We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1604 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2930
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$79
View deal
Free cancellation until 20/08/22
Expedia.com
US$76
View deal
Free cancellation until 20/08/22
Travelocity
US$76
View deal
Free cancellation until 20/08/22
Hotels.comUS$76
PricelineUS$79
Agoda.comUS$79
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (90)
Room & Suite (33)
Dining (3)

About

#30 of 33 hotels in San Luis Obispo
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
WELCOME TO LAMPLIGHTER INN DOWNTOWN SAN LUIS OBISPO CA. The Lamplighter Inn & Suites Hotel in San Luis Obispo CA Lamplighter inn & suites hotel in San Luis Obispo, Ca It's no secret that San Luis Obispo — known by the locals as SLO—is a gorgeous central California town replete with attractions, character, sunshine and charm to spare. With so much to do—from beach excursions and wine country trips to Hearst Castle tours and trips to our famous Farmers Markets—you'll want to stretch your vacation dollar as far as possible and Lamplighter Inn and Suites in San Luis Obispo can help you do that. Our San Luis Obispo Hotel Has it All When you stay at our Lamplighter Inn & Suites in San Luis Obispo, you'll be treating yourself to comfortable accommodations for your family without shelling out inordinate amounts of cash. Our San Luis Obispo hotel's many amenities and convenient location make us the perfect addition to your family's budget-conscious vacation itinerary. We also have military
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Hiking
Car hire
Newspaper
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Vending machine
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
224Reviews4Q+A45Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 18
  • 62
  • 66
  • 41
  • 37
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Tom K wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
I’ve stayed at the Lamplighter many times over the years. It’s been acceptable in the higher-priced SLO market. This past weekend, the first room they gave us had mold in the bathroom and broken furniture. The second room had a broken refrigerator. They balked at giving us a third. They left the front desk unstaffed at the dinner hour! We did get a refund and found a much better tho slightly more expensive room across the street at the University. Understand it’s under new management. Too bad. We’ll never stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Stay away from here
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jerre Leahy, Revenue Management at Lamplighter Inn & Suites
Responded 27 May 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for being our guest. We apologize for the issues you experienced and will work to correct these. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Read more
burgerbob wrote a review May 2022
Santa Barbara, California2 contributions1 helpful vote
This was one of the worst hotels we have ever stayed in ---noisy , semi-clean room and bath ( shower was disgusting ) , would not honor senior / AAA discount -- $ 200 +--false advertising --sleep in your car if you have no other option
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: look elswhere
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jerre Leahy, Revenue Management at Lamplighter Inn & Suites
Responded 13 May 2022
Thank you for the review-we apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay. We will work to correct these and we hope to welcome you back for a better experience.
Read more
Norm V wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
This is the motel from hell. I also read the reviews and found them mixed. When we checked in we went through three rooms trying to put together a package that had a working TV, a coffee pot and towels, moving stuff from one room to another. It was explained that there is one cleaner for the entire motel and it shows. We were gone the next day and when we returned the room had not been touched. We had to go to the desk and once again ask for coffee and towels and toilet paper. In a four day stay the room was sort of cleaned once. Usually when we returned the key no longer worked in the lock and had to be reprogrammed and even after it was it was difficult to enter because it was jammed and required slamming it with your shoulder to open. The so called breakfast consists of coffee and a few plastic wrapped Danishes and muffins. The desk clerks were pleasant and tried to help but it’s a lost cause. I don’t think either is there anymore.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Go to a different motel
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jerre Leahy, Revenue Management at Lamplighter Inn & Suites
Responded 2 Mar 2022
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry we did not provide you with a satisfactory stay. I have noted your comments and will be taking appropriate action to prevent these issues for our future guest. Thank you for taking the time to convey these issues and we hope you will stay with us in the future to offer you a better experience.
Read more
sqw wrote a review Feb 2022
los angeles93 contributions24 helpful votes
I read reviews prior to staying here. They were mixed. I don't know how much people were paid for a good review, but BELIEVE EVERY BAD REVIEW HERE!! I will cut down all that occurred and just give a few highlights. At time of check in we said we do not want daily service. Were told we would not have any, and were given extra towels, as we requested, from desk attendant. We went to the room we were assigned and found no screens on the windows (we like to leave them open) and the shower door hanging in the air, off of the shower. I returned to front desk, told attendant situation. He was not surprised and managed to find us a different room. Second room had front screen, but no bathroom screen. We managed. About an hour later we heard another couple speaking to desk attendant They had him come out to view room he assigned them (same one he tried giving us) They wanted him to see the shower. He was So Surprised! to see it that way, and told him someone would fix it. (I hope someone did) Upon return to our room the next day, our room was not serviced, but cleaning had come in and taken the dirty towels, and 2 extra towels we were given, leaving only hand towels. I again went to front desk to request towels. Now there was a different attendant who only had hand towels at front desk. He said he would bring shower towels. I requested 3. Called desk after 1/2 hour, still no towels. Hour- still no towels. We had dinner reservation and wanted to shower after beach. Called again, he said he would come. He brought one towel, saying that is all the hotel has. He argued with me that hotel has no more. Bit later, he banged on front door. When I answered it, he had thrown 2 more towels on the dirty A/C unit outside door walked away. Very rude, but I had towels! Shower is also in great disrepair. Floor and sides of shower are all peeling. Much more disrepair and poor service, but this is enough to write. STAY AWAY!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Any OTHER hotel!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
moon l wrote a review Jan 2022
29 contributions9 helpful votes
Since most of the places were really expensive, and we were just looking for a quick sleep, we stayed in this motel. We had read really bad reviews and probably was not that bad, although there were some things the place should improve. First of all, we were given a room that, to our surprise, was open when we got to the door and the room had not been cleaned, the bed was unmade, there were food bags around... We were given another room and this one was better. It was late, and we did not want to ask for anything else but the door lock was not working -we were so tired we did not care enough and went to sleep. Also, the night we arrived, it took quite a long time for the staff of the lobby to come and receive us. In fact, there was a guest before us, who ended up calling the reception so someone could come and attend the guests, there was a queue already (this was 9-10 p.m.).
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jerre Leahy, Revenue Management at Lamplighter Inn & Suites
Responded 26 Jan 2022
Thank you for your feedback and for choosing to stay at our hotel. We apologize your stay was less than perfect. Your experience is not representative of our usual performance. We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future.
Read more
Laura L wrote a review Dec 2021
California1 contribution2 helpful votes
+1
My brother and I arrived to this motel a few nights ago. The woman working at the front was not wearing a mask. Our hotel room was filthy. In the bathroom, there was a moldy wall next to the shower that was simply painted over (see pic). The paint was peeling off the wall around the shower head (see pic). The blow dryer attached to the wall was covered in dirt (see pic). There was no drain in the sink (see pic). In the motel room, the doors were covered in filth as was the wall switch for the light (see pics). Nothing was sanitized. There was food on the walls. A cigarette butt had been put out on the window sill and left there (see pic). There were cigarette butt left in a plastic cup on the balcony (see pic). The room was absolutely filthy. We arrived late, so we had to stay the night because we were exhausted. The next morning, the man at the front did not have a mask on. We asked to speak to a manager. He said the manager would not be in until the following morning. We asked for the name of the manager. He would not give it to us. He said he would speak to his coworker about cancelling the other days we had booked in our initial reservation. We never head from anyone. The manager should have refunded our money for the night we stayed there and cancelled the other days we booked. We were fortunate enough to find a room at an inn up the same street (Monterey Street & Grand). These people were pleasant and were following the mask mandate in the county unlike the staff at the Lamplighter. This place is a dump. It should be closed down. I will be calling the health department and reporting this. Do not stay here. Avoid at all costs! The pictures speak for themselves.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jerre Leahy, Revenue Management at Lamplighter Inn & Suites
Responded 17 Jan 2022
Thank you for being our guest. It is disheartening to read that we did not live up to our usual standards, and your stay was less than satisfactory. We are taking appropriate steps to ensure future guests do not encounter the same issues. We hope you will accept our apologies and consider giving us another chance to show you the outstanding service that we typically provide
Read more
Doug B wrote a review Oct 2021
Glendale2 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
Never again. As you can see our room was in a state of disrepair. The one piece of furniture that we moved revealed a load of dirt and crumbs on the carpet. Grimy handprints on the door. Lots of other little things that added up to an unpleasant experience. Honestly I’d rather sleep in the car.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jerre Leahy, Revenue Management at Lamplighter Inn & Suites
Responded 27 Oct 2021
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry we did not provide you with a satisfactory stay. I have noted your comments and will be taking appropriate action to prevent these issues for our future guest. Thank you for taking the time to convey these issues to me.
Read more
John B wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
Even tho they show nice image if bacon and eegs, the reality is only very small NOT fresh individual little danishes available. Rooms are dirty and not updated, toilet running all nigh, carpet stained all over, Bathroom doors are cracked with holes. We booked the place for our club team, so the players can eat breakfast together in 1 place. Manager stated sorry we asked long time ago to update our images on the website, but nothing happened. Just checked same old images still there, nothing changed. DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS PLANCE !!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Doug S wrote a review Oct 2021
Escondido, California135 contributions73 helpful votes
Carpeting and furniture are worn, but room was very clean. There's a small outdoor seating area near the lobby, if you want to hang out with coffee and people-watch. As of September 2021, they're offering a limited continental breakfast (coffee and danish). Like many hotels, they face a staffing shortage. Front lobby was not manned the morning I checked out. So if you have late evening / early morning logistics needs (luggage storage, printing) I recommend checking the evening before. Hotel is within easy walking distance of a cafe and brew pub. Downtown SLO is a moderate walk (about 15 minutes). If you're there on a Thursday night, the downtown farmers market has a huge variety of produce and food stands.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jerre Leahy, Revenue Management at Lamplighter Inn & Suites
Responded 14 Oct 2021
Pleasing our guests is our top priority, so we are glad you left with such good memories of your trip. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Read more
PinkBear2 wrote a review Sep 2021
San Jose, California52 contributions4 helpful votes
I stayed in a queen bed room and was given the corner room on the 2nd floor which was perfect! The room has safe deposit box, microwave, fridge & toiletries. The bed is nice too, not too soft as if you sink into the bed. They also have hot tub and pool open although I didn't use them. There is parking available onsite and walking to downtown takes around 15 minutes. There are also places to eat nearby if you don't want to walk to downtown. Overall, very comfortable stay!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jerre Leahy, Revenue Management at Lamplighter Inn & Suites
Responded 1 Oct 2021
We appreciate your time in writing this review and are glad you found our hotel to be immaculate and amiable. We hope you will choose to stay with us again in the near future!
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$76 - US$210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
comfort inn & suites lamplighter hotel san luis obispo, comfort inn and suites lamplighter, comfort inn lamplighter, comfort inn san luis obispo, san luis obispo comfort inn
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Comfort Inn & Suites Lamplighter
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSan Luis Obispo CountySan Luis Obispo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
77
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Lamplighter Inn & Suites
Which popular attractions are close to Lamplighter Inn & Suites?
Nearby attractions include Gladiator Paintball Park (0.2 km), Steynberg Gallery (0.2 km), and Central Coast Veterans Memorial Museum (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Lamplighter Inn & Suites?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Lamplighter Inn & Suites?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Lamplighter Inn & Suites?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Lamplighter Inn & Suites?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Lamplighter Inn & Suites?
Conveniently located restaurants include Splash Cafe, Central Coast Brewing, and 1865 Craft House and Kitchen.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Lamplighter Inn & Suites?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Lamplighter Inn & Suites located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of San Luis Obispo.
Are any cleaning services offered at Lamplighter Inn & Suites?
Yes, dry cleaning and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Lamplighter Inn & Suites?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Lamplighter Inn & Suites?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Dallidet Adobe and Gardens (0.8 km) and Ah Louis Store (1.2 km).