We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo

Save
Share
345 Marsh Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-3820
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$99
View deal
Free cancellation until 13/10/22
Booking.com
US$99
View deal
Free cancellation until 14/10/22
Hotels.com
US$99
View deal
Free cancellation until 13/10/22
PricelineUS$99
TravelocityUS$99
FindHotelUS$99
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (67)
360
Panoramas (6)
Room & Suite (162)

About

#7 of 33 hotels in San Luis Obispo
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
All Rooms Brand New. Located 3 blocks to Historic Downtown San Luis Obispo. Walk to restaurants, shopping, movie theater, bars & nightlife.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Express check-in / check-out
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
721Reviews7Q+A94Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 314
  • 291
  • 83
  • 21
  • 12
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
JANET L wrote a review Sep 2022
OLD SAYBROOK10 contributions2 helpful votes
We stayed here for one night while passing through San Luis Obispo. Our room was completely remodeled, spotless and beyond comfortable. I highly recommend this hotel as they also have very reasonable rates.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperience Team, Other at Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Janet, we are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Our primary aim is to provide our guests with the best possible experience and we feel glad to be able to provide you with one. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in the area. Thank you so much for your review! Best Regards, Avenue Inn Customer Care Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Randy H wrote a review Sep 2022
Carlsbad, California49 contributions22 helpful votes
Stayed here on road trip. Have stayed here before, and will again. Well-maintained motel, clean and modest. Reasonable rates IMHO. Location within walking into town, across from freeway access, and near trailhead to nice hike up Cerritos SLO.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperience Team, Other at Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Randy, thanks for taking time out of your busy schedule to share your experience with us. We are glad to know that you found everything in order and seemed to like our service. We hope to have the privilege of hosting you again. Best Regards, Avenue Inn Customer Care Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
judybU9055JZ wrote a review Sep 2022
Marysville, California2 contributions
Clean rooms, friendly staff, right off the highway (but far enough that you don’t hear the highway) and downtown is walking distance and a awesome Thursday Farmers Market you don’t want to miss! We were doing a tour of Cal Poly and this hotel is a great location for visiting! I will be going back to visit again and I/we will definitely stay here again! Judy B Yuba City Ca September 11, 2022
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperience Team, Other at Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear guest, thanks for your positive feedback and generosity with that rating. We are pleased to know that your time with us was great, and we hope we have the pleasure of hosting you soon. Best Regards, Avenue Inn Customer Care Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pam F wrote a review Aug 2022
Bakersfield, California27 contributions27 helpful votes
We were on a road trip going the length of California. Location is great. Laundromat within walking distance and Thursday Farmers Market a couple of blocks away. Hotel staff was very accommodating. Parking was a challenge if you wanted to park near your room
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperience Team, Other at Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear guest, thank you so much for writing to us about your recent stay. We are glad that you chose to stay with us. However, we apologize for your unfortunate experience regarding parking. Please know that we would dearly love to have more parking available for our guests, but, unfortunately, space around our hotel is very much at a premium. We do facilitate as many guests as we possibly can, and we are very sorry for the inconvenience that our limited parking area caused you. We hope we get to serve you soon! Best Regards, Avenue Inn Customer Care Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Patricia M wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
Just off Hwy 101 and walking distance to restaurants, etc. in downtown San Luis Obispo. Very convenient location. Room was small but very clean and had everything needed. Very quiet, did not hear any traffic noise or neighbors. Bed was very comfortable and staff friendly. Would definitely stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperience Team, Other at Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo
Responded 25 Aug 2022
Dear guest, thank you so much for your valued response. We are delighted to know that you had a clean and comfortable stay with us. We as an organization have always strived to provide our guests with the best possible service along with a clean and comfortable stay, and we take all possible measures to ensure just that. We feel glad to be acknowledged for the hard work that goes into ensuring it and we would be delighted to be able to host you the next time you are in the vicinity. Best Regards, Avenue Inn Customer Care Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
James C wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
This is was of my favorite places to stay in SLO mainly because of the convenient location and price. The rooms are always super clean and all of the rooms have been updated recently. I always stay here when I am in the area!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperience Team, Other at Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo
