We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1212 Garden St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-3914
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.comUS$255
TravelocityUS$255
Hotels.comUS$255
TripadvisorUS$255
Priceline
Trip.comUS$268
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (61)
Room & Suite (73)
Videos (1)

About

#4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in San Luis Obispo
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Located in downtown San Luis Obispo's historic core and the heart of California’s Central Coast, Garden Street Inn offers old-world hospitality with new-century passion. Locals call it SLO; offering excellent shopping, first-class restaurants, wine-tasting, art galleries and museums. Surrounded by the natural beauty of the rolling hills and coastal valleys, SLO lies just a short drive from Avila Beach, Morro Bay, and Pismo Beach. Golf, tennis, biking, and hiking opportunities abound. SLO hosts a myriad of local tourist attractions, including world renowned vineyards and wineries, California missions, iconic museums, and breathtaking beaches. Classic decor reflects Victorian charm in our uniquely boutique hotel - many with fireplaces and private decks. Grab a book from the well-stocked Goldtree Library, or sip your morning coffee on our spacious outdoor communal deck. Meet the chef in preparation of a delicious breakfast each morning which is served in the McCaffrey Morning Room.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Outdoor dining area
Non-smoking hotel
Wine / champagne
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Charming
247Reviews0Q+A39Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 98
  • 88
  • 28
  • 17
  • 16
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Kimberly M wrote a review 14 Sep
California1 contribution
My husband and I moved from a very unpleasant hotel in SLO to the Garden Street Inn after moving our son into his dorm at Cal Poly. We needed a comfortable and quiet place to rest after an emotional day and this place delivered. The Inn is very quaint, clean and staff was very welcoming and friendly. Champagne welcome and delicious breakfast. We will definitely be back!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rodnee Stillwell, General Manager at Garden Street Inn
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your kind feedback. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay, and apologize that you had to make changes to your plans, but are happy we were able to accommodate you on such a special trip. We hope Garden Street Inn can be your home away from home when you come visit your son and our beautiful city.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Go1ngP1aces wrote a review Aug 2022
Torrance, California29 contributions11 helpful votes
Property's Favourite Review
Really a delightful stay...ideal location within walking distance to so many shops, restaurants, bars...and the ever impressive Thursday Farmers Market! Wonderful, peaceful feel throughout...you just feel stress leaving you when you walk in the doors. Tasty, creative breakfasts, too. We stayed upstairs, in front, in a room with a small parlor and were very comfortable. Very quiet, private. Also, the room was comfortable even during warm August days...even the air conditioner was whisper-quiet. Would definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Upstairs Parlor Rooms are nice!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rodnee Stillwell, General Manager at Garden Street Inn
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your feedback! Garden Street Inn has such a unique atmosphere, we love hearing our guests enjoyed their experience. With our homey feel combined with our urban location it makes exploring our beautiful downtown both comfortable and accommodating. We truly hope to host you again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Xali123 wrote a review 10 Sep
2 contributions
I seriously think is one of the cutest places I’ve ever stayed especially for the price!!! Cute town, easy parking, clean , and sweet staff! I’m definitely coming back 💕 It also comes with free breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rodnee Stillwell, General Manager at Garden Street Inn
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for the feedback! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay at the inn. Our location makes exploring our beautiful downtown easy and accessible, and we are so happy you were able to experience it. We hope to get to host you again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Melanie Heck wrote a review 6 Sep
1 contribution
+1
We picked this place on the road and didn't know a thing about it. It looked so quaint from the outside that it peaked my curiosity. It was wonderful! Very old fashioned with a claw foot tub in the bathroom an old safe as an end table. The staff is pleasant an keeps the place clean. Breakfast was simple fare of fruit, pastries, juice and coffee. You could also have what they called a breakfast pizza but we don't eat much so we opted out. You will truly enjoy your stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rodnee Stillwell, General Manager at Garden Street Inn
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your feedback! We are thrilled to hear you took a chance with us. The inn is furnished with many unique antique furnishings, and we are happy to hear you enjoyed the atmosphere in the inn. We hope to get to host you again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Eva G wrote a review 6 Sep
Beechworth, Australia276 contributions86 helpful votes
Although a quaint, lovely house with a lot of character and history, there were some flaws. For international visitors the stairs are a challenge with heavy luggage There is little soundproofing, I could hear others talking The window is not double glazed so street noise was intrusive and hearing others banging cases down steep stairs made sure I was awake early Staff were friendly, location was great
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: If mobility is an issue this property is not for you
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rodnee Stillwell, General Manager at Garden Street Inn
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your feedback. We are a very small B&B, but we do offer rooms located on the first floor that we are happy to recommend to our guests that would prefer to avoid the stairs. With our wonderful urban location, we can be effected by the downtown noise, but our location makes exploring our beautiful downtown easy and accessible. All rooms are designed differently, and located in different places within the building, and we are confident we can find the perfect fit for each of our guests.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
tbex wrote a review 1 Sep
1 contribution
I was in town in SLO just for a day but I’m glad I chose Garden Street. the cutest little inn, super welcoming as soon as you walk in. Even with the quirks I’d still visit again, but would probably request a specific room for a longer stay. loved: - free parking voucher - homemade cookies! - aesthetics / interior - text to check out - reception is super nice/friendly :) - location couldn’t be better. right next to downtown, without all the noise. highly recommend scout coffee for your caffeine fix didn’t love: - there was a cute claw foot tub in my room but with all of the paint chips at the bottom, not good for a bath :( - water pressure isn’t great, hair in the drain in my shower at arrival. sticky bathroom floors? otherwise clean room - I’m definitely not a light sleeper but woke up to other guests closing their doors, when you leave/close from the outside it’s impossible to quietly close the door. just something to note if you’re a light sleeper
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rodnee Stillwell, General Manager at Garden Street Inn
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your feedback. We love hearing our guests enjoyed their stay. You have the perfect idea for your next stay with us! Give us a call and we are confident we can find the perfect room for you. With each room designed independently, and all located in different parts of the inn, we are positive we can find the best room to accommodate all of our guests.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kathleen F wrote a review Aug 2022
Oak Park, Illinois1 contribution
My daughter and I stayed at the hotel for 4 days. It was clean, staff was friendly and it felt like home. Breakfast, homemade pastry and fresh fruit made this a must stay especially if you want your stay in SLO to be special’
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rodnee Stillwell, General Manager at Garden Street Inn
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed staying at the Inn. Garden Street Inn offers a unique experience, and breakfast makes it extra unique. Hearing our guests enjoyed breakfast as much as we enjoyed serving it, makes all the better. We hope to host both you and your daughter in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ASISEETHEWORLD wrote a review Aug 2022
39 contributions
+1
I had a wonderful stay in the Cocoon suite. It was a peaceful and beautifully decorated room full of beautiful antiques and thoughtful details. I very much enjoyed soaking in the claw foot tub. The inn is a beautiful place in general and the staff were wonderful. And the location is perfect for walking to restaurants and shopping. I caution against walking from the Amtrak station unless you are traveling very light - it was about a 12 minute walk but the terrain was challenging at times.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rodnee Stillwell, General Manager at Garden Street Inn
Responded 22 Aug 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave us such lovely feedback. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay here at the Garden Street Inn. The inn has such a unique ambiance we are thrilled you enjoyed all of its unique character! Though it is quite the walk to the train station, our location makes exploring our beautiful downtown easy and accessible. We truly hope you enjoyed our wonderful little city and hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Frances Q wrote a review May 2022
San Francisco, California1577 contributions229 helpful votes
+1
One of the most charming inns I’ve seen. It’s beautifully decorated, very neat. Great service, everyone is helpful and friendly. Great location, walking distance to all the fun cafes and restaurants in downtown. It’s very convenient for my handicapped husband. We stayed at a king suite on the first floor, the bedroom and the sitting room are so pretty and comfortable, it’s perfect for our 3 nights vacation. They should have mentioned the complimentary gourmet breakfast on their website. Besides coffee / tea, orange juice, yummy homemade pastry and fruit, there is a “two eggs + veggie” entree. It’s different every day and they are super tasty and healthy. Here is what we had over three days. (Check photos!) Twice baked sweet potato topped with avocado, chives, and runny fried eggs. Green lentils and fire-roasted tomatoes topped with feta cheese and poached eggs. Toasted sourdough bread topped with whipped roasted garlic ricotta, shaved toasted brussels sprouts, grated hard-boiled eggs, and fresh dill.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Rodnee Stillwell, General Manager at Garden Street Inn
Responded 1 Jun 2022
Thank you for your feedback! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay as much as we enjoyed hosting you. Breakfast is our favorite part of the day, and with such kind feedback it makes it even better! We look forward to hosting you and your husband again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
turkerr00 wrote a review Sep 2021
Kuwait7 contributions
The Inn is a beautiful place, conveniently located right in Old Town a few minutes walk to everything, but isn’t noisy. The team working there (Rodnee, Katie and Lauren) made our family’s stay there special. My mother stayed there 3 weeks and the team was so warm, thoughtful and kind that it felt like we were staying with friends. The rooms are lovely ( we got to stay in 5 different rooms over the month) and there are cozy places to sit inside and outside if you want to curl up with one of the many books in the Inn, with cookies they bake fresh all day, and a cup of coffee. I would recommend this little Inn to anyone who likes historical boutique hotels and wants to be in the heart of Old Town. You won’t be disappointed!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Garden Street Inn Reception, General Manager at Garden Street Inn
Responded 18 Nov 2021
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the review, we look forward to hosting your family in the future!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$209 - US$422 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
garden street hotel san luis obispo
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSan Luis Obispo CountySan Luis Obispo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
13
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Garden Street Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Garden Street Inn?
Nearby attractions include Puzzle Effect - SLO (0.3 km), Farmers Market (0.2 km), and Mission San Luis Obispo de Tolosa (0.3 km).
What food & drink options are available at Garden Street Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Garden Street Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Novo Restaurant & Lounge, Ciopinot, and Giuseppe’s Cucina Rustica.
Are there any historical sites close to Garden Street Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Dallidet Adobe and Gardens (0.6 km) and Ah Louis Store (0.4 km).