We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Solvang Gardens

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Solvang Gardens
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

241 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Solvang Gardens
See the most recent reviews
Showing 223: English reviews
Upland, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2016

After coming to Solvang for 25 years it was time to find a new place to stay as the other two had changed owners and no longer had the service and original charm we had been used to. Solvang Gardens is now our new wonderful place to stay. Wonderful staff, beautiful charm, clean and nicely decorated rooms with easy close... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank aerocopter
Kim A, General Manager at Solvang Gardens, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you for Thanksgiving. More 

Los Angeles
Level Contributor
153 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2016

Stayed the night in room 16 - Sweet Pea - upstairs at the end of the row, with a street side entrance up a set of stairs. The room was spacious, bed large and comfortable with decent linens, TV, fridge hidden in a cupboard which we discovered just as we were leaving. Coffee maker but no kettle. Wood decor with... More 

Helpful?
Thank KiwisLA
Kim A, General Manager at Solvang Gardens, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We value your feedback and use it to continue to make improvements. Next time you come, check out one of the other suites that we have. They are all different. I am sure that you will find one that you like better. We hope to see you again soon. More 

Tarzana, Ca.
Level Contributor
83 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2016

We were in town for a wedding. Most of the other places we checked wanted a 2 night minimum. As we were unable to stay for 2 nights we were quite happy to find Solvang Gardens! Their rate was quite reasonable, much less than the "wedding" rate at the local hotel! We needed an earlier check-in in order to dress... More 

Helpful?
Thank mstarzana
Kim A, General Manager at Solvang Gardens, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay. Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future More 

Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2016

Very clean, kind staff, but the beds are really uncomfortable. Walking distance to town, and reasonable rates. The gardens are very pretty. Was unable to enjoy breakfast because it started at 8am, and we had to check out at 7am for a wedding.

Helpful?
Thank Jenn_Nomad
Kim A, General Manager at Solvang Gardens, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry that the beds were uncomfortable for you. They are brand new mattresses. We hope to see you again soon. More 

1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2016 via mobile

Lovely place. Clean and charming. Their toiletries are wonderfully scented. Nice staff and very close to town center. HOWEVER, we had a huge issue with our bed, the headboard specifically. It was completely detached from the bed frame and made it uncomfortable to simply get into bed or roll over because it banged on the wall. I would stay here... More 

Helpful?
Thank rosa g
Kim A, General Manager at Solvang Gardens, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. We are sorry that you had an issue with the headboard. We are looking into it and will address the issue. We hope to see you again soon. More 

Tarragona, Spain
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2016 via mobile

I love it!!! The place is really cozy, calm and clean. The bed is comfortable, the rooms are big and the garden is beautiful. You can park your car right in front of your room, at the same time it's quiet and safe. The staff is really nice. Highly recommended!

Helpful?
Thank Rebeca R
Kim A, General Manager at Solvang Gardens, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again. More 

Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2016 via mobile

We were excited to return to this motel as it had excellent service, nice rooms, beautiful gardens and walking distance to everything. That is what we remembered when we were there last July 3. Fast forward to March 25 and a huge disappointment. Not only have the prices gone up but also we had mosquitoes throughout our room. We also... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank stephaniezwilson
Kim A, General Manager at Solvang Gardens, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay this time. It was brought to my attention about your issues The bugs, they actually aren't mosquitos, they are mosquito hawks. We were having a problem with them here in town. If you leave a door open, they come inside.... More 

Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2016 via mobile

Just stayed in this little cosy hotel for one night during our California round trip. The rooms are very nicely decorated. You can walk from the room to a beautiful garden with lots of flowers, sun beds etc. The included breakfast was very nice too. The only complaint was the bed was quite soft, however, when we checked out a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jacob A
Kim A, General Manager at Solvang Gardens, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry that your bed wasn't comfortable. As you said, we did get new mattresses. We hope that you will be back to try out the new beds and enjoy our hotel again soon. We look forward to seeing you again. More 

San Clemente
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2016

I just got back from a girls trip and we stayed at this beautiful hotel. The beds are comfortable and the rooms are decorated beautifully. The breakfast was fresh and tasty. The ladies and gentleman in the office were very nice and helpful.

Helpful?
Thank Peggy Frye
Kim A, General Manager at Solvang Gardens, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again. More 

1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2016

My wife and I stumbled upon this hotel a couple of years ago, and we have had great experiences ever since. We enjoyed the staff's hospitality and warmth. The rooms each have their own charm, and most recently, have been renovated. Our favorite rooms got a face lift and they are better than before. The king suite we stayed in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Waynemerlot2001
Kim A, General Manager at Solvang Gardens, responded to this review

Wayne, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very happy that you stumbled upon us a couple years ago. We enjoy having you come visit us. We look forward to see you again in April. More 

105 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (64)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Solvang hotels
0.4 km away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
0.2 km away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
693 reviews
0.7 km away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
194 reviews
0.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
0.5 km away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 10 in Solvang
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Boutique country inn with 24 individually decorated rooms. Unique, elegant and comfortable property. Secluded in a quiet residential area in the heart of Solvang. At walking distance to restaurants, shops and wine tasting rooms.In the wine country of Santa Ynez, Santa Barbara County. The property is within beautiful gardens, fruit trees and fountains. A true escape from the hustle of big cities. Rooms vary in sizes, some with fireplaces, kitchenettes and beautiful marble bathrooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Solvang Gardens

Address: 293 Alisal Rd., Solvang, CA 93463
Region: United States > California > Solvang
Price Range: $204 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Solvang Gardens 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Solvang Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solvang Gardens Hotel Solvang
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Solvang Gardens staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Solvang Gardens staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get one in the front of hotel. Nice gardens to look at. Back rooms have a separate garden area which is very pretty.”
 of 5 bubbles G8724QJjoanm, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We loved room 12 and hope to have it again when we visit in August.”
 of 5 bubbles foxieCalifornia, 2 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Room #11 was wonderful. All rooms are really nice.”
 of 5 bubbles aerocopter, 23 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Visit the web site to see the different rooms. Each one has its own charm.”
 of 5 bubbles Waynemerlot2001, 24 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Everything in our room was in good condition. Everything was very clean. ”
 of 5 bubbles sandyt861, 28 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay