We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Ocean View Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Ocean View Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

505 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 403: English reviews
New York City, New York
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I was in town on business my client had tried to get me into the Viceroy but was sold out for two nights during trip. Client ended up booking Ocean View Hotel, as I said in title it's really a Motel that's been dressed up but don't be fooled. CONS- Windows are not sound proofed anything ocean facing will hear...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob S
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Needed 2 nights layover in LA and decide to stay in Santa Monica, great location to check out all the local spots. We had a mixup in the booking but the staff came up with a solution very quickly and had it all sorted! View of the beach and pier was second to none and the balcony was perfect size...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob and eileen D
New York City, New York
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Ocean View has a prime location near Santa Monica pier and 3rd Ave promenade. That is what you are paying a premium for. Hotel itself it's just ok. Had a two double bed interior court yard (no view) room. $239 per night excluding tax. So price was good. Got what I paid - small room, low frills. Clean enough. In...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GravyMan1
Elizabeth N, Front Desk Supervisor at Ocean View Hotel, responded to this review

Dear GravyMan1, Thank you for sharing your thoughts on our hotel. It's wonderful to hear you enjoyed your courtyard view room. As we take great pride in the end result of our renovations, I would like to thank you for pointing out the overall appearance and nature of our rooms. We understand you have choices when traveling and would like...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We spent 3 nights here on a roadtrip. Nice staff, great location close to the pier and 3rd ave. Only thing that was negative was the size of beds, only 120 cm. Would go back again. Public garage on 2nd ave close to hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marie A
Elizabeth N, Front Desk Supervisor at Ocean View Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Marie A, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts on our location and staff. We are also very grateful to have earned your return. We can't wait to welcome you back soon. Best Wishes, Elizabeth Navarro Front Desk Supervisor

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived at around 7pm with a friendly welcome by the Valet. The receptionist then sorted our room out and we went up to our room we had booked in advance. (Room 1) Upon inspection the bathroom was not clean, hairs in the and shower, the floor was dirty and the shower door handle was loose. We went back down...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tim B
Elizabeth N, Front Desk Supervisor at Ocean View Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tim B, Allow me to apologize if we failed to meet your expectations this time around. We are very thankful for your feedback and comments. As we pride ourselves in creating a memorable and positive guest experience we are truly displeased that you left without wanting to return to our hotel. I would like to thank you for pointing...

Arrowtown, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Was a pleasant experience, close to the Pier, and had lovely views. Because it was close to the road and bars, there were some noisy nights, but that is to be expected! Only downside was the fact they provided individually wrapped plastic cups for coffee or tea. So much waste for a couple cups of coffee! And the staff didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 3d3n121
Elizabeth N, Front Desk Supervisor at Ocean View Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 3d3n121, On behalf of the entire staff I would like to thank you for your lovely review- we love hearing feedback like yours! Thank you for the suggestion on our coffee and tea cups. I would also like to apologize if your coffee and tea pods weren't restocked during your stay, I have passed this information down to be...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were expecting a bit more from the hotel and annoyingly turned up at the Shores Hotel which they also own up the street. The Shores looks to be a nicer hotel. We then had to walk up the street to our hotel. The hotel is a bit dated and there was definitely no ocean view just a view of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Elizabeth N, Front Desk Supervisor at Ocean View Hotel, responded to this review

Dear TripAdvisor Member, I would like to apologize if we didn't meet your expectations this time around, but we are very happy to hear our staff provided you great memorable service during your stay. We hope you will allow us to make up for this past experience if you're ever in the Santa Monica area again. Please feel free to...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked here last minute for New Years Eve, adjacent to the beach, right next to the pier and steps from downtown. On arrival we were greeted by the valet parking attendant. The daily rate for parking isn't cheap, but you can annoy them to bring your car as much as you want - so it is convenient. Check in was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank droods
Elizabeth N, Front Desk Supervisor at Ocean View Hotel, responded to this review

Dear droods, I'd like to thank you kindly for taking the time to share about your most recent experience with us. It's also wonderful to hear you were able to take full advantage of our valet only service for hotel guests. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon! Best Regards, Elizabeth Navarro Front Desk Supervisor

Texas
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

All the staff were incredibly helpful and responsive. It is probably the best service my family and I have been provided in any hotel. This is saying a lot considering how much we travel. Location was great too. We will be happy to return next time we are in the L.A. area. All the staff were terrific including Greg, Joy,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jason_and_Tania
Elizabeth N, Front Desk Supervisor at Ocean View Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jason_and_Tania, Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are very touched with your feedback regarding the quality of the service that was provided to you and your family during your recent stay with us. We are very thankful to have earned your return, can't wait to welcome you back soon! Best of Wishes and Have a Happy...

Carmel, Indiana
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Ocean View is perfectly situated to enjoy Santa Monica. The hotel is clean and well cared for. The staff is friendly and helpful. We had a room with 2 queen beds and it was small (think european hotel room size). Bathroom was clean. Our room was advertised as having a "courtyard view." The reality was our room overlooked the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah R
Elizabeth N, Front Desk Supervisor at Ocean View Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sarah R, Thank you for sharing your thoughts on our hotel. We appreciate you acknowledging the friendly nature of our staff and the cleanliness of our property. We understand you have choices when traveling and would like to thank you for being our guest. We look forward to welcoming you back when your future travels bring you back to...

388 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (115)
Viewed
View from Room (29)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (63)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (254)
Viewed
Amenities (19)
Viewed
Beach (42)
Viewed
Other (134)
Viewed
The Hotel (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,612 reviews
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,119 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#6 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
783 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#15 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Santa Monica

Neighbourhood Profile
Santa Monica
Santa Monica is a coastal town that maintains a balance as a tourist destination and as an area with a thriving local culture. On the beach, bikers, roller-bladers, runners and walkers move along the famed bike path enjoying the beautiful Los Angeles weather. The solar-powered Ferris wheel at the Santa Monica pier spins high above the water, while park revelers scream with delight riding the roller coaster. Inland from the beach, Third Street Promenade bustles with shoppers and street performers, where every block seems to have a musical or acrobatic act drawing crowds giving Santa Monica both the feeling of a laid-back beach town and a major commercial hub.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast Available
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Ocean View Hotel

Address: 1447 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401-2116
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Price Range: $431 - $858 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Ocean View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean View Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel Santa Monica
Hotel Ocean View
Best Western Ocean View Hotel
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#9 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#9 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#12 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ocean View Hotel staff and other travellers.
20 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from Ocean View Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher floors have the same view, the trees obscure it. Ocean view rooms are noisy from the Main Street and bar downstairs also.”
 of 5 bubbles droods, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If you are spending more than one night, I would spring for an ocean view room.”
 of 5 bubbles SarahR946, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Definitely op for an ocean view on an upper floor”
  • Pacific Sunset
 of 5 bubbles Portland60, 9 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The top floor ocean view rooms are the best.”
 of 5 bubbles writerjoseponce, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Splurge for the ocean view room with balcony. Why stay here and look over a parking lot?”
 of 5 bubbles sheilabk2016, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay