We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Santa Maria Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Santa Maria Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

726 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 599: English reviews
Logan, Utah
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

I'm not sure I have ever done a negative review before, I try to be fair and talk about the positives, but, there's always a first time and this is it... Although this may be an historic property, it is so neglected dirty and shabby that it is way past its prime. Deferred maintenance is being kind. Do NOT accept... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank dianeallen010
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The lobby, dining room, and pub are historic and very pretty. There are beautiful gardens and stainglass windows on the main floor. The original rooms have been refreshed. The Inn definitely needs to provide a map as the rooms are hard to find and the signage is lacking. We stayed two different nights. The first night the room smelled musty... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Iva V
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We loved it here. We got the wine package and stayed in the historic part of the hotel. Our time there was amazing. Wish they would have had a King room available. But our queen room was lovely. Love how rooms have a star on the door for what celebrity has stayed there in the past. Love the nostalgic feel.... More 

Helpful?
Thank edsbabe1011
HistoricManager, Manager at Santa Maria Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for this wonderful review of our hotel! We are so happy you enjoyed your time here and that you took advantage of our wine package. We look forward to having you again in the future! More 

Clovis, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Loved staying here! My husband and I have stayed at this hotel about four times now and I love it! It is an older hotel, however, very well maintained. There are basically two parts to the hotel, the older part and the newer part. The older rooms are a little bit smaller, but clean and comfortable. Some of the rooms... More 

Helpful?
Thank dinanorwood
HistoricManager, Manager at Santa Maria Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on our hotel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you also had a chance to check out our property! We look forward to having you again in the future. More 

Simi Valley, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the Inn over Halloween and had requested and received rooms in the old section. First we were delighted to see the Hotel had embraced the season with Halloween decorations all around. I know the Inn as been there since 1917 so I was hoping for and did find all the ambiance and charm from a hotel with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brenda C
HistoricManager, Manager at Santa Maria Inn, responded to this review

What a fun review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time and that the employees all took care of you. We look forward to having you stay again in the future! More 

Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My fiancé and I arrived in the town early evening, looking for a place to stay and initially drove passed. The further we drove, it appeared we were moving further out of town so we turned around and booked a room with 2 king beds. Although we faced the main road, we didn't hear any traffic noise. In addition, a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chris T
HistoricManager, Manager at Santa Maria Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this wonderful review of our property! We are delighted to hear that you were able to enjoy the restaurant and bar in addition to your sleeping room. We do love our historic building and we are constantly striving to create a wonderful stay for our guests. We look forward to seeing you again! More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I'd read the mixed reviews but decided to try this hotel. It does have an interesting past and some fine if faded features. Our allocated room was small, with an even smaller bathroom, but was just about adequate despite a temperamental coffee maker, ineffective air conditioner and noisy fridge covered with ice inside. What made our stay very poor though... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Billontour
HistoricManager, Manager at Santa Maria Inn, responded to this review

We are so sorry to hear you were not satisfied with your stay. We appreciate the feedback you've given us and we are sorry that you had a noise issue during your stay. Thank you for your time in leaving this reivew for us as we are constantly working to make sure every guest has a wonderful stay. More 

Georgetown, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2016

We came into town to meet up with friends that live in Santa Maria. They actually told us that we might want to stay here. The history of the place was very interesting. The one thing they need to do is upgrade the electrical receptacles in the rooms. It was difficult to find enough to plug the phone & ipad... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anita R
HistoricManager, Manager at Santa Maria Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving this review of our hotel! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed the history of our hotel. Thank you for the feedback regarding the electrical receptacles. I will pass this on to the appropriate manager to see where changes need to be made. We hope to see... More 

Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2016

This is a lovely hotel, but very tired. The rooms are spacious and clean, but the amenities are dated. This could be a great landmark destination in the heart of Santa Maria, but it needs some serious updating. We ate breakfast in the dining room and it was good but not great for the price. The staff was friendly. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank Trulybee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2016

We stayed two nights and paid $209.66 upon leaving. Without tell us, they also charged our C/C another $464,49 and said it was their policy to "Over-Charge" After insisting, they said they would credit my account back the $464.49 but it could take 5 days..... When we made reservations, we asked if they charged our card before we got there... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lee T

204 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (179)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (53)
Viewed
Room/Suite (46)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Maria hotels
5.3 km away
Radisson Hotel Santa Maria
Radisson Hotel Santa Maria
#1 of 21 in Santa Maria
667 reviews
3.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Plus Big America
BEST WESTERN Plus Big America
#2 of 21 in Santa Maria
608 reviews
3.8 km away
Candlewood Suites Santa Maria
Candlewood Suites Santa Maria
#5 of 21 in Santa Maria
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Holiday Inn Santa Maria
Holiday Inn Santa Maria
#7 of 21 in Santa Maria
312 reviews
1.2 km away
Travelodge Santa Maria
Travelodge Santa Maria
#4 of 21 in Santa Maria
574 reviews
3.7 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Maria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a historic, full-service property located in the heart of Santa Maria along California's beautiful Central Coast. We offer an award-winning Garden Room Restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner, an Olde English Tap Room and a Wine Cellar and Martini Bar. We also feature an on site massage therapist, heated pool and spa, sauna, fitness facility, salon and barber. We are only minutes from the Foxen Canyon Wine Trail, championship golf, beaches and shopping. Secure your reservations now or take advantage of one of our many packages. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Santa Maria Inn

Address: 801 South Broadway, Santa Maria, CA 93454
Region: United States > California > Santa Maria
Price Range: $156 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Santa Maria Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Santa Maria Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Maria
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Maria
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Maria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Santa Maria Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
24 days ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Santa Maria Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Call hotel direct for a room in the newer section.”
 of 5 bubbles 164ivav, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room in the newer side of the hotel if you want a larger room.”
 of 5 bubbles dinanorwood, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you are wanting the true experience of the history of the hotel request a room in the old section.”
 of 5 bubbles , 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Great location, not sure of which rooms might be better.”
 of 5 bubbles anitar778, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Inquire about the size of the room in advance, if this is important to you”
 of 5 bubbles elainedd2014, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay