We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

National 9 Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
National 9 Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

47 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for National 9 Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 30: English reviews
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 3 June 2013

My friend was looking for value for his buck and we certainly weren't expecting anything over the top here - just a clean room and minimal but at least courteous service. When my friend checked in early, we found the room unlocked and trashed - which, fine, it was still early afternoon and we'll deal with it. I also thought...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank WChenBoston
National9motel, Manager at National 9 Motel, responded to this review

Same comments as the may 27,2013 review. They were all together.

Dallas
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We planned to check in after a wedding at midnight. When we told management this they wanted us to come earlier because they said no one would be there to man the desk at that time (which didn't seem very professional). So we came before the wedding (which was very inconvenient), checked in, and then 2 of our friends who...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank gmervine
National9motel, Manager at National 9 Motel, responded to this review

Same comments as the May 27,2013 guest review.They were all together.

Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewed 29 May 2013

The only hotel in Santa Cruz that weekend that had a vacant sign...that's a bad sign if you think about it. Owner wouldn't let us check in later, and forced us to come in the afternoon, out of our way, to pick up our key. Room was a disaster, door was unlocked, crap everywhere. When we told the owner we'd...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Terryboston2
National9motel, Manager at National 9 Motel, responded to this review

Same comments as the May 27,2013 review. They were all together.

Reviewed 28 May 2013

We called the hotel asking about checkin times, and said we would be coming after a wedding at ~midnight. They pleaded with us to come earlier, which seemed unprofessional. We said maybe we could come around 1:30 in the afternoon before the wedding. When we did, they checked us in our room and gave us a key. But the room...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ryanj2002
National9motel, Manager at National 9 Motel, responded to this review

Guest made a reservation thru Expedia for 1 person and called me to inform me that he will be checking in at 1.00am in the morning hours after the wedding party.I asked him to come now ,check in and take your room key and he can then directly go into the room at 1.00am.Guest came to the office but parked...

San Mateo, California
Reviewed 20 May 2013

So, I realize that I only paid $75 for a one-night stay, and that this is not the Four Seasons, but I have to tell you I slept awfully (which means I hardly slept at all) because of 1) world's loudest ice machine, 2) really close freeway access, and 3) really thin walls which "allowed" me to hear 3a) a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jared W
Pasadena, California
Reviewed 13 January 2013

First, I will say something nice: I arrived rEaLLy late and the gentleman at the desk was very nice and I will say, the room was clean. That being said, here goes with the negatives: when I checked in I was told the gas heater was not functional but I could use the under window heater. It was cold and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lnealone
Santa Cruz
Reviewed 17 October 2012

This small inexpensive motel (we are respectful and careful not to use the word, cheap because cheap also mean bad quality, we use the word inexpensive which only mean about the money charged for the room), which located next to the entrance of freeway, a bit different location from the other National 9 with the bad review, this motel is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KATHERINE M
dallas, texas
Reviewed 22 September 2012

After reading good reviews for this motel, we booked a total of 4 rooms for a family event for ourselves and other relatives. Then, I saw some really terrible reviews and I became alarmed. Careful reading, though, showed me that there are TWO motels with the same name just a few blocks apart, one with a good reputation, and one...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank dallasbobtex
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We arrived late in the night to this hotel, booked on the fly at arrival. I was positively surprised, good value for money, very cheap, but clean and tidy, Was very spacious room, with large bathroom, fridge, AC and TV. Parking in the court. Was having also a small pool. Coffee was offered in the morning. I highly recommend this...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lorant80
Reedley, CA
Reviewed 16 January 2012

This motel has its quirks, but for the value it's a great find and we'd definitely return again. We had no issue with loud residents or traffic. The owner was very friendly. Amenities are limited, but sufficient for a good, comfortable night's sleep. We stayed in room 15 (second floor) and found the best deal on booking.com. Here's a few...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Reedley_Traveler

10 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
1.8 km away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Boardwalk
0.4 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 53 in Santa Cruz
441 reviews
1.6 km away
Pacific Inn Santa Cruz
Pacific Inn Santa Cruz
#49 of 53 in Santa Cruz
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Comfort Inn Santa Cruz
Comfort Inn Santa Cruz
#17 of 53 in Santa Cruz
237 reviews
1.2 km away
The Islander Motel
The Islander Motel
#26 of 53 in Santa Cruz
167 reviews
1.9 km away
Hitching Post Studios Inn
Hitching Post Studios Inn
#30 of 53 in Santa Cruz
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about National 9 Motel

Address: 130 Plymouth St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-2932
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Price Range: $97 - $420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — National 9 Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your National 9 Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
National 9 Hotel Santa Cruz
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from National 9 Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We needed adjoining rooms and was accommodated. The rooms also had nice, large high definition flat screen TV's, it was wonderful.”
 of 5 bubbles jackh253, 4 Aug 2014 | Read review
“If it is late at night and you are tired, check the windows. They leave the windows open, but the bug screens make them look closed. The room will be quieter if you close the windows.”
 of 5 bubbles rowenacherry, 12 Aug 2013 | Read review
“Go somewhere (anywhere) else”
 of 5 bubbles 5dogz, 14 Jun 2013 | Read review
“Room 10 and 11 were right next to ice machine. Avoid at all costs.”
 of 5 bubbles JaredW948, 19 May 2013 | Read review
“Get ground floor if you have trouble with stairs”
 of 5 bubbles Reedley_Traveler, 16 Jan 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay