We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica
Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

998 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica
See the most recent reviews
Showing 841: English reviews
Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 13 October 2014

This is a stunning art deco hotel in a perfect location with full ocean views. The service and amenities, however, were direly lacking. Firstly, the amenities in the room are bare bones for a 4 star hotel. This was the first hotel in our 3 week trip that did not provide bathrobes, shower caps, q-tips etc. In addition, there was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rozbg
Sonny V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this review

Thank you so much for posting this review on TripAdvisor. It is so crucial for us to receive feedback like this. It is the only way we will grow as a hotel. There are no excuses that should be given. However, I want to sincerely apologize on behalf of the whole hotel for all of the lack of service you...

Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 October 2014

very close to the beach and has a nice location. its right on the corner of too pretty busy and central streets and very close to the pier. you have to cross the road and go down a set of stairs for the beach but that is no hassle. unfortunately we didnt get a honeymoon upgrade at this hotel, the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ilke2013
Sonny V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor. Most importantly, congratulations! We hope more than anything that your honeymoon was as special as you had wanted it to be! It always such a pleasure to have our guests celebrate such momentous occasions with us. It is an honor to be a part of it...

Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Reviewed 7 October 2014

It was an awesome experience. Everything was perfect, the room the reception the staff the location, .. etc. I like the view, the shopping center around the hotel. The groove, Santa Monica Pier. the beach so close and rent a bike is few steps from the hotel

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kal1968
Sonny V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this review

Thank you so much for posting your review on TripAdvisor! It is always a wonderful experience to read a review where every aspect of the stay was perfect. Thank you so much for taking the time. We are grateful, and more than anything, we are so happy you enjoyed your time with us. Please come back and see us again!...

Rochester
Reviewed 4 October 2014 via mobile

Everything exceeded my expectations! From the early check-in , room upgrade and friendly service to the stunning views,perfect location and excellent massage experience, we can't wait to return to this hotel!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christy W
Sonny V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! To read the words "Exceeding Expectations" is stellar feedback for any hotel. For every one of our valued guests we strive to exceed their expectations with our luxury service and attention to detail. Thank you so much for staying with us, and for offering your fantastic comments on TripAdvisor. We absolutely look...

New York
Reviewed 1 October 2014

Peaceful, a terrific staff, the most perfect location imaginable, quiet, discreet, a great restaurant, even better room service, a lovely pool. Please stay away so I can have it all to myself. This place makes you remember how a small hotel should run.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank r0bbieb1
Sonny V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this review

This is such a wonderful review. We could not be happier that you had such a peaceful and lovely time with us. Please come back and see us again. We would love to welcome you back! Until then, thank you so so much for staying with us, and we hope you have beautiful days until we meet again! Best, Sonny...

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 30 September 2014

Where do I begin?.. It was truly an amazing stay at the Shangri-La in Santa Monica. My wife and I stayed at the Shangri-La this past August as part of our honeymoon. We unfortunately only had time to stay for 2 nights (too short). From the moment we walked into the hotel we were treated like royalty. Sonny was the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leeza9
Sonny V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for posting your review on TripAdvisor. We are so grateful for your comments. I'm so very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and I am so happy that our staff provided wonderful customer service. But, I am most happy to hear that your Honeymoon was made special. It always a great honor and...

Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 September 2014

We stayed as 4 couples in September for 1 night after arriving at LAX. The hotel was lovely in an Art Deco way and the rooms were a good size comfortable furnishings. The reception staff were helpful and polite as we're all other members of staff we encountered.Sadly there is no complimentary tea/ coffee making facilities and everything such as...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pauline M
Sonny V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this review

I am so happy to read that you enjoyed your time with us. Your description of our hotel and its amenities is as enticing as we want it to be for all of our valued guests. Please do come back and see us again, we would love to have you back. I want to sincerely apologize for any confusion regarding...

Malibu, California
Reviewed 27 September 2014

Too expensive for what it is. Front desk staff are courteous but not helpful. Hotel looks old with mediocre "upgrade." A standard queen bedroom is very small - for one person - and NOT AT ALL like the pictures in the hotel website. Amenities are sparse and just okay.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Connoisseur90265
Sonny V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this review

Thank you so much for posting your comments on TripAdvisor. They really are so important to us as they give us direction to grow into the best hotel possible. We apologize that you didn't enjoy your time with us. We really have so much to offer here at the Shangrila, and I would love to help create a better experience...

Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 25 September 2014

The good - great location, very helpful employees, walking distance to several resaurants, beach, shops. The hotel has a nice style of days gone by, including an old elevator, and old phones through out. Bartenders know how to pour, hallelujah. The bad - if you're a lady hoping to meet a gentleman of the non-flipflop or sneaker wearing variety, this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Luv2SeeThings
Sonny V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your review on TripAdvisor. It really is a wonderful gauge on how our guests are experiencing the hotel and everything it has to offer. I've said this in many review responses, but to read that our staff was efficient and very helpful is the greatest moment for a guest relations manager. It is our...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 13 September 2014

When I first arrived I admit, I was a little concerned. The cab could not pull up to the front door as there is no driveway and I had 4 bags, however the porter was watchful and came and rescued me and my bags from the footpath. My room was a one bedroom suite with a kitchen. The kitchen was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachel W
Sonny V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your comments! It makes me so happy to read that our bellman was ready to assist you with your bags the second you pulled up to the hotel. It is our main goal to make you feel "very looked after." To read that our staff was pleasant and efficient makes us feel like we...

847 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (399)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (92)
Viewed
Bathroom (36)
Viewed
View from Room (55)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (54)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (119)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (409)
Viewed
Amenities (28)
Viewed
Beach (10)
Viewed
Deluxe King Ocean View (33)
Viewed
One-Bedroom Suite Ocean View (71)
Viewed
Pool (69)
Viewed
Dining (52)
Viewed
The Hotel (52)
Viewed
Two-Bedroom Luxury Suite (94)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,651 reviews
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,133 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#6 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,477 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#15 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,274 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Santa Monica

Neighbourhood Profile
Santa Monica
Santa Monica is a coastal town that maintains a balance as a tourist destination and as an area with a thriving local culture. On the beach, bikers, roller-bladers, runners and walkers move along the famed bike path enjoying the beautiful Los Angeles weather. The solar-powered Ferris wheel at the Santa Monica pier spins high above the water, while park revelers scream with delight riding the roller coaster. Inland from the beach, Third Street Promenade bustles with shoppers and street performers, where every block seems to have a musical or acrobatic act drawing crowds giving Santa Monica both the feeling of a laid-back beach town and a major commercial hub.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Overlooking the Pacific since 1939, Hotel Shangri-La is a dramatic beacon of Art Deco beauty, Hollywood allure, and Los Angeles history. Perched on a high bluff, mere steps from the beach, this timeless Santa Monica boutique hotel has undergone a meticulous $30 million redesign -- promising you an idyllic haven of rejuvenation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica

Address: 1301 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Price Range: $531 - $1,212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Shangri La Santa Monica
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#11 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#14 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#16 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Shangri-La Santa Monica staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Definitely get a sea view room.”
 of 5 bubbles JackieS210, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Pay the extra to get a full ocean view”
 of 5 bubbles jsimke, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“You couldn't fault the rooms, ours was perfect!”
 of 5 bubbles , 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“My colleague had to pay a little more for a suite #306, but WELL WORTH IT!!!!!!”
 of 5 bubbles DreamtripperTexas, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Do not miss the sunset from the roof terrace, which was breath taking.”
 of 5 bubbles jill_yelling, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5