We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Holiday Inn Express Solvang

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

418 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Solvang
See the most recent reviews
Showing 369: English reviews
Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 5 August 2016

Stayed here for the second time on a wine tasting trip. The hotel delivers what you'd expect. Check in was a little slow and our room wasn't ready when we got there, although we were there before check in time and they told us they'd call when it was ready, which they did about 30 minutes later. We ended up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jlutzky
Mukdahan, Thailand
Reviewed 29 July 2016

We booked this hotel last-minute during our visit to Solvang. It was in a convenient location along the main road which we could walk to nearby attractions from. The room itself was a little old, but it was clean and everything worked fine. We had a good rest that night. There was also an outdoor swimming pool that we didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank time_5d
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review

Dear time_5d, Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience. I am happy that our location worked for your travel needs. However, it is regrettable that the level of service affected your overall satisfaction. Please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused you. Rest assured, your comments will be used for review and...

Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

Super hotel, Solvang is gorgeous and this hotel was in an ideal spot. Room was spacious and comfortable with an excellent breakfast too. Made us feel very welcome without being intrusive. Friends used the pool and said it was clean and warm. Highly recommend!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gronky
Bakersfield, California
Reviewed 26 July 2016

When we went into our room, we found it to be a wheelchair accessible room which we had not reserved. Upon entering, we were surprised to find a housekeeper still working. She left but never finished up. We had 2 bath towels for 4 people, the carpet needed a vacuum and there was a stain on one of the pillow...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paula R
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review

Dear Paula R, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We are pleased you liked the location of our hotel and the friendliness of our staff. We would like to apologize you were not given the room you reserved and the experience you had with it, specially with the noise coming from the air-conditioner. We have sent...

Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

Centrally located in Solvang, the room is clean and the bed is comfortable with nice linens. My only complaint is that they don't have enough parking and we had to park on the street. Most of the Hotels in Solvang are old and dated so this is better than I expected. There's a pool and they provide free Internet. It's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sherri E
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review

Dear Sherri E, Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Express Solvang. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment about cleanliness, bed and linens. However, we’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the parking arrangement. We will look into this concern....

Castaic, California
Reviewed 20 July 2016 via mobile

My husband and I just visited Solvang and staryed overnight at this hotel. The room was clean. The staff was friendly. They include a full breakfast, but we didn't wake up early enough to make it down before it closed. I would stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lydia M
Arizona
Reviewed 2 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in June. Good location right along the main drag in Solvang - everything is in easy walking distance. Check-in was easy; on the whole we found the staff to be helpful and friendly. Didn't use the pool but it looked okay. The property is older, and it is true, as other posts have observed, that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PHX100
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review

Dear PHX100, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad to know that you had a smooth check in and appreciate your kind comments regarding our rooms. However, it is regrettable that you found the hotel to be dated. Kindly accept our sincere apologies for falling short of your expectations. Your feedback is highly appreciated...

Upland, California
Reviewed 6 June 2016

We really enjoyed our stay at the Hotel, Only thing is that the elevator was out of order in the dining area, and my husband was able to take the stairs down stairs to the bathroom, other then that staff was very friendly and the hotel was great.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rgutierrez55
Reviewed 4 June 2016

I am not fussy and can pretty much allow most businesses that fall short of a promise or an expectation. This Place does not meet even the lowest of standard. I give it a two star which I believe is generous because Spenser at the from desk was very nice and helpful. The facility is pretty run down. That was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Dave C
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review

Dear Dave C, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I appreciate your positive feedback on our nice front office staff. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I am sorry that you found the hotel unkempt...

Ventura, CA
Reviewed 17 May 2016

My wife and I stayed at this hotel once and have stayed at a handful of the other nearby hotels as well. In our opinion, you can find better value for your money nearby and find a hotel with more character. We liked our room and it was clean and comfortable. The free breakfast was nice but not nearly as...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank cali-golfer
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review

Dear cali-golfer, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We are pleased to know that you found our rooms to be clean and comfortable. On the other hand, we would like to apologize for not living up to your expectations regarding our breakfast selection and pool. Reviews like yours are very valuable...

152 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (103)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Solvang hotels
0.8 km away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
695 reviews
0.3 km away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
0.1 km away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 10 in Solvang
230 reviews
0.3 km away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
195 reviews
0.1 km away
Kronborg Inn
Kronborg Inn
#7 of 10 in Solvang
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Come discover the preferred destination of travelers visiting the Santa Ynez Valley, the Holiday Inn Express Solvang. We are centrally located in the Danish Town of Solvang, walking distance to all of its major attractions. It is best known for its shopping, restaurants, chocolate factories and wine tasting rooms! Our hotel is centrally located within Santa Barbara County's Wine Valley. The Holiday Inn Express Solvang is within minutes to Vandenberg Air Force Base, renowned Wineries such as Firestone, Gainey, Buttonwood and Rusack. If you are a golf enthusiast then make the Holiday Inn Express Solvang your golfing headquarters. With our Monthly Golf Packages, you can golf at courses such as The Alisal River Course and La Purisima Golf Course.Our hotel is conveniently located just 30 minutes from the city of Santa Barbara, 20 minutes from Vandenberg Air Force Base and 30 minutes away from Santa Maria. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Solvang

Address: 1455 Mission Dr, Solvang, CA 93463-2915
Region: United States > California > Solvang
Price Range: $165 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Solvang 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Solvang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Solvang Hotel Solvang
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Solvang staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Solvang staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms in the back are away from street and have a view of many trees.”
 of 5 bubbles Daphne1229, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view of the valley instead of the road”
 of 5 bubbles cali-golfer, 17 May 2016 | Read review
“Might be better facing front of hotel and higher floor in main building”
 of 5 bubbles 395JulieH, 20 Apr 2016 | Read review
“We had a room with a balcony on the second floor, but the view was blocked by trees. Suggest you ask for a balcony on the third floor.”
 of 5 bubbles Azorean58, 9 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Pay more and get a better room. You get what you pay for in this hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles dawng155, 11 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay