We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

258 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 247: English reviews
Start your review of Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside
 Click to rate
Cameron Park, California
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Room was not as advertised -- booked a jacuzzi suite with a fridge & microwave -- at check in was told could only have jacuzzi or fridge & microwave, not both. First room assigned to us was way small and smelled. The did move us to a larger room that smelled cleaner. Had to wait at front desk for over...

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deborah K
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside, responded to this review

Hi Deborah, We are very sorry that your stay with us was not as you anticipated. We apologize for the fact that your room did not have all of the facilities that you had requested, and for the inconvenience that this caused. We are also very disappointed that a member of staff did not provide you with the level of...

Carmel, California
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 3 September 2016

Clean, comfortable, safe with all the amenities I needed. Flat screen, coffee maker, micro, hairdryer, iron/board, mini-fridge. Bed was super comfortable & management is kind & quick to help. My hairdryer wasn't working & they had a hand held dryer to my door in minutes. They serve a real breakfast with lots of choices. I slept in but grabbed fresh...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
About Hotel's Favourite Review
hojoSeaside, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside, responded to this review

Thanks very much both for your feedback and for choosing to stay with us during your recent trip to Seaside, Susan. We are thrilled that you had such a comfortable stay with us, and that you experienced our good, service-focused hospitality.We do hope that you will be back in Monterey area, and we look forward to seeing you again when...

Fayetteville, Georgia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank denisegI6694SW
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside, responded to this review

-
Reviewed 1 week ago

Food was left in microwave from previous guest never cleaned up---yuk...other belongings left in room should bin gone.....stains on pillows, hair on toilet seat, puss in toilet....I could go on n on

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank markeO1679EJ
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside, responded to this review

Hi Mark, Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We are sorry that your stay was not perfect, and we apologize for any shortcomings in the cleanliness of your room. Our housekeeping team usually do a fantastic job in preparing our rooms for our guests, and we will let them know your feedback in relation to your room. We...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

The rooms don't look like the pictures but they are not horrible. You can hear what everybody is saying in their rooms the heater smelled like pee when you started it ok if nothing else is availabe

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nakia M
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside, responded to this review

We are very sorry that your room did not have the appearance that you were expecting, but the pictures on our website are all of our rooms, but we do have a number of room types available. Thank you for your feedback regarding our heaters; we will be sure to address this immediately. Thank you for choosing to stay with...

Oakland, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mamagami
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside, responded to this review

Hayward, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was supposed to be just a quick easy one night stay, at a hotel. 60 bucks, one night. I am a college kid and me and my girlfriend were staying here for the aquarium. We check in and the room smelled so much like smoke my eyes started burning, and the faucets didn't work. So we asked to switch...

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank SeaOtter97
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside, responded to this review

We are very sorry to hear about your experience at our hotel. It is a shame that you were disturbed from enjoying your upgraded room by other guests. We apologize that we were unable to provide you with a great stay on this occasion, and we thank you for your business. Best wishes, Hotel Management

Oakland, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank joyd232
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside, responded to this review

Vallejo, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Room was dirty and smelled like smoke. I would not recommend this hotel. The service was mediocre.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 587judem
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside, responded to this review

We are very sorry to hear that your room was not cleaned to our usual standards, and we are disappointed that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We hope that we might have another opportunity to show you what a fantastic stay you can have with us. Best wishes, Hotel Management

Reno, Nevada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank timmabby
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside, responded to this review

57 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (49)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaside
0.1 km away
Sand Castle Inn
Sand Castle Inn
#2 of 13 in Seaside
231 reviews
1.6 km away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.4 km away
Econo Lodge Bay Breeze
Econo Lodge Bay Breeze
#5 of 13 in Seaside
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express @ Monterey Bay
8.8 km away
Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay
2.6 km away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 55 in Monterey
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside

Address: 1893 Fremont Blvd, Seaside, CA 93955-3610
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Seaside
Price Range: $84 - $647 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Seaside Hotel Seaside
Howard Johnson Seaside
Seaside Howard Johnson
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Santa Rosa, California
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“the sweet rooms are really nice”
saitejamst, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I am not sure there ARE any good rooms here.”
  • We had 2 towels for a room that sleeps 5. Both were stained. Gross.
  • Flooring is coming apart and you can see the mold around the door. Not to mention the dirt.
  • Smoke detector just hanging
  • Just some of the filth in the bathroom
  • More mold in the bathroom
91brem, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Bring earplugs and look down as you walk.”
499garye, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We were in the back - did not hear a lot of noise, except when we first arrived - there was a couple arguing up on the second floor.”
RMPCW, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The noise from upstairs was kinda loud, you may want a downstairs room if this bothers you.”
busymom3too, 4 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5