Responded 8 Aug 2022
Dear guest, thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to write us a review. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and, we hope that we have the pleasure of hosting you again. Best Regards, Avenue Inn Customer Care Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andrew wrote a review Jul 2022
Los Angeles, California20 contributions4 helpful votes
Pros: Close enough to walk anywhere downtown. Keeps the sounds of the main road quiet. Straight forward check in and check out with no frills. Cons: Close enough to hear the college kids having a good time when they drive by blasting their music at full volume in the middle of the night. Bring your own toiletries (soap, shampoo) because what they have is awful. I'd stay here again for the location. I don't mind walking into town and the front desk provided me a map with major locations.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperience Team, Other at Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo
Responded 28 Jul 2022
Dear guest, thank you so much for your valuable feedback. While we are glad you chose to stay with us, we are sad to know that your experience was not up to the usual standards. We are sorry to note from your feedback that your time at our hotel wasn't entirely perfect, and we apologize for the shortcomings you encountered in terms of our service. We will take steps to address the issues highlighted by you so that such incidents do not reoccur. Should you stay with us again, please do know to make us aware of anything that we can do to improve any aspect of your stay, and we will do our utmost to give you the very best possible stay here. We hope to welcome you back for a better stay soon. Best Regards, Avenue Inn Customer Care Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
robbi25 wrote a review Jul 2022
New York, New York58 contributions50 helpful votes
This is a genuine find. The rooms are very clean—the mattress was better than most high end hotels I’ve stayed in. The location is perfect. It’s within walking distance of downtown. Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperience Team, Other at Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo
Responded 17 Jul 2022
Dear guest, thank you so much for your feedback. We are delighted that you had such a pleasant stay and appreciate you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in the area. Best Regards, Avenue Inn Customer Care Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rach1310 wrote a review Jul 2022
York, United Kingdom101 contributions110 helpful votes
Very clean and tidy centrally located hotel/motel within easy walking distance of downtown. Friendly staff and free parking. Room was clean, spacious and bed was comfy. It was quiet all evening. Fridge and microwave in room. Would stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperience Team, Other at Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo
Responded 17 Jul 2022
Dear guest, thanks for taking time out of your busy schedule to share your experience with us. We are glad to know that you found everything in order and seemed to like our service. We hope to have the privilege of hosting you again. Best Regards, Avenue Inn Customer Care Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mary L wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution2 helpful votes
the staff (Sal in particular) was the most rude, unhelpful, and offensive “manager” I’ve ever interacted with. we had NO HOT WATER, and they blamed us, didn’t believe us and refused to compensate or help. It was the worst customer service I’ve ever had in my life. they questioned us and made us feel like we were the problem, however there was simply NO working hot water. This used to be my go-to spot in SLO - and I will never ever step foot here again. I encourage you to find somewhere else to stay, there’s many other options in SLO. This is the worst place due to those who run it. I have never been so disgusted with a place/hospitality situation. I tried to contact John who is apparently the other manager and haven’t heard back, they refused to share contact information. Don’t stay here!!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperience Team, Other at Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo
Responded 26 Jun 2022
Dear guest, thank you so much for your valued response. We feel sad to hear about your negative experience with us and we sincerely apologize. We always strive to provide our guests with the best possible experience and serve our guests to the best of our abilities. However, we seemed to have failed in our endeavor and we will take appropriate steps to provide a better experience going forward. We hope to remain your place of choice and we seek another opportunity to serve you yet again. Best Regards, Avenue Inn Customer Care Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$112 - US$180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
travelodge san luis obispo downtown hotel san luis obispo, travel lodge san luis obispo, san luis obispo travelodge, san luis obispo travel lodge
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Travelodge San Luis Obispo Downtown
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSan Luis Obispo CountySan Luis Obispo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
51
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo
Which popular attractions are close to Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo?
Nearby attractions include Puzzle Effect - SLO (0.4 km), Captain Nemo Games & Comics (0.3 km), and Megan's Organic Market (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo?
Conveniently located restaurants include High Street Market & Deli, Ciopinot, and Goshi.
Are there any historical sites close to Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Dallidet Adobe and Gardens (1.3 km) and Ah Louis Store (0.8 km).
Is Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.