We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Seaway Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Seaway Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

284 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 269: English reviews
Blaine, WA
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed for two nights on a budget family road trip. Tried two rooms (one adjoining king-queen and then a regular room after our party shrunk in size). Generally old, outdated, and not well-maintained-- one of those places that always feels a bit dirty even when it's not. Stayed in dog-friendly rooms and paid a dog fee but the place smelled...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kristin W
Pymouth
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here just before xmas.... Easy to find and within such a short walk to the pier, and just a little further to the main centre.... Room was clean and as to be expected, and the DIY breakfast is more than adequate to see you through most of the day.... Great staff too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jason E
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here when driving to highway one from LA To San Francisco. Arrived late and weather wasn't great but room was nice and big and he bed was comfortable. Walked into town for dinner in the evening - took about 20minutes to get to the main hub. Breakfast was pleasant - bagels fruit etc. I feel it was slightly over...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank katythom1986
Hong Kong
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

From the moment we called The Seaway Inn, we could feel a difference. Davenport took our reservation, extended us a discount and gave us explicit directions. We were travelling without a GPS so unfortunately it took us some time to find the Inn.When we arrived and walked in we could immediately feel the homey touches. It did not feel like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Destinyspeaks
Victoria, BC
Reviewed 13 December 2016

We were looking for a pet friendly place to stay in Santa Cruz and came across this. It is definitely dated and needs upgrading. Clean. We stayed in a "family" room which had a second room with a TV and 2 enormous chairs. That room had a musty odour to it. I found the beds to be soft with sad...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa-in-Victoria
Stephanie V, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We are always in the process of updating our rooms, we are actually working on changing out the bedding and getting rid of the out dated comforters. The rest of the room, including furniture has been updated however. I'm sorry that you had such a bad experience with our heating unit. My systems show...

Pacifica, California
Reviewed 12 December 2016

Well kept and run hotel. We only stayed overnight to avoid driving 1 1/2 hrs. but the bet was comfortable, the staff was very accommodating, it was clean, and the location was great (across the street from the beach). You are within walking distance to the boardwalk and to downtown. The rates were reasonable for off season (December). The free...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hemiadvisor
Stephanie V, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and posting your review! We are happy to hear that you were satisfied and comfortable. We look forward to seeing you again, should you be back in our area. Just a tip, if you are specifically looking to be on the 2nd floor, it is always best to call us directly to book.

A TripAdvisor Member
Riddle, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 December 2016 via mobile

This motel is very charming. We loved it there---the staff--EXCELLENT!! The bed--very comfortable!! My husband became ill during our visit, so I asked to extend our stay by a day--the front desk clerks are all very nice and arranged things so we could remain in the same room--the next day, we were asked how my husband was feeling. We enjoyed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Stephanie V, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review

Although your husband was ill, during your stay with us, we are happy that we are able to accommodate you and that you "enjoyed" your stay. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we look forward to seeing you next time!

Tucson, Arizona
Reviewed 15 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed only one night while passing through to see family. Trusted the reviews on Trip Advisor and was not disappointed. Great location, no traffic noise, comfy bed, clean and wonderful continental breakfast this morning. Stefanie, the General Manager, is gracious and accommodating. Looking forward to a return visit the next time we are in Santa Cruz!👍

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marci S
Stephanie V, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review

We look forward to seeing you again!

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 7 November 2016

Beds comfortable. Short walk to Beach. Very nice rooms. Breakfast good loved the make yourself waffles. Clean and you can walk everywhere. Staff very helpful. Would stay here again. Wifi was a bit slow

 Report
Helpful?
Thank j0higgins
Stephanie V, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We are sorry to hear that you thought our WI FI was a bit slow, I will make sure to inform the proper personnel in that regard. We look forward to seeing you again, when you're back in our area.

Reviewed 6 November 2016 via mobile

This is our second time staying in The Seaway Inn. It's in a great location, bed is comfy, decent price and breakfast is a bonus in the morning! It's always been really clean and everyone working there is always very helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sian T
Stephanie V, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking some time to review your experiences in staying with us. We hope to continue to see you, when you are in our area!

127 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (127)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
1:16
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (55)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.1 km away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#4 of 53 in Santa Cruz
1,229 reviews
0.2 km away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 53 in Santa Cruz
397 reviews
0.3 km away
Ocean Pacific Lodge
Ocean Pacific Lodge
#21 of 53 in Santa Cruz
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn
1.6 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn
2.2 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 53 in Santa Cruz
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Seaway Inn is a charming Santa Cruz hotel perched on a hillside overlooking the gorgeous Monterey Bay. It has all the warmth and coziness of a classic beach hotel with a full array of modern amenities. It is just a short walk to family fun at the Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk, world-class surfing at Steamer Lane, fine dining at the Municipal Wharf, and unique shops and entertainment in bustling Downtown Santa Cruz. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Seaway Inn

Address: 176 W Cliff Dr, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5440
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Price Range: $134 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Seaway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaway Hotel Santa Cruz
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Seaway Inn staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Seaway Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not sure if the first floor is accessible by lift, so if you are not too mobile get a ground floor room”
 of 5 bubbles JasonE781, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Second floor rooms have a better view of the sea.”
  • The three sisters view when you look up from the balcony
  • View from ground floor
 of 5 bubbles Destinyspeaks, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“stay in a second floor room so you don't hear the people above you walking around”
 of 5 bubbles hemiadvisor, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Go for a seaview with balcony.”
 of 5 bubbles Offthetouristtrack, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for an upstairs room, as close to the offfice as they can do.”
 of 5 bubbles Lesley19662015, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay