We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Milo Santa Barbara

Show Prices
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

248 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 216: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Traveled and explored the coast from San Francisco to LA. Santa Barbara was our last stop and Hotel Milo was just what we needed for two nights. The beach hotel is a perfect location to the water, wharf and restaurants. Valet staff was extremely courteous from the day we pulled in. They also assisted with the free bikes, and other...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
Barry D, General Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful review. We are thankful that you chose Hotel Milo on your way home from San Francisco. I appreciate your praise and recognition of the valet staff. This is always rewarding to hear. We look forward to an opportunity to serve you again should you decide on a getaway from LA. All the best!

San Diego, California
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Beautiful rooms- recently redone with hardwood floors and super soft towels. Hotel itself is in a perfect location, right across from the beach. Free breakfast was pretty good, too. My only complaint was the upstairs noise. I'm sure we were put on the ground floor because we had two kids with us (maybe they were worried we'd be noisy?) but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Meanjeans
Barry D, General Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to provide your feedback. It is good to know that you were pleased overall, however, I am sorry that you had to experience noise from above. I'm sure if you were trying to put the kids to bed early, this was annoying. I apologize for the inconvenience and hope the we have the chance to...

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel is just AMAZING. Great location. Just on the beach. Nice fireplace and area to have wine. Bottles available to purchase for guests. Breakfast offered to guests is exceptional, you name it they have it. Nice bikes offered to guests. Close by to shopping street. Must eat at Fish Entreprise restaurant walking distance.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MAYASYD
Barry D, General Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara, responded to this review

Thank you for the great comments. We are pleased to hear you had such a wonderful time. Thank you for taking time to provide your review. We look forward to serving you again soon. Thank you for choosing Hotel Milo. All the best.

Hong Kong
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

PROS : Nice room with nice decor. Good location - right opposite beach and very near State Street and the Funk Zone where there are lots of restaurant options. Free bikes are a very nice touch and we did use them. Lovely wine tasting hour in the afternoon. Pleasant staff. Loved the room heater in the bathroom. Nice green lawns...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HKTRsTravels
Barry D, General Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review. We appreciate the kind words regarding the staff. It is great to know that you took advantage of the services offered such as the bikes and wine tasting. Thank you for your comments regarding the breakfast. The space is challenging on occasion. We look forward to serving you again in the near future. Thank...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Great hotel for location right on the beach and a short walk to Santa Barbara Pier. The hotel staff were friendly and the guy at front desk came across as genuinely wanting to please and ensure the stay was good. Breakfast room was small and there's little that can be done with the space, therefore food options were limited. Within...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Post2Gary
Barry D, General Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to provide your feedback. We appreciate the recognition towards the staff. It gives them great pride when they are acknowledged by our guests. We will definitely stay on top of touching up the rooms to ensure that the look is fresh and welcoming. Thank you for choosing Hotel Milo and we look forward to serving...

San Francisco
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Loved our one night stay! The room was spacious with a king and pull out couch for my 3 year old. Great ocean view. The breakfast was delicious and had tons of options. Literally right across the street from the beach, evening wine hour...what more could you want!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kimmygib
Barry D, General Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara, responded to this review

Thank yo for choosing Hotel Milo. It is great to hear you had a wonderful visit. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to serving you again soon. All the best.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Pros: - Across the street from the beach - Ten minutes walk from sterns pier - State Street is also in close vicinity - Comfy beds - The Valet guys were the most nice and professional of the entire hotel staff Cons: - Way overpriced - No A/C - Paper thin walls - Hotel staff was rude - Very small...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Olyvia L
Barry D, General Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara, responded to this review

Thank you for providing a TripAdvisor review. I am sorry to hear the number of "cons" you mentioned. It is really upsetting to hear that the staff was rude. This is definitely unacceptable and I apologize for this. If there is any way you could offer more details on who was rude that would be most helpful. Thank you for...

Detroit, Michigan
Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I stayed here for our first visit to SB. We chose it because of affordability, location, and because it had pools. The pool areas are very nice and relaxing. I loved the large towels provided to put over the lounge chairs. The included continental breakfast was just enough with hard boiled eggs, fruit, cereal, and pastries. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kelsey529
Barry D, General Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Hotel Milo. We appreciate your feedback and we are honored that you chose us for your first visit to Santa Barbara. The small room you refer to at a much lower price is our Milo Mini. These are designed for a single traveler looking for a place to sleep more than anything else. We are glad...

Mexico City, Mexico
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was twice at this hotel, and twice they just didn't care... I guess that is all there is to say... You would think that after a bad experience they will try to improve, not for me, for everybody... But they prove me wrong again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vladimir M
Barry D, General Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara, responded to this review

Good Day Vladimir, I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations on two occasions. This is disappointing to hear and definitely not the experience we wish to provide. I am not sure of the specifics of your concerns, but it is our goal to fix any issues that we are made aware of. It is great...

Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had a great stay at Hotel Milo. It was a strong recommendation from friends who had done a similar coast trip. It did not disappoint. Nice rooms, well appointed. Great staff, they are warm and friendly and gave very solid recommendations for restaurants etc Breakfast simple but well executed. Location great. Top Tips #1 Take advantage of their bikes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kperkins24
Barry D, General Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Hotel Milo. Your review is truly appreciated. The kind words regarding the staff are priceless. Thank you for recognizing the team. Your recommendations are outstanding. Sounds like you had close to the perfect trip. The Butterfly Beach area is so relaxing. We look forward to having you with us again. Thank you again for such a...

119 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (85)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.2 km away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#12 of 51 in Santa Barbara
1,258 reviews
2.0 km away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#17 of 51 in Santa Barbara
82 reviews
2.2 km away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#39 of 51 in Santa Barbara
1,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 51 in Santa Barbara
995 reviews
0.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
#26 of 51 in Santa Barbara
897 reviews
0.2 km away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 51 in Santa Barbara
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
With magnificent views, traditional Spanish-style architecture, and a beautiful courtyard with outdoor pools and gardens, Hotel Milo Santa Barbara truly reflects Santa Barbara's rich colonial history and affords guests access to the best of Southern California's surf and sun. Situated in West Beach, guests are within a stone's throw of the ocean and all that Santa Barbara has to offer in this 122-room oceanfront hotel. The newly refreshed guestrooms reflect the relaxed elegance and understated sophistication distinct to Southern California style. A signature blue and white palette reflects the brilliance of the ocean and sky, while subtly referencing the Mediterranean. The overall vibe of the rooms is chic seaside. Guests are invited to celebrate Santa Barbara and the great outdoors with poolside ping pong and bocce ball, as well as beach cruiser bicycles for 2-hour loan. Hotel Milo Santa Barbara is a member of The Independent Collection (IC), a growing collection of cultivated lifestyle hotels in gateway cities across the US. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Milo Santa Barbara

Address: 202 W. Cabrillo Blvd., Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3506 (Formerly Hotel Oceana)
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Price Range: $345 - $665 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Milo Santa Barbara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Milo Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Oceana Santa Barbara
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Santa Barbara
#8 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Milo Santa Barbara staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
2 months ago
Santa Barbara, California
4 months ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Milo Santa Barbara staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Deluxe king had pull out couch and great ocean view.”
Kimmygib, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Stay on the second floor in the same building as the lobby if available.”
Karli_McAlees, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on 2nd floor are quieter. Older renovated property. Bldgs 1-3 oceanside. Bldg 4 is back off an alley. Bldg. 4 next to pool, spa tub.”
MJ3860, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“2nd floor ocean view room are the best”
  • View from wharf
  • 2nd floor room view
amyksla, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Stay somewhere else”
E8804OYroberts, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5