonderful things you had to say about us! We are truly a unique little gem and we're happy we were able to share it with you.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Takako S wrote a review Aug 2022
San Carlos, California35 contributions2 helpful votes
My review is strictly for our 2-night stay at a two-bedroom Jr. suite in August 2022. It was our third time in this suite and was wonderful once again. Our favorite feature is the patio with a large soaking tub which is very spacious and comfortable for four adult females. We soak day and night for hours so "fill it yourself" tub was great. This year we noticed that bathroom amenities are updated with environmental friendliness in mind. We certainly support this, however, some items weren't refilled. We also had to request a microwave oven although it was confirmed the suite was equipped with it. Our stay required some attention but all of our requests were responded very quickly with warm welcoming feel. All staff members we interacted were very nice and helpful. Another thing we noticed was that the furniture arrangement (mainly in the living room) was slightly different from the website photo and from our previous stays. We actually enjoyed it as all essential items were still there, but for first-time guests it may be taken negatively. Two things we'd like to see improved by next stay are more balanced Keurig pods offer (there was only decaf breakfast blend), and wine glasses in the room. We just got back and are already thinking about the next visit. Thank you!!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Two-Bedroom Jr. Suite is excellent for a small group of friends. I can't tell for other rooms.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sycamore Management, Guest Services / Front Office at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort & Spa
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you so much for this review! We are thrilled you're already thinking of your next visit!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cathylest wrote a review Aug 2022
Ojai, California7 contributions3 helpful votes
Customer service is perfect! The setting is 10 stars- beautifully attended gardens. It is a perfect place to rest and recharge during these fraught times. I took my daughter for her birthday and the trip ended up being a gift for both of us. The excellent food was the frosting!!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sycamore Management, Guest Services / Front Office at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort & Spa
Responded 4 weeks ago
What an absolutely lovely review. We so appreciate it! Thank you for your valued feedback and we hope to serve you again whenever your travels bring you back to San Luis Obispo.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Katharina C wrote a review Aug 2022
Villa Park, California1 contribution1 helpful vote
Location was beautiful and although room was comfortable the room needed some TLC. The spa jets did not work, the coffee maker was dirty and one of the wine fridges made a clicking noise which we thankfully couldn’t hear in the bedroom. The office staff was very friendly and we got a cleaned coffee maker but it still was dirty (not as bad). I would consider returning to the area but perhaps try another location since the price of the room wasn’t cheap.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sycamore Management, Guest Services / Front Office at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort & Spa
Responded 19 Aug 2022
I feel disappointed after reading this and would love an opportunity to connect with you to discuss your stay in more detail. If you have an opportunity to give me a call at the hotel I would very much appreciate that. I am always looking for ways in which we can improve. I ask that you give us another chance to host you in the future so that we can deliver a stay that is nothing short of stellar. - Kimberly Pelmont - Director of Front Office
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Celeste L wrote a review Aug 2022
San Clemente, California1 contribution
This is the most relaxing and romantic place for a short trip! The private hot tub in your own patio is a wonderful experience and a great treat for couples. You will have a very comfortable room with a nice bed and a bathrobe provided for your use.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: The Harmony section is ideal!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sycamore Management, Guest Services / Front Office at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort & Spa
Responded 5 Aug 2022
Thank you Celeste! We look forward to welcoming you back to Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort the next time your travels bring you back to the beautiful Central Coast!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lisa.gonzalves wrote a review Jul 2022
Alameda, California22 contributions5 helpful votes
I was really looking forward to my stay here, but was disappointed in the experience. We stayed in a motel king, which was a bit run down. While the patio hot tub was great (!), the walls were really thin (it sounded like the folks upstairs were stomping around, when I'm sure they weren't) and we could here too much of what was happening next door. The bathroom had stains, and the framed pictures on the wall were crooked (and a little investigating showed the hooks were falling out of the walls). We e also tried the hillside hot tubs (rentals by the hour), but the chlorine was really overwhelming, making it a slightly painful experience. That said, all of the staff were super friendly and professional, and the swimming pool was lovely!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Sycamore Management, Guest Services / Front Office at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort & Spa
Responded 1 Aug 2022
Thank you Lisa for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We have a wide variety of room types all having mineral spring hot tubs. We are required to treat the water on the hot tub hill as per county requirements. I am very sorry that the room product was not up to par. I will make sure we address the issues you have mentioned. If you would be so kind and email me the room number or the confirmation number if you have it; and we will address the issues you mentioned. I can be contacted at drhutt@smsr.com. Yours, Dean
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Yvonne H wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
When we arrived Sycamore, we really enjoy the environment and the serenity. Feeling peaceful and relaxing. Having a private tub in the room is nice and convenient. As much as all the positive feeling, the bathroom is very tiny. Worse yet, our sleep were disturbed by neighbors upstairs having active activities very late at night and in morning, so loud that waking me and my husband up. If not for that sleep disturbance, we would have a happy memory from the stay. The staff who helped us check out did not ask our experience. She was nice though in giving us a few bottle of water to keep us hydrated for our next journey.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Avoid first floor
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sycamore Management, Guest Services / Front Office at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort & Spa
Responded 18 Jul 2022
Thank you for your honest review- I'm sorry to hear of the restless night! We do have a team at the front desk at all hours to address any noise issues that arise during your stay as we do have quiet hours that need to be respected for the comfort of all our guests. We also strive to provide the highest level of customer service, so while I'm glad you were offered water for the road, I'm sorry you didn't feel taken care of prior to your departure. Feel free to contact me at djarvis@smsr.com if you want to share additional information about your visit- I'm here to listen and help as best I can. Devin Jarvis Guest Services Manager Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Scott W wrote a review Jul 2022
Katy, Texas26 contributions35 helpful votes
I would not recommend this "resort" based on my experience or the cost. I put "resort" in quotations here because our stay here certainly did not give us the impression that this was a resort at all. Sycamore Mineral Springs was the last stay in a four day trip down the PCH from San Francisco. We stays at three other boutique type hotels along the way and had a wonderful experience at each. We paid the most money and expected the best experience on our final night here. It was not that at all. Upon arrival, I checked in about 3:15pm. When I got to the desk a young lady who was leaning back in a chair informed me that rooms weren't ready and that she would check me in but I needed to wait until they paged me because "nothing was guaranteed until 4pm." She proceeded to take my credit card and said "see you later." There was no offer of options while we waited or possible activities that we might be able to do to, any kind of apology for the room not being available or even a Thank You. So my wife and I found a bench outside and waiting about 3:45 my phone goes off and I walk back into the lobby. The same young lady is there, and she completely acts as if she has never seen me before and starts to check me in again. Keep in mind this hotel has less than 30-40 rooms I would guess so it is not like she had a rush in the last 30 minutes on a Sunday afternoon. I explain I already checked in. She makes some keys and pulls out a photocopied map of the hot and highlights a unit and says you are here and hands me the keys. No explanation of the amenities of the "resort", info about the mineral springs, recommendations or suggestions. I have had dramatically better check in experiences at any Holiday Inn Express I have stayed at. We walk down the parking lot to our room which appears to be some type of converted apartment with the downstairs portion (Garage, etc.) now being used for storage, etc. There is a driveway for our unit but it has a "No Parking" sign and there are what appears to be collected bags of trash around the stairs leading up to our room. We parked across the parking lot and proceed to unload our bags to carry them up the stairs. Several employees driving maintenance gold carts and going about tasks watch us carry our bags upstairs without a single offer to help. When we get in our room, it is very nice and well decorated. It has obviously been recently remodeled and certainly does not match the scene outside. We decide to make the best of it and use the mineral springs hot tub. It was nice, but basic. It was very shallow and fairly small as hot tubs go and kind of anti-climatic. We could have been in any inexpensive they had not equipped the room with enough towels. We had two towels total. This seemed to not make much sense for a hotel who's selling point was your in-room mineral hot tub. Obviously we needed towels for the mineral springs and another set for a shower.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sycamore Management, Guest Services / Front Office at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort & Spa
Responded 18 Jul 2022
Thank you for your review- we are saddened to hear your experience did not live up to expectation. We strive to have every team member provide the highest level of customer service at all times, so we will follow up with those involved and apologize you didn't feel taken care of. I'm glad you were able to check in a bit early and found the room very nice and well decorated! We actually have 72 rooms here at our resort, so if you are interested in exploring other room types that might better fit your needs, give us a call at 805-595-7302. Devin Jarvis Guest Services Manager Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Maria B wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
We stayed at Sycamore last Thursday night. It was wonderful and I wish we had stayed longer!! Jesse checked us in and he was very kind and provided us with all the information we needed about our stay. We quickly went on the hike that led us to the top of the mountain where we could see the ocean. We found the swing he told us about and we each got on the swing and played like children. It was fun. The view of the distant beach was magnificent!! We then went to the pool and enjoyed a warm comfy swim in the ultra clean water. It was wonderful. After we went to our room and got ready for our massages. They were amazing!!! We were so relaxed and happy. We had a good night sleep and in the morning we had a most delicious breakfast in the Gardens restaurant on site. We also used our tub in the patio of our room. Everything was perfect and we can't wait to go back!! We want to rent the bikes and visit the Avila community pool. Hopefully we will be back real soon!! Loved it there!!!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sycamore Management, Guest Services / Front Office at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort & Spa
Responded 8 Jun 2022
Gosh, when we receive a review such as this, it makes us feel very pleased. Hearing "everything was perfect" brings us the biggest smile! Thank you so much. Please come back soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MistY S wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Loved this place it was my husband’s birthday and first time there i was shocked that on the way home after are stay i had called back to already book another night a few weeks away and had a room I would like to stay in and was told very quickly that I could not pick a room and she was the supervisor and that was that so even though this place was amazing and we travel a lot I would think if that room was available it would not be a problem I guess a no go for here.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sycamore Management, Guest Services / Front Office at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort & Spa
Responded 27 May 2022
Thank you for posting this review here on Tripadvisor. Of course, I feel disappointed after reading this and would love an opportunity to connect with you. I have left you a voicemail with my information. Thank you again and I look forward to the possibility of hearing from you. - Nicole, Marketing Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$1,155 - US$1,155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sycamore mineral springs hotel san luis obispo, sycamore springs, sycamore mineral springs resort, mineral resort springs sycamore
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSan Luis Obispo CountySan Luis Obispo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
72
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Bob Jones City to Sea Bike Trail (2.3 km), Avila Valley Barn (0.8 km), and Dinosaur Caves Park (5.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort & Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort & Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Zorro's Cafe & Cantina, Ventana Grill, and Custom House.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort & Spa?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort & Spa?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Point San Luis Lighthouse (5.1 km).
Does Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort & Spa have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort & Spa accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.