We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Darling House

79 reviews
Save
Traveller (14)
Room & Suite (4)
Pool & Beach (1)
Overview
  • Excellent48%
  • Very good20%
  • Average5%
  • Poor15%
  • Terrible12%
Travellers talk about
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Beachfront
Non-Smoking Rooms
Concierge
Wheelchair Access
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (79)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for The Darling House
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
77 results
Traveller rating
36
16
4
12
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
36
16
4
12
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyogurtbreakfast was delicioushard boiled eggsdarrelloceansinksurfingdowntown
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
51 - 55 of 77 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2011

A beautiful house and a beautiful location. I'm surprised there are a few negative reviews on this website, especially with regards to the Darling's hospitality. We stayed there two nights and have nothing but great things to say about the service we received. Breakfast was...More

Thank Andrew J
Response from DWCD, Manager at The Darling HouseResponded 26 November 2011

It's always a pleasure to host guests that appreciate what the Darling House offers. We're glad you enjoyed the Santa Cruz area and exploring local points of interest. We're also pleased the Darling House provided a comfortable stay for you both & we look forward...More

Reviewed 1 November 2011

The ocean is right across the house; Darrell Darling is a sweet host, owner of the Darling House with his wife Karen. Both are very hospitable and warm. The house is old historic house with antique furnishings - and very comfortable beds. It is an...More

Thank Jojo S
Reviewed 18 October 2011

When I saw the room listed on the Groupon site, I was very excited at the Idea a staying a historic house...BUT! The place just seemed run down and smelly. They room we stayed in had cobwebs hanging from the chandelier and we were itchy...More

3  Thank Josh S
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Charming house and antiques, but neglected, ill equipped and NOT CLEAN. (Definitely don't stay in the smaller rooms with shared bath.) Staff was variably helpful and rude. This place could be lovely, but for now, I couldn't wait to get home and take a shower.More

5  Thank ellen R
Response from DWCD, Manager at The Darling HouseResponded 4 October 2011

We were delighted to have you with us last week-end and I enjoyed the several conversations we shared, including the movie review. It seemed you were quite pleased with your stay and I felt that was emphasized when I found the gracious tip and kind...More

Reviewed 15 June 2011

We had a groupon for an overnight stay at the Darling House and had the most wonderful time. The grounds were amazing and there was a huge porch area overlooking the ocean for spectacular views! This family-run spot is fantastic - it's almost like staying...More

3  Thank drpepper1966
View more reviews
PreviousNext
191011121316
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Beachfront
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Concierge
Details
Price range
US$165 - US$295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$165 - US$295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (14)
Room & Suite (4)
Pool & Beach (1)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Darling House staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Room Tips
"Great ocean view from some waterfront rooms"
Read review
"There are rooms directly over looking Monterey Bay - breathtaking!"
Read review
"Anything with an ocean view will suffice."
Read review
"Be aware, the shared bath downstairs does not have a shower but the one upstairs does."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing