We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Garden Street Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Garden Street Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

191 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 179: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

All the staff were very accommodating and informative about the changes in S.L.O. The breakfasts were varied and delicious. The cookies, every night, were a nice touch. I would recommend Garden Street Inn to anyone who plans to visit the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maria-Teresa W
Littleton, Colorado
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Being right in the heart of old San Luis Obispo allowed for the freedom to park the car and walk around historic downtown. Literally only a 5 minute walk to the old Mission, shops, restaurants and the creekside paths. Fresh breakfast every morning, cookies at night, and a super comfy bed/room. Staff was friendly and service was top notch.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank xRobx
GardenStreetInn, Guest Relations Manager at Garden Street Inn, responded to this review

So glad your stay was enjoyable. We do hope that you will come back to visit us in the near future.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have been looking at this B&B for many a years while visiting here in SLO. We went to Cal Poly and have returned to visit the area many a times for over 30 years. This past October we finally bit the bullet and stayed here for one night on our way to LA. We stayed on a Thursday, which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Husting
GardenStreetInn, Front Office Manager at Garden Street Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and so glad that you enjoyed the farmer's market. We are in a wonderful location to be able to walk to the downtown area. We look forward to your next visit.

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 25 October 2016

I read the recent negative reviews, and they are correct that this is not a truly upscale inn. However, our room was super clean (Field of Dreams) with great outdoor space nearby. We loved that area, but I can imagine a lack of privacy if the Inn were full. Paul served an amazing breakfast and was helpful in finding us...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PaulaLB
GardenStreetInn, Guest Relations Manager at Garden Street Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your response. We do appreciate the positive feedback regarding the room and the breakfast. Please do come again!

R
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed in the "close to home" suite and it was very comfortable. The hotel is very centrally located within walking distance to dome good restaurants and the main shopping street. Breakfast was very nice ( pancakes , fruit , scrambled eggs and sausage),and we requested some toast as an addition, which were given very generously. A very nice atmosphere...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathrine2100
GardenStreetInn, Front Office Manager at Garden Street Inn, responded to this review

So glad that you enjoyed our central location and breakfast. We do have a wonderful staff. Please do come back and visit us.

Port Orange, Florida
Reviewed 18 September 2016

On the plus side, the location was in town within walking distance of shops and restaurants. Breakfast is included and was very good, the room was clean, and cookies were left at night tied to your doorknob. However, the Garden Street Inn did not meet our expectations. I am stating our experience so that others will know what to expect...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ArbieEffie
Codsall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 September 2016

We stayed here 3 years ago and stayed again this year, the hotel has had a change of manager, unfortunately we didn't enjoy our stay so much this time. We also had the room with the Jacuzzi bath, the room could do with a spring clean. The house is charming and in keeping with when it was built but the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sheila M
innkeeper-TRIP, Innkeeper at Garden Street Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay as much as previously. Hopefully you will come back in the future and your stay will be as you have enjoyed in the past.

Stotfold, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 August 2016

A beginning of a road trip around California and Nevada starting in the Garden Street Inn and I can definitely say that we could not have chosen better. From the very friendly staff to the beautiful building everything was perfect. It's not the cheapest accommodation in SLO but in this case you definitely get what you pay for and more....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
Sheffield
Reviewed 19 August 2016

We booked this hotel as it was a little different to the standard run of the mill hotels, looked lovely on the website. Room was nice with a Jacuzzi bath and comfy bed....only problem with the bathroom was the state of the shower curtain - mould! The window in the bathroom was dirty too. When you pay £175 per night,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hannah--X0
Melbourne
Reviewed 9 July 2016 via mobile

I caught the Amtrak from LA to San Francisco and decided to break my journey for a night at this hotel/b and b. It is a lovely old period home that has been remodelled into its current format and is a ten or so minute walk down hill from the Amtrak station. I also saw a shuttle bus parked at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneLeapy

31 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
3:17
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
1.6 km away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
561 reviews
1.3 km away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
656 reviews
1.8 km away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
359 reviews
2.4 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
2.2 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hote...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of downtown San Luis Obispo on the Central California Coast, The Garden Street Inn is just steps from all the sights, sounds, shopping and history of vintage San Luis Obispo. This nostalgic college town surrounded by the natural beauty of the rolling hills and coastal valleys is a short drive from Avila and Morro Bay, Hearst Castle, Pismo Beach and artistic Cambria. Golf, tennis, biking and hiking opportunities abound. The myriad local tourist attractions including world renowned vineyards and wineries, California Missions, Museums and Beaches, make SLO a wonderful choice for a vacation getaway.Classic decor reflects Victorian charm in the 9 guest rooms and 4 suites of this San Luis Obispo Boutique Hotel - all with private baths, appointed with antiques, some with jacuzzi tubs and historical, cultural and personal memorabilia. The staff at the inn prepares a delicious breakfast each morning which is served in the McCaffrey Morning Room surrounded by original stained-glass windows.With spacious outside decks, a well-stocked Goldtree Library and well appointed accommodations, our San Luis Obispo staff in residence is proud to host your romantic interlude or a relaxing getaway. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Garden Street Inn

Address: 1212 Garden St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-3914
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Price Range: $222 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Garden Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Street Hotel San Luis Obispo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Garden Street Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There is only one room downstairs I think. Very quiet!”
 of 5 bubbles Husting, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Valley of the Moon, in a corner on the first floor, is a tiny room”
 of 5 bubbles ArbieEffie, 17 Sep 2016 | Read review
“No issues all rooms quiet and excellent”
 of 5 bubbles paulcY7518WI, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The rooms located in the middle are quieter than those facing the street”
 of 5 bubbles H3804YSpatriciah, 4 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Downstairs if you have trouble with steps. Double staircase is tough.”
 of 5 bubbles 744nancym, 19 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay