We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Kinney San Luis Obispo, Tapestry Collection by Hilton

Save
Share
1800 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Price Match Guarantee
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
US$170
View deal
TravelocityUS$170
Hotels.comUS$170
TripadvisorUS$170
Orbitz.com
PricelineUS$170
Booking.comUS$170
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (146)
Room & Suite (60)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
A note from The Kinney San Luis Obispo, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Updated 10/12/21

About

#8 of 33 hotels in San Luis Obispo
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
We're off US-101, less than a mile from California Polytechnic State University and Downtown San Luis Obispo - home to local shops, restaurants, and farmers markets. Edna Valley Vineyard and Chamisal Vineyards are 10 miles away. Pismo Beach and Morro Bay are within 20 minutes. Enjoy pub grub and arcade games at our lobby bar, Leroy's. WiFi's on us.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Newspaper
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Iron
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Arabic and 5 more
Hotel links
Special Offer:Price Match Guarantee
657Reviews4Q+A85Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 298
  • 199
  • 94
  • 46
  • 20
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
enriqueagquiz wrote a review Sep 2022
San Antonio, Texas1 contribution
Was given a week and half expired hard boiled eggs no attempt of getting more eggs for the week even though I requested it. My room was average, wifi was pretty average to do my work. Sometimes no front desk personal is available.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris Maez, Guest Services / Front Office at The Kinney San Luis Obispo, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your visit to The Kinney SLO went. We sincerely apologize for dropping the ball and giving you a less than stellar experience. Please reach out to me directly if you are ever thinking of coming to the area again as we would love to make this right for you. Thanks again for choosing to stay with us and hope to hear from you soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jennifer Z wrote a review Sep 2021
Yorba Linda, California75 contributions50 helpful votes
+1
Hotel's Favourite
We are Diamond Hilton people and have never stayed at a Tapestry hotel. Based on the hotels website and location next to Cal Poly, we were a tad concerned we’d be the oldest ones there. It comes off as hipster and may not have been our jam as a well over 40+ Couple. However, there were many families and people of all ages. We’ve never seen a hotel room with pictures up and down the wall, which actually was soothing to stare at. There is a small fridge, plenty of space and it’s decorated uniquely. We were in room 227. View was the parking lot and an neighboring building. It was surprising how loud the above neighbors walking was to hear below, so maybe try for the 3rd floor. There are vending machines for snacks and soda and ice on each floor. They do enforce the the mask rule, as is the counties requirement. They have some to give if you need them. Leroys is where you can eat all 3 meals. Only 4 of the self serve beer taps work but plenty more behind the bar. No hard alcohol but they make creative “drinks” with some form of “alcohol”. The small outside seating area has a giant scrabble board and giant litebright along with giant Jenna. Tons of board games available for use. Shuffleboard (but no sand- which makes it challenging to use), two skeeball games (you need to keep your own score), as well as a video game that play like 10 different games. Big screen TVs playing football in the morning. The gym is extra small. Matt’s, one bike, one tred and one elliptical. Bathroom in the gym and towels but no water to hydrate yourself with. Strange. Front desk very helpful and friendly. Restaurant was under staffed for a holiday weekend. Food was great but pricy.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: 3rd floor.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Magdalena L wrote a review Sep 2022
4 contributions1 helpful vote
We visited three hotels on this vacation to CA and this one definitely wins the award for the most enthusiastic and friendly staff, both at the front desk and the restaurant. My husband had his birthday and the breakfast staff made it special. We also liked the heated outdoor pool with the jacuzzi. The decor is very memorable and unique. We had never been to San Louis de Obispo before and the area was definitely worth the two night stopover on the way from SF to LA. Central Coast is so beautiful!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris Maez, Guest Services / Front Office at The Kinney San Luis Obispo, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you so much for the uplifting review! We will make sure to post this on our SALT board for our staff to see. Thanks again for choosing The Kinney SLO and we hope to welcome you back soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tani wrote a review Aug 2022
Bellevue, Washington66 contributions25 helpful votes
Although they were kind at the front desk, we had a lackluster experience at this hotel. When entering our hotel hallway, there was a strong smell… it almost smelled like a skunk. The room just didn’t feel clean—although they had hip images on the wall the property and bathroom felt dated and it was a depressing view outside our window to the parking lot. My expectations were high given the room rate! When I had originally booked this hotel we were paying $550 a night (via the hotel’s website for a one night Saturday night stay). Closer to the date I checked again and managed to get our rate at $370 a night (I cancelled our original reservation). This was still far too much given the lovely property we stayed near Yosemite and in Santa Monica that were just a bit more than this one. I’m just relieved it was a short overnight stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris Maez, Guest Services / Front Office at The Kinney San Luis Obispo, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Responded 28 Aug 2022
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how your visit to The Kinney went. We sincerely apologize for the lackluster experience. I know it is a long shot but please reach out to me directly if you are ever thinking of visiting the area again as we would love to make this right for you. Thanks again for choosing The Kinney SLO and hope to hear from you soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Use_hotels wrote a review Aug 2022
Sacramento, California1 contribution
Looking forward to returning. Great service, fridge in room, bath tub, pool and gym (tiny, has a treadmill). Right in town. Walking distance to restaurants. Lots of parking near room. Overall I recommend this hotel.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris Maez, Guest Services / Front Office at The Kinney San Luis Obispo, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Responded 26 Aug 2022
Thank you so much for the amazing review! We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully we get the pleasure of having you as a return guest sometime! Thanks again for choosing The Kinney SLO and have a wonderful evening!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Quine83 wrote a review Jul 2022
Aberdeen, United Kingdom45 contributions41 helpful votes
Excellent service at this hotel. Front of house staff were so helpful and welcoming. The hotel was also diligent and responsible in getting in touch after we had left to say they had found medication in the fridge that we had left. Thank you again for this! There is a great pool and hot tub. Laundry facilities with washers, driers and detergent. My husband tells me the bar service and beers are great! It was a pleasant 15 minute walk to the town centre. Beds were so comfy and rooms really quiet. Thank you SLO Kinney!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris Maez, Guest Services / Front Office at The Kinney San Luis Obispo, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Responded 29 Jul 2022
Thank you so much for the amazing review! It gives us tremendous motivation to hear such positive feedback! Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to hopefully having you back sometime!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bill N wrote a review Jul 2022
784 contributions338 helpful votes
Arrived ....quick and easy check in treated to upgrade room. The place is quirky but fun. The on-site restaurant is more like a snack bar... Two nights in a row had a glass of wine and they attempted to charge $2 more than the price in the menu. As a Hilton honors Diamond member you get $15 toward breakfast with coffee and tip does not cover that.... Not a big fan of the new Hilton policy for Diamond members at breakfast. Has some nice views of the mountains very close to downtown where there's lots of great restaurants. Room was quiet most of the time. Bed was adequate. The exterior of the building at the entrance and in all corners is full of cigarette butts trash and leaves same with the pool deck not sure the last time it had a good sweeping cleaning and mopping around the outside of the building and pool. With a little care and attention this place could be something else also need a real chef and a real restaurant and turn up some lights in there it's like a dungeon.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris Maez, Guest Services / Front Office at The Kinney San Luis Obispo, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Responded 28 Jul 2022
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience at The Kinney. We appreciate the valuable feedback as this is how we improve for the next guest. Thanks again for choosing to stay with us and hope to have you back sometime soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gliden G wrote a review Jul 2022
Toa Baja, Puerto Rico3 contributions
The chef luis tortilla should be awarded for his expertise in Las Palmas restaurant. The food was presented on the line in a fashion way. His crew very trained on having the orders ready for the guests. Also the front desk very prompt during the check in and out check out. Security personnel always around.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris Maez, Guest Services / Front Office at The Kinney San Luis Obispo, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Responded 28 Jul 2022
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We appreciate you choosing The Kinney SLO and hope to have you back sometime soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Martha wrote a review Jul 2022
Nantucket, Massachusetts6 contributions
First, I want to say the staff is great here. Super friendly Chris at the front desk was great! As to the hotel pretty tired looking. Carpets need cleaning or to be replaced. Lots of stains in the hallways. Bathroom is tight the door hits the toilet. Why don’t builders use pocket doors for tight spaces. The pool had comfortable chairs but the cushions are covered in stains and there were used towels laying around all over the place. The palm trees need to be trimmed. The large orange seeds were falling all over the side walks and making a huge mess as people stepped on them entering the building for the sides and pools. Room was clean and sheets and towels were in good shape. The property needs a face lift and some maintenance.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris Maez, Guest Services / Front Office at The Kinney San Luis Obispo, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Responded 16 Jul 2022
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We appreciate the valuable feedback as we have forwarded these issues to all departments involved. We will make sure to address these issues immediately. Hopefully we get the pleasure of having you as a return guest as we would love to make this right for you. Thanks again for choosing The Kinney SLO and hope you are having a wonderful weekend!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Julie S wrote a review Jul 2022
Walnut Creek, California95 contributions74 helpful votes
We stayed here for 2 nights and were happy with our stay. Rooms were whimsical with decor which was nice. We requested a microwave and they brought one up to our room. As a HH Diamond member we received a $15 food & beverage credit to use in their bar/restaurant Leroy’s. Breakfast was pretty good. Noticed an arcade game & skeet ball there but did not take advantage of it. Some sketchiness outside (some homeless) but very conveniently located to everything especially downtown SLO which is about 5 mins away. Great eats within a 2 mins radius we had no complaints. Would definitely stay here again. I wasn’t sure due to mixed reviews but I must say this is a solid hotel and I would stat again for our next trip to SLO.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris Maez, Guest Services / Front Office at The Kinney San Luis Obispo, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Responded 16 Jul 2022
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed our stay with us. The Skee Ball machine and games make us a very unique hotel. Hopefully you will get to utilize the games on your next visit. Thanks again for choosing The Kinney SLO and hope to see you soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$183 - US$323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn express san luis obispo hotel san luis obispo, holiday inn san luis obispo, san luis obispo holiday inn
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSan Luis Obispo CountySan Luis Obispo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
100
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Kinney San Luis Obispo, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Which popular attractions are close to The Kinney San Luis Obispo, Tapestry Collection by Hilton?
Nearby attractions include California Polytechnic University (0.7 km), Performing Arts Center San Luis Obispo (1.1 km), and Fremont Theater (1.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Kinney San Luis Obispo, Tapestry Collection by Hilton?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Kinney San Luis Obispo, Tapestry Collection by Hilton?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Kinney San Luis Obispo, Tapestry Collection by Hilton?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Kinney San Luis Obispo, Tapestry Collection by Hilton?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Kinney San Luis Obispo, Tapestry Collection by Hilton?
Conveniently located restaurants include Buona Tavola, Splash Cafe, and Petra Mediterranean Pizza and Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Kinney San Luis Obispo, Tapestry Collection by Hilton?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Kinney San Luis Obispo, Tapestry Collection by Hilton?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Kinney San Luis Obispo, Tapestry Collection by Hilton offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Kinney San Luis Obispo, Tapestry Collection by Hilton?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, Italian, Russian, Chinese, and Hindi.