We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Marina Beach Motel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Marina Beach Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

533 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 463: English reviews
Start your review of Marina Beach Motel
 Click to rate
japan
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We spent one night. very clean room and spacious bathroom. We enjoyed the free use of the motel's bikes to visit Santa Barbara. The main street is really nice with lots of shopping. We had a nice breakfast before we drove back to San Francisco...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MATI91
Dan W, Manager at Marina Beach Motel, responded to this review

So happy to hear you took advantage of the bikes! Always a great idea to ride around Santa Barbara and soak up the sun. We hope you had a smooth drive back to San Francisco and maybe next time you can stay for longer than one night!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Recently updated very nicely. Shower was very large with 2 heads. Bed was comfortable and linens were soft. Towels were nice and fluffy. Free continental breakfast was great. Cereal, oatmeal, toast , pastries and yogurt. Coffee and tea in your room. My only small complaint was that there was no sound proofing. I would definitely stay again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
Dan W, Manager at Marina Beach Motel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for staying with us Susan! We're happy to hear you enjoyed the free breakfast and amenities. We'll take into account your complaint about the lack of sound proofing moving forward. We really hope to see you again soon!

Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

Returned here after four year absence but was very dissappointed and moved after one night. We had a DELUXE KING ROOM with kitchen. But the kitchen is only there for the photos as there is no table or chairs and no dishes! You have to get them from the office! The room was so small and entirely unsuitable for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jetsailor
Dan W, Manager at Marina Beach Motel, responded to this review

We appreciate you deciding to come and stay with us after a 4-year break. However, we're truly sorry to hear about your most recent experience. We never want our loyal guests to have a bad time on their second go-around. The reason that we choose to keep the utensils at the front is to ensure that they are returned afterward....

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for three nights and really enjoyed it. This motel is extremely well-situated, mere steps from the beach and a few blocks from bustling State St. This place is very clean, well cared-for, and appears to be continually updated and maintained. The loaner beach-comber bikes were super. Breakfast was included and was perfect to get our day started...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eric L
Dan W, Manager at Marina Beach Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind words Eric! We're so happy you could enjoy our motel and appreciated the level of care we put into our property. We would love to see you again!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We've been to Santa Barbara about 5 times now with our dog and this is the first time we stayed at the Marina Beach Motel. We love the smaller motel feel and the accommodations were very comfortable. The room was updated and the bathroom was especially nice. The only minor thing that could have been better was to have a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank U8460SHbarbarab
Dan W, Manager at Marina Beach Motel, responded to this review

We're happy that you decided to stay with us this time! We hope both you and your dog enjoyed being close to the beach and the calming atmosphere. We hope to see you both again!

Sofia, Bulgaria
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

One step away from the beach, this motel is really cosy. We had a room with a kitchenette, which is probably very convenient for longer stays. The bed is very comfy, it was quiet, and the staff was very nice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Denitsa H
Dan W, Manager at Marina Beach Motel, responded to this review

We think it's quite a cozy motel as well, we're happy you agree! We appreciate you spending time with us at Marina Beach Motel and we hope to see you back in the near future!

Raleigh, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Travelling down the coast and stayed at this quaint motel. Loved it .Would highly recommend this place. Great value for money .Helpful Easy walk to Beach and restaurants, nice and quiet , very clean , great breakfast

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mfreebairn
Dan W, Manager at Marina Beach Motel, responded to this review

We hope the rest of your travels were enjoyable! We're extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed our motel and thought it was a great value for what you paid. That's exactly what we aim for so it's really nice to hear when guests feel the same way. We hope to see you again!

New York City, New York
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It's a motel! Its off the beach and it has parking. The beds are comfortable and the kitchenette was perfectly acceptable (but doesn't include knives or pots unless you ask). The internet was Netflix fast and the bed comfortable. There is no one working at night so don't lose your key and make sure they know if you check in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank idbinnyc
Dan W, Manager at Marina Beach Motel, responded to this review

We hope you didn't spend too much time watching Netflix! But it's good to hear you were happy with all the amenities and accommodations provided, we appreciate you taking the time to let us know. We also hope to have you back in beautiful Santa Barbara soon!

California
Reviewed 15 January 2017

Review is a quite late however better late then never. We stayed here July 2015 and July 2016 for two nights each stay, the price was reasonable and the rooms are amazing. Both stays our room looked like it had been updated recently and looked modern. It had a nice kitchen with a stove, sink, refrigerator, small table and perfect...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sillybelly
Dan W, Manager at Marina Beach Motel, responded to this review

We definitely agree, better late than never, especially when you enjoyed your stay! We're happy to hear that both times you visited you liked the accommodations. July seems to be your go-to month to visit Santa Barbara, so we hope to see you back for July 2017 as well!

Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 9 January 2017

The lady and I stayed at Marina Beach Motel on our road trip from San Diego to San Francisco. It was easy to find and located conveniently close to the beach, city centre, and train station. It's clean, friendly, and fun.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jordan r
Dan W, Manager at Marina Beach Motel, responded to this review

What a fun road trip! We're so happy to hear that you decided to stay with us at Marina Beach Motel on your journey. We hope you thoroughly enjoyed your time in Santa Barbara and we definitely would love to see you both again! Also, have a safe drive up to San Francisco!

285 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (105)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (43)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (158)
Viewed
Family Room (44)
Viewed
King Room (33)
Viewed
King Room with Kitchen (36)
Viewed
The Hotel (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 km away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 51 in Santa Barbara
671 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#33 of 51 in Santa Barbara
208 reviews
0.4 km away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#13 of 51 in Santa Barbara
1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#12 of 51 in Santa Barbara
579 reviews
0.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
#28 of 51 in Santa Barbara
870 reviews
2.3 km away
Pacific Crest Hotel Santa Barbara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Family owned since 1976, Marina Beach Motel is located in the heart of Santa Barbara's harbor, wharf, and beach district. At only 37 steps from the beach, Marina Beach Motel is the ideal spot for couples, families and the occasional lone traveler to immerse themselves in the beauty and leisure of Santa Barbara. At Marina Beach Motel, we understand the importance of providing excellent amenities at an affordable price. We focus our efforts on catering to the needs of the customer while striving for a high level of satisfaction, making us one of the best places to stay in Santa Barbara. Our dedicated, family-owned business promises to become one of your favorite vacation spots in California. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Marina Beach Motel

Address: 21 Bath Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Price Range: $216 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Marina Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Beach Hotel Santa Barbara
Marina Beach Santa Barbara
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Santa Barbara
#9 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#20 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Marina Beach Motel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Southend-on-Sea,Essex,England
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Marina Beach Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“off the street is quieter but all rooms were off the parking area”
 of 5 bubbles JKRan, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“kitchenette rooms are great”
 of 5 bubbles michaeljames101, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Please note that not all rooms are the same. Some are standard bed and bath while others offer kitchenettes and private patios.”
 of 5 bubbles jesusb765, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Any room is great”
 of 5 bubbles TessieSanDiego, 3 Sep 2016 | Read review
“all rooms are equally situated, so no matter which one you get, you will always be fine”
 of 5 bubbles venice7_8, 8 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